Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2020 Rabbitohs Rumours, Signings and News

Souths Till I Die

This thread was started on the 4th nov this year. Around 36 days old and we’re 65 pages deep.
No real signings that I can remember. So nothing to chat about there. But the problem is once a rumour begins it has a 50/50 chance of becoming true. Most people may have a few things to say and leave it at that. Most.
Then there are others who have to post every half hour about the same rumour day in day out when there’s nothing to talk about. If there’s no legit info about the rumour, let’s make some shit up, a friend of a friend told me etc etc. stir the pot and shake the beehive and see what happens. What you get is a thread weighed down with 80% pointless posts with no significant contribution. So if other posters decide to swing by and see what’s up, they’ve gotta now wade through pages of drivel and people try to one up themselves, so in the event a rumour does come true, they can claim they’re god cause they’ve posted about it so much.
I can see why he’s shitty, and tbh @Souths Till I Die it surprises me that you don’t see, you’ve been through this before, same names, same reactions, same hyperbole.
Oh and as for Taylor swift, I heard she once was seen wearing Red and Green on the same day during Xmas, so she’s a souffs supporter right?

I definitely get where you’re coming from and I like that you’ve used a casual readers point of view rather than people who regularly post. However, I also feel as if Souths fans are currently suffering major angst due to the fact we have so much money and no signings yet. I do believe it’s impossible to avoid that type of discussion in a forum like this because people are always going to want to share their opinion on a specific rumour or as you say “gloat” about how right they were. I definitely get frustrated at times. But at the end of the day I guess I’ve come to enjoy the forum for what it is rather than what I’d like it to be.

I was being way too harsh on Taylor Swift then. She’s my new favourite singer :wink:

CliveC

I have zero inside info on any signings and I don't believe a single one of the rumours on all sites not just here until the bloke has signed on the dotted line.
You beaut Edene Gebbie
Now that's a worthwhile rumour other wise.....boring!

https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/south-...act-news/a33296bd-9f1e-4931-90c0-f5b10a9c4d60

Former South Sydney Premiership-winning back-rower Kyle Turner may join the Rabbitohs' arch rivals Sydney Roosters in 2020.

One of the heroes of the Bunnies' 2014 Premiership win, Turner is unwanted by the club for next season but at 27, refuses to give up on his dream to continue playing in the NRL.

Several bush clubs have shown interest in the Indigenous All Stars and NSW Country representative but there are also some feelers from Sydney clubs.

The Roosters have filled 29 of their 30 spots and Turner is hoping to grab the last one.

His ability to play in the outside backs as well as the forwards could clinch him a contract - especially if star centre Latrell Mitchell decides to go elsewhere.

Turner has been training alone in the blistering heat of his home town of Coonabarabran should the call to arms come.

KNIGHT EYES BUMPED UP SOUTHS DEAL

Brad Fittler last week anointed Liam Knight as a future State of Origin forward, and it has prompted Souths to move to lock up the tough forward long term.

Knight comes off contract at the end of next season and the Rabbitohs know that if he becomes a Blue, his price will rise massively.

So the club is looking to upgrade and extend Knight, who was one of the NRL's big improvers last season, as soon as possible.

Knight's management is playing it cool, however, and is in no rush.

They are likely to test the market, but Knight is happy at Souths and is more than likely to stay at Redfern.

My view is it’s not just a rumours thread, it’s a news thread too and I’ll keep posting different news and rumours.

Maybe if some don’t appreciate any info I get which I do get at times and have gotten the last couple of days from an inside source/s well then maybe next time I’ll keep it to myself, I like to share though as I feel most like to hear those kinds of things.

I really enjoy this thread in general and what everyone contributes, it’s what helps keep me sane whilst we wait lol!

