Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 NRL Grand Final: Storm v Roosters 30th Sept

Good to see Slater get run over by the karma bus.

And the so called Super coach and coach of generation Bellamy has now lost 4 GF’s. 2 while systematically rorting the cap. Hopefully next year is the year they finally come back to the pack.

Good game. Just 6 errors from the chooks and beast defence.

They were awsome, but so they should be. As Anthony Seibold said before the match, the Chooks went within one game of the GF last year and then added Tedesco and Cronk to their squad. :rolling_eyes:

another solid performance from fergo

my uncle and a guy from work keep bagging him saying it's a poor signing and bringing up his age and the shit from his past am i the only one who thinks he can offer us something?

He made 21 runs last night, the most of any player on the park. You can’t fault him for enthusiasm. Also there were limited opportunities on the RHS, which did not highlight him as a wnger.

At $500k I reckon he is a bargain.

Might be able to bring us a tad more than what Bevan dished up in some games?

get over it Smith, he shouldn't have been there in the first place you bogan

https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/rug...says-cameron-smith/ar-BBNKBhj?ocid=spartanntp

Melbourne Storm captain Cameron Smith insisted Billy Slater "deserved more respect" in the last match of his career having been booed at the NRL Grand Final.

Slater brought the curtain down on his illustrious career but was unable to finish on a high note as Sydney Roosters registered a 21-6 victory at ANZ Stadium.

It looked like the 35-year-old would not even feature in the game having been charged with a shoulder charge during the Storm's Preliminary Final win, but he was controversially cleared to play in Sydney following a hearing.

Slater was jeered by the crowd when he took a first high ball and the Australian great produced a below-par performance as the Roosters ended a five-year wait for a title.

Smith, who was not forthcoming on his own future after the match, expressed disappointment at the reception Slater received.

"I don't think there's really any other way to say that," the 35-year-old said at a press conference

"[Slater] has only ever been someone, or something, good for our game. I think he deserved a bit more respect than that.

"Billy and I have shared a lot together in our lives - I am just so grateful I had the opportunity to play my entire career with a person like Billy."

https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/rug...says-cameron-smith/ar-BBNKBhj?ocid=spartanntp

Melbourne Storm captain Cameron Smith insisted Billy Slater "deserved more respect" in the last match of his career having been booed at the NRL Grand Final.

Slater brought the curtain down on his illustrious career but was unable to finish on a high note as Sydney Roosters registered a 21-6 victory at ANZ Stadium.

It looked like the 35-year-old would not even feature in the game having been charged with a shoulder charge during the Storm's Preliminary Final win, but he was controversially cleared to play in Sydney following a hearing.

Slater was jeered by the crowd when he took a first high ball and the Australian great produced a below-par performance as the Roosters ended a five-year wait for a title.

Smith, who was not forthcoming on his own future after the match, expressed disappointment at the reception Slater received.

"I don't think there's really any other way to say that," the 35-year-old said at a press conference

"[Slater] has only ever been someone, or something, good for our game. I think he deserved a bit more respect than that.

"Billy and I have shared a lot together in our lives - I am just so grateful I had the opportunity to play my entire career with a person like Billy."
EAD Smith, people paid their money and they can boo the grub if they like.

Slater also pulled a dick move with his Hollywood dive during the field goal attempt.

BoneyBlake17

Get stuffed cameron karma is a bitch.

Respect is earned not owed. Billy may be a great player but he is and always will be a grub.

Got exactly what he deserved last night if you ask me.

And clearly all the majority of fans as well don't view him through the same lens as those in the media who are happy to praise every little thing he does and then are happy to overlook the grub tactics, dog shots, incessant whining and judiciary bias over the years.

And that's not forgetting the time he told Newcastle forward cory paterson to go back to his room and cry after he come out and said he suffered depression.

And he got away with that sledge as well without even a fine. That showed his true colors right then and there all those years ago with that comment.

Bandwagon

He made 21 runs last night, the most of any player on the park. You can’t fault him for enthusiasm. Also there were limited opportunities on the RHS, which did not highlight him as a wnger.

At $500k I reckon he is a bargain.

.........not to mention the Storm kicked to Tupou's wing on every clearing kick. Champion data have him as having made 16 hit ups, and 1 kick return, you can't ask for much more under the circumstances of the game.

The only thing he really did wrong was the no try, he was a bit slow to pick his line and should've scored that or at least come inside and take 'em on away from the side line. I reckon a good many other wingers score that try.

Fergo played the last 30mins with a broken fibula apparently, shows he’s a tough merkin as well.

Hope he will be right for round 1.

Cronk has played nearly his entire career at the melbourne merkins with smith and slater .... and he is a dirty rotten queenslander too

But no one would ever want to boo cronk ... they arent booing for no reason cam - you merkins have contributed

Having said that, i am not a big fan of booing and think people should definitely stop it once the game is over

Delboy

It's easy to understand why there is such a lack of respect for th media these days. That apologist for all things Raiders and Rorters said today in the Terrorgraph " shows that money cant buy the success given how the Roosters performed in the GF".

So adding the 2 most expensive and sought after players for this season had no impact on a relatively stacked roster, please. He also shows a picture of Uncle Nick to illustrate his point, how bizarre!!!

forward pass

That was depressing viewing for us.

Irregardless of how that Roosters side was put together, and how they can afford it, what that game showed is what sort of players, coach and characteristics you need to win a comp.

We are so far short of what was on display last night that it is actually very sobering. You need huge, tough arse aggressive props, a running half and an organising half, a pinpoint kicking game, great metre makers, a forward leader and talented strong running backs. We are way off the pace. In fact when you compare player for player - we are an ordinary squad. How many of our players would make that Roosters side? Gutho and Hayne only.

Until we find ourselves a Luke Keary, Boyd Cordner and Latrell Mitchell at a minimum we are no hope. Last night showed what we need to beat. Scary thought.

As you were.

Irregardless of how that Roosters side was put together, and how hey can afford it, what that game showed is what sort of players, coach and characteristics you need to win a comp.

We are so far short of what was on display last night that it is actually very sobering. You need huge, tough arse aggressive props, a running half and an organising half, a pinpoint kicking game, great metre makers, a forward leader and talented strong running backs. We are way off the pace. In fact when you compare player for player - we are an ordinary squad. How many of our players would make that Roosters side? Gutho and Hayne only.

Until we find ourselves a Luke Keary, Boyd Cordner and Latrell Mitchell at a minimum we are no hope. Last night showed what we need to beat. Scary thought.

As you were.
no one from our team would make that side - possibly hayne on the wing for tupou but even that is a close call

i would actually say last night was a perfect team performance ... to carry a half who is doing practically nothing but organising and directing in a grand final is phenomenal .... guys like aubusson were as important to that win as anyone

BoneyBlake17

Irregardless of how that Roosters side was put together, and how hey can afford it, what that game showed is what sort of players, coach and characteristics you need to win a comp.

As you were.

We need competitors
Players who will fight like a dog with a bone over anything.

Until we recruit the right type of players we wont go anywhere.

We have players like corey Norman & brad takairangi who spend more time laughing and taking piss out of themselves then actually playing decent football.

Tim mannah who never stops smiling.

There is no steel or hard edge about our team whatsoever.