Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2020 Rabbitohs Rumours, Signings and News

https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/cody-w...reaction/02624656-e9ea-4440-a874-abe1b32cddcd

Eighth Immortal Andrew Johns says Cody Walker deserves more than the reported $650,000-a-season tabled by South Sydney.

News Corp has reported that the Rabbitohs have offered Walker a two-year contract extension from 2021, but the amount is short of what the five-eighth is worth, according to Johns.

"I think his market value is probably more than that," Johns exclusively told Wide World of Sports.

"I give an incredible rap on Cody. I think he's one of those rare, instinctive players."

Johns said that the 29-year-old possesses the type of rugby league skills that put him in elite company.

"He can play what he sees and what he feels, like a lot of the great indigenous halves," he said.

"I can probably compare him to the way Cliff Lyons used to play."

Walker played just one Origin game, before being dumped by NSW coach Brad Fittler in a reshuffle for Game 2 of the 2019 series.

But Johns can sympathise with Walker's management team over frustration at the Rabbitohs' offer.

"I can understand how he feels. He played Origin (this) year," Johns said.

He's a world class player. I can definitely understand him. I think he's worth more than that."

According to the Daily Telegraph the reported $650,000 is $200,000 less than what Walker's team were seeking per year to remain at Souths. Rabbitohs general manager Shane Richardson said they are awaiting a response from Walker "sooner rather than later".

What great news guys.

Let the fun begin! Common sense prevails imo.

I just feel like going and looking up the following Christmas carol and playing it @Peter Quinn you know the one that goes.......

Hhhhaaaaallllleeeeelluuujjjaaahhh

Haaaaaaaaaallllllleeeeeelllllluuuuuujjjaaaahhhh

Halllllllllllllleeeeeeeeeeellllllllleeeeeeellllllluuuuuujjjjjaaaaahhhhh

NovoBunny94

What great news guys.

Let the fun begin! Common sense prevails imo.

I just feel like going and looking up the following Christmas carol and playing it @Peter Quinn you know the one that goes.......

Hhhhaaaaallllleeeeelluuujjjaaahhh

Haaaaaaaaaallllllleeeeeelllllluuuuuujjjaaaahhhh

Halllllllllllllleeeeeeeeeeellllllllleeeeeeellllllluuuuuujjjjjaaaaahhhhh
How good! Great news to hear on a Friday

Travitoh

Gebbie for Arrow in 2020 is a deal I'd make in a heartbeat. One is a current Queensland rep who fills a need, the other is a 24 year old on a development contract. Sure Gebbie might develop into a star in a couple of years but Souths should be in the business of winning now.

Cody is definitely worth more than $650k, topping at about $800-$850k imo.

There sure is quite a bit of division amongst Souths supporters I’ve spoken too and read on social media in general re Cody. Personally I think 700k is the right price he’s a very good player but not at the elite level of 850k plus.

southsport

Gebbie for Arrow in 2020 is a deal I'd make in a heartbeat. One is a current Queensland rep who fills a need, the other is a 24 year old on a development contract. Sure Gebbie might develop into a star in a couple of years but Souths should be in the business of winning now.

Cody is definitely worth more than $650k, topping at about $800-$850k imo.
I think Cody should be on the same as Reyno.........whatever that is, $750k?

Souths Till I Die

There sure is quite a bit of division amongst Souths supporters I’ve spoken too and read on social media in general re Cody. Personally I think 700k is the right price he’s a very good player but not at the elite level of 850k plus.

Ive backed Cody pretty hard this year through all the origin crap but he needs to pick up his game if he wants 850k a year. He’s too inconsistent for that kind of pay check. 700k is more than fair.

What does your gut tell you is gonna happen, apparently Souths aren’t budging on our 650k offer.

I really reckon Arrow is a lock mate, just depends now re whether we can come to an agreement with Titans re compensation/player swap for 2020.

If Cody does go we’d have to move Douiehi to 6 and most likely buy Latrell for fullback.

If we just get Arrow in the forwards that still means we really haven’t replaced Sutto, George, Turner or Britt, really we’d just be bringing the reserve graders up who haven’t made it in first grade yet plus youngsters.

Very interesting times these next couple of weeks before Christmas, buckle up I say who the bloody hell knows what will happen!......

A rumour around that Addo Carr will be coming to us.

Obviously I’ve no idea if there is any truth in that!

These next few days we are gonna be linked with so many players!

@southsport I think Reynolds is on around 700k, that’s the figure that seems to have popped up most.

Travitoh

I think Cody should be on the same as Reyno.........whatever that is, $750k?

