Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 NRL Grand Final: Storm v Roosters 30th Sept

Don’t know if it’s been said. But the Roosters did to the storm what the Knights did to us in 2001. They Just came out and blitzed them. They took the game to the storm and smashed them. Too many teams play like they have to much respect for the Storm. Roosters showed the way last night.

Dylan Naper walking through Oxford Street, Darlinghurst this afternoon . :thumbsup:

E1A94905-463A-4FED-98FE-D62069F223E9.jpeg

The Roosters went out with the mindset that they were playing the game - the full 80 minutes - effectively with 12 men, which they were. Cronk was just going to be a coach on the field. Like, who the f**k takes the field in the grand final with a broken shoulder?
The Roosters players would have to fight in the trenches Gallipoli style, work the extra mile for their mate beside them. Fight beyond their ability, to compensate for being a man short for a whole game.
It was a masterstroke move by the coaching staff, albeit being a risky one.
Every single Roosters player lifted and played with an intensity not seen this season.
Melbourne on the other hand, looked as though they were happy that a seriously injured Cronk would be an advantage to them.
The mind games were fantastic this week and for once, Bellamy was out thought and out coached, and his players were outplayed.
That was one seriously inspirational grand final win.

As Forward Pass intimated earlier, we couldn't be further from this level of commitment and professionalism if we tried. From Snr management to coaching staff and players. We are so far off the pace it's scary.

Eelogical

There's three levels to the title. A successful regular season level before stepping up to the finals level then a leap to the GF level. Considering we finished at the bottom of the regular season level it's obviously going to take a massive improvement all-round for us to even make the 8 next year. To close that gap we'll have to take no prisoners, fight for 80 minutes in every game and as a club, develop a siege mentality that absolutely despises losing, just to name a few. BA and company better be enjoying some time off because there's not going to be a moments peace come Nov 1. You all have a month to re-group before the 2019 campaign begins.

hindmarshisgod

The Roosters went out with the mindset that they were playing the game - the full 80 minutes - effectively with 12 men, which they were. Cronk was just going to be a coach on the field. Like, who the f**k takes the field in the grand final with a broken shoulder?
The Roosters players would have to fight in the trenches Gallipoli style, work the extra mile for their mate beside them. Fight beyond their ability, to compensate for being a man short for a whole game.
It was a masterstroke move by the coaching staff, albeit being a risky one.
Every single Roosters player lifted and played with an intensity not seen this season.
Melbourne on the other hand, looked as though they were happy that a seriously injured Cronk would be an advantage to them.
The mind games were fantastic this week and for once, Bellamy was out thought and out coached, and his players were outplayed.
That was one seriously inspirational grand final win.

As Forward Pass intimated earlier, we couldn't be further from this level of commitment and professionalism if we tried. From Snr management to coaching staff and players. We are so far off the pace it's scary.
But but but we made the top four last year.....Isn't that good enough?

Don’t know if it’s been said. But the Roosters did to the storm what the Knights did to us in 2001. They Just came out and blitzed them. They took the game to the storm and smashed them. Too many teams play like they have to much respect for the Storm. Roosters showed the way last night.
Watching the game I said to a mate this is the best first half performance I have seen in a GF since 2001. I was getting sickening flashbacks. At least it wasn’t us this time
35 wins the last 3 seasons f**kEN!!

I know you are being sarcastic.
But...….the records of last night's two clubs are absolutely phenomenal over the past 20 years.
I've gone back through some stats to when Melbourne won their first premiership. (1999)
Disclaimer: I'm aware that some of Melbourne's records are tainted due to salary cap issues.
Anyway...…….

Melbourne:

Semi-Finalists - 17/20 years
Minor Premiers - 8
Semi Finals - 17
Grand Finals - 9
Premiers - 5

Roosters:

Semi Finalists - 14/20 years
Minor Premiers - 2
Semi Finals - 14
Grand Finals - 7
Premiers - 4

I didn't look up the Eels stats. It would have been too depressing - especially the wooden spoon bit.

That was depressing viewing for us.