Peter Quinn

This thread was started on the 4th nov this year. Around 36 days old and we’re 65 pages deep.
No real signings that I can remember. So nothing to chat about there. But the problem is once a rumour begins it has a 50/50 chance of becoming true. Most people may have a few things to say and leave it at that. Most.
Then there are others who have to post every half hour about the same rumour day in day out when there’s nothing to talk about. If there’s no legit info about the rumour, let’s make some shit up, a friend of a friend told me etc etc. stir the pot and shake the beehive and see what happens. What you get is a thread weighed down with 80% pointless posts with no significant contribution. So if other posters decide to swing by and see what’s up, they’ve gotta now wade through pages of drivel and people try to one up themselves, so in the event a rumour does come true, they can claim they’re god cause they’ve posted about it so much.
I can see why he’s shitty, and tbh @Souths Till I Die it surprises me that you don’t see, you’ve been through this before, same names, same reactions, same hyperbole.
Oh and as for Taylor swift, I heard she once was seen wearing Red and Green on the same day during Xmas, so she’s a souffs supporter right?
Very true mate. However, what would be posted on here if it wasn't for rumours and or actual signings? Answer.... Probably nothing at all. It's all part of the fun and pre season games. There is no footy to talk about, so all we can do is talk about adjustments we might like to make to better our team or weaken others. There's nothing we can do about the rules because that comes from the nrl. There are too many rules these days in league. Even the referees are confused and they are supposed to uphold the rules on field. I reckon so back to the old days. If you can't contain the ball you deserve to lose it. The game was made for the toughest of the tough. A gladiator sport if you will. Now if you throw a punch you get suspended. I reckon if your not tough enough to play League, then go play basketball or soccer. Solicitors are running up and down sidelines to see if they can find evidence to sue someone for fowl play. Going to the footy Now is the equivalent to to a psychology seminar at university or a parental guidance lesson. It's turned on its head. Rather than be good for the game, I reckon it will eventually kill it. Games numbers are dwindling not going up.

Plenty of news on our official club twitter page and other things to talk about too!.....

CliveC

All we need now is yet another Souths player to be recruited by Easts for next to nothing and we fork out big time for a potential Prima Donna!

Just on Douiehi I’d love to have him in the 14, he can play fullback, centre, halves, hooker if needed.....

If we get injuries during a game or injuries to our second rowers, I know what I’m about to say is a left of field idea and some will think I’m an idiot but if needed do we reckon Douiehi could play some minutes in the second row off the bench? If he can manage to do that a lot of clubs will be chasing him as he’d be even more versatile than he is right now, my worry is in a couple of years will we be able to afford to keep Douiehi?........ as I said I think lots of clubs will chase him!

CAFPOW

Fox Sports is reporting the Roosters wants Latrell Mitchell gone before Jan 1. Whats stopping Richo from signing him? Also, since we re-signed an injury prone Braidon Burns, can't we we re-sign an injury prone Kyle Turner but for less money?

handyman2190

Fox Sports is reporting the Roosters wants Latrell Mitchell gone before Jan 1. Whats stopping Richo from signing him? Also, since we re-signed an injury prone Braidon Burns, can't we we re-sign an injury prone Kyle Turner but for less money?
I think richo is waiting to sign arrow and cody first in case the pot needs sweetening then he knows how much is left

callmack1

The Mitchell saga is certainly dragging on a bit that's for suew, I thought it'd be well sorted by now. But oh well, good things take time right? I'm hoping it's a good thing and we can get him. The Roosters chipping in a bit and paying some of his contract would be even better!

Just in regards to Liam Knight, I think he 100% deserves an upgrade and we need to lock him down as soon as.

On another note, man I'd hate to see Turner sign with the Roosters!

Galeforce

called CAP and priorities.

Could we sign Arrow , LM and Josh AC ? possible and is Fifita still a long range chance?

possible , however if we did , we would need to transfer out Gagai , AJ and maybe Walker , even Burns and Allan ?

We also need to consider contract upgrades for Knight , Douihe and Murray.

If we signed , LM and Josh AC ........Douihe either shifts to centre or five eighth ( which is why Burns, Gagai , AJ and Walker are all possible transfer options). pushing Douihe to 14 as a 2020/2021 plan , is a great way to kill his career.

Until the pennies all drop , which is taking time , Turner who would be a Reserve team option is a low priority unfortunately. Besides , Souths by cutting him , are giving him a chance to earn a decent contract somewhere else.

Souths Till I Die

Do people really think Kyle Turner is worth resigning? He was never the same after his neck injury and I don’t think he’s ever going to be a regular first grader. Would love to see him prove me wrong but if he goes to Easts it will be for the bears with the odd first grade appearance.

Souths Till I Die

Could we sign Arrow , LM and Josh AC ? possible and is Fifita still a long range chance?

possible , however if we did , we would need to transfer out Gagai , AJ and maybe Walker , even Burns and Allan ?

If we signed , LM and Josh AC ........Douihe either shifts to centre or five eighth ( which is why Burns, Gagai , AJ and Walker are all possible transfer options). pushing Douihe to 14 as a 2020/2021 plan , is a great way to kill his career.

Until the pennies all drop , which is taking time , Turner who would be a Reserve team option is a low priority unfortunately. Besides , Souths by cutting him , are giving him a chance to earn a decent contract somewhere else.

This is my point of view as well even though we have a lot of money to make big signings I would hate to see players like Knight and Murray leave because of poor cap management.

handyman2190

Mate forget jac he is tigers bound plus we dont need him it would be a waste