$750k would be a good deal. It'd cost more than that to replace him.
He's a fringe NSW rep who can win games on his own.
Sure he has his downs but there are very, very few halves in rugby league today who don't.
$650k is what Milford is worth imo. Cody is comfortably better.

Peter Quinn

https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/cody-w...reaction/02624656-e9ea-4440-a874-abe1b32cddcd

Eighth Immortal Andrew Johns says Cody Walker deserves more than the reported $650,000-a-season tabled by South Sydney.

News Corp has reported that the Rabbitohs have offered Walker a two-year contract extension from 2021, but the amount is short of what the five-eighth is worth, according to Johns.

"I think his market value is probably more than that," Johns exclusively told Wide World of Sports.

"I give an incredible rap on Cody. I think he's one of those rare, instinctive players."

Johns said that the 29-year-old possesses the type of rugby league skills that put him in elite company.

"He can play what he sees and what he feels, like a lot of the great indigenous halves," he said.

"I can probably compare him to the way Cliff Lyons used to play."

Walker played just one Origin game, before being dumped by NSW coach Brad Fittler in a reshuffle for Game 2 of the 2019 series.

But Johns can sympathise with Walker's management team over frustration at the Rabbitohs' offer.

"I can understand how he feels. He played Origin (this) year," Johns said.

He's a world class player. I can definitely understand him. I think he's worth more than that."

According to the Daily Telegraph the reported $650,000 is $200,000 less than what Walker's team were seeking per year to remain at Souths. Rabbitohs general manager Shane Richardson said they are awaiting a response from Walker "sooner rather than later".
Cody is a very good player. I'm pretty sure Souths won't want him to go anywhere.

handyman2190

Cody is a very good player. I'm pretty sure Souths won't want him to go anywhere.
At 29, and he isnt a player that lifts a team,he is a player that plays off others that play good,then he shines, his inconsistent as well, id trade him for Arrow, buy mitchell and put him in at 5.8 or FB with GI to coach him, trouble is if cody gets more than reynolds you watch the sooking and carrying on from AR, can we afford to upgrade him as well? There will be a flow on effect, i say stick to the 650,take it or go,now if he was 23 different story

Souths Till I Die

$750k would be a good deal. It'd cost more than that to replace him.
He's a fringe NSW rep who can win games on his own.
Sure he has his downs but there are very, very few halves in rugby league today who don't.
$650k is what Milford is worth imo. Cody is comfortably better.

I think Milford is one of the million dollar men. Goes to show how scarce good 5/8ths are in the competition.

Souths Till I Die

What does your gut tell you is gonna happen, apparently Souths aren’t budging on our 650k offer.

I really reckon Arrow is a lock mate, just depends now re whether we can come to an agreement with Titans re compensation/player swap for 2020.

If Cody does go we’d have to move Douiehi to 6 and most likely buy Latrell for fullback.

If we just get Arrow in the forwards that still means we really haven’t replaced Sutto, George, Turner or Britt, really we’d just be bringing the reserve graders up who haven’t made it in first grade yet plus youngsters.

Very interesting times these next couple of weeks before Christmas, buckle up I say who the bloody hell knows what will happen!......

My gut tells me Cody will resign. He loves South Sydney and I don’t think money will be a big factor in his decision. He’s pretty settled in Sydney.

I think Arrow is definitely signed but I think he’ll be signed to play prop. He plays prop for Queensland and does it well so that’s where I see him fitting in. He can switch to the second row throughout the game maybe? If we do land Arrow he will go up there with one of the greatest signings imo.

I’m very confident in the players we have coming through as well. I don’t think 2020 will be a premiership year but I think 2021 is our year. Everybody else better look out.

callmack1

Sam's retirement, Walker contract stand-off opens door for Souths to chase Latrell: https://www.nrl.com/news/2019/12/06...urgess-retirement-declared-salary-cap-exempt/

Rabbitohs Welcome NRL’s Decision on Salary Cap: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/12/06/rabbitohs-welcome-nrls-decision-on-salary-cap/

South Sydney to turn focus to Jai Arrow after Sam Burgess’ salary is wiped from salary cap: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...t/news-story/79480f9824a6fd69826b0e8825595833

Well, I just logged onto the laptop after a busy day and saw this news in my inbox.... I am absolutely stoked!! To say it's fantastic news is an understatement!! Finally, we have a decision and it's the right one, common sense has finally prevailed!

This honestly opens up so many doors for us, $3.6 million dollars worth of doors. This news has just made my day, very happy with that. Time to splash some cash Souths!!