Irregardless of how that Roosters side was put together, and how they can afford it, what that game showed is what sort of players, coach and characteristics you need to win a comp.

We are so far short of what was on display last night that it is actually very sobering. You need huge, tough arse aggressive props, a running half and an organising half, a pinpoint kicking game, great metre makers, a forward leader and talented strong running backs. We are way off the pace. In fact when you compare player for player - we are an ordinary squad. How many of our players would make that Roosters side? Gutho and Hayne only.

Until we find ourselves a Luke Keary, Boyd Cordner and Latrell Mitchell at a minimum we are no hope. Last night showed what we need to beat. Scary thought.

As you were.

Surely Nathan Brown (our Cordner) and Hayne (our Mitchell) make it in the roosters 17

In the fair dinkum stakes, on last nights game, How many Storm players make the roosters 17?

do you get more than 3 or 4, if that?

Eelogical

Surely Nathan Brown (our Cordner) and Hayne (our Mitchell) make it in the roosters 17

In the fair dinkum stakes, on last nights game, How many Storm players make the roosters 17?

The two Eels you mentioned, borderline at best. Goes to show how much we have to make up to become a finals threat, let alone win the GF.

Hayne in the centres over Manu or Toupou spot, Brown over Liu or Tetevano
Nothing borderline about that
Borderline would be Alvaro and/or Gutho

emjaycee

So ..... what do we do now?

DL_508Tumbleweed_TUMBLEWEED_ROLLS_NEXT_TO_FREEWAY.gif

So ..... what do we do now?

There is the Head of Footy to take down when he is formally announced.

Take down other appointments in the off season.

BA needs a daily taking down. Throw in a bald reference and you can run with it all day.

Junior Paulo bc he is fat.

Fergo bc he put himself ahead of his new club and broke his leg.

Lane bc he a girls name for a surname.

LOL at the zero signings.

LOL at our jumper.

Sledge Max bc he spends our money like it's his grandmother's.

Sledge Board bc they no nothing about footy.

Sledge our assistant coaches.

Sledge our new Wenty coach.

Complain that we should run the reserve grade side, not Wenty.

Sledge/sack Bernie.

If we sign Hayne for more than 1 year, worth a sledge. We will always pay too much for him.

If we sign Kapow, we paid too much.

If we don't sign Kapow for overs, we are hopeless.

Go through every opponents roster and highlight the good players that we should have signed.

Taka should have been shopped around.

Bev should have been shopped around.

Norman should have been shopped around.

Mennings should have been shopped around.

Moses should have been shopped around.

Mannah is getting paid too much.

Complain that we don't promote our juniors.

Complain that we over hype our juniors.

Over to you.

IFR33K

I’d rather compare Nathan brown to a poor mans paul gallon. Takes 2 hit ups a set, especially on 4th when we are on the attack 20 metres out. :face_palm:♂️

There is the Head of Footy to take down when he is formally announced.

Take down other appointments in the off season.

BA needs a daily taking down. Throw in a bald reference and you can run with it all day.

Junior Paulo bc he is fat.

Fergo bc he put himself ahead of his new club and broke his leg.

Lane bc he a girls name for a surname.

LOL at the zero signings.

LOL at our jumper.

Sledge Max bc he spends our money like it's his grandmother's.

Sledge Board bc they no nothing about footy.

Sledge our assistant coaches.

Sledge our new Wenty coach.

Complain that we should run the reserve grade side, not Wenty.

Sledge/sack Bernie.

If we sign Hayne for more than 1 year, worth a sledge. We will always pay too much for him.

If we sign Kapow, we paid too much.

If we don't sign Kapow for overs, we are hopeless.

Go through every opponents roster and highlight the good players that we should have signed.

Taka should have been shopped around.

Bev should have been shopped around.

Norman should have been shopped around.

Mennings should have been shopped around.

Moses should have been shopped around.

Mannah is getting paid too much.

Complain that we don't promote our juniors.

Complain that we over hype our juniors.

Over to you.

Where's the full list?

Angry_eel

We need to sign Luke Keary. Won 2 GFs with two NRL teams and was the 5/8 & Halfback for the Roosters win. Sign him up I say!