Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2020 season

Kilkenny

Not sure what others see in Aekins. I don't watch a lot of the lower grades but he was pretty underwhelming in FG. Should obviously be given a shot in the trials but Crichton, Naden and Burton should be right there alongside him.

He did run for almost 300 metres on debut what was or close to a record.

He’s the obvious choice and he’ll do well. Good player.

Dave's mate

I reckon Aekins has been pretty good when given a shot. Can't see any reason why it wouldn't be a straight swap.

If not him then Luai for me. Gets Burton in 6 & gives us another ball playing option.
If Luai plays 1 and he shouldn't then Sauce can't be dropped

Fangs

1. Edwards
2. Too
3. Whare
4. Naden
5. Mansour

Is our top 5, or was going to be.

Then you've got the rated Stephen Crichton. Followed maybe by Aikens? To be honest Ivan might even have Jed Cartwright or Kurt Capewell ahead of him as a centre. MWZ is probably last picked as he is only a winger.

Aikens played three games last year including the debacle against the Tigers at Suncorp. Hasn't played first grade since. Tough to break into the side once we started our winning streak.

betcats

Agree Sauce deserves a chance. Even last year he is till good for an automatic 150m minimum every game with plenty of momentum created with some of those runs. He needs to improve his support runs and timing a lot. He if bombs a chance by overrunning the guy with the ball again then id drop him straight away. But he deserves a crack.

OldPanther

Agree Sauce deserves a chance. Even last year he is till good for an automatic 150m minimum every game with plenty of momentum created with some of those runs. He needs to improve his support runs and timing a lot. He if bombs a chance by overrunning the guy with the ball again then id drop him straight away. But he deserves a crack.

That's a happy middle ground.

franklin2323

1. Edwards
2. Too
3. Whare
4. Naden
5. Mansour

Is our top 5, or was going to be.

Then you've got the rated Stephen Crichton. Followed maybe by Aikens? To be honest Ivan might even have Jed Cartwright or Kurt Capewell ahead of him as a centre. MWZ is probably last picked as he is only a winger.

Aikens played three games last year including the debacle against the Tigers at Suncorp. Hasn't played first grade since. Tough to break into the side once we started our winning streak.

I agree that back 5 was it. Very ordinary though and this is the chance to try something different to give the side some speed

kinghippo

His run meters really aren’t as important for us as it’s made out to be, I think we get fixated on it.
We move up the field very easily with the forwards as well but unfortunately can’t do anything when we get there.
Mansour plays like a forward out wide, he may look ok pushing wingers and centres around for a few extra meters but he gets found out in D and the air as much as Tamou would on the wing.
I love the guy but he must be close to being on the chopping block, surely it’s his last last chance

betcats

His run meters really aren’t as important for us as it’s made out to be, I think we get fixated on it.
We move up the field very easily with the forwards as well but unfortunately can’t do anything when we get there.
Mansour plays like a forward out wide, he may look ok pushing wingers and centres around for a few extra meters but he gets found out in D and the air as much as Tamou would on the wing.
I love the guy but he must be close to being on the chopping block, surely it’s his last last chance

We literally were dead last in average metres per set in 2019. We are near the bottom in every stat that measures metres run as a tea,, whether it be a per game average or totals. All the good teams ran for a lot more metres than we did last year, all the teams that are down below our ARM total finished below us on the table, the top ARM teams were all top 5 sides on the table. We need to run for more metres if we want to improve next year.

franklin2323

The best thing we have are how well we start sets. The back 3 are huge for us and how we play. Can replace 1 of them but not 2 yet

kinghippo

We literally were dead last in average metres per set in 2019. We are near the bottom in every stat that measures metres run as a tea,, whether it be a per game average or totals. All the good teams ran for a lot more metres than we did last year, all the teams that are down below our ARM total finished below us on the table, the top ARM teams were all top 5 sides on the table. We need to run for more metres if we want to improve next year.
Stats can say anything you want. We got ourselves in good attacking areas constantly and easily, its the lack of tries that needs to be addressed.
I am not saying the meters are not important but the next guy may do just as well, they can’t be the only reason to be in the team.

betcats

Stats can say anything you want. We got ourselves in good attacking areas constantly and easily, its the lack of tries that needs to be addressed.

How do you know we got into good attacking positions constantly? Because of a statistic I am betting. Pick and choose what stats to believe if you want but last year I saw us struggling for metres a lot and that statistics clearly back that up.

We didn't make metres easily, and making metres are clearly important.

franklin2323

I am not saying the meters are not important but the next guy may do just as well, they can’t be the only reason to be in the team.

How did Crichton go when he replaced Mansour? The wingers/outside backs need those inside them to create tries. That is where we lacked

kinghippo

How do you know we got into good attacking positions constantly? Because of a statistic I am betting. Pick and choose what stats to believe if you want but last year I saw us struggling for metres a lot and that statistics clearly back that up.

We didn't make metres easily, and making metres are clearly important.
That’s what you saw, I thought we did well carting the ball up field.
The stats that probably effected the running meters were our time in possession, huge error count and penalties.

OldPanther

Interesting. I wonder how much difference it made that we spent so much time near the try line without scoring.

betcats

That’s what you saw, I thought we did well carting the ball up field.
The stats that probably effected the running meters were our time in possession, huge error count and penalties.

The roosters had the most errors and a similar completion rate to us(bottom 3) and they ran for more metres than any team.

The tackled in opposition 20m zone statistic was skewed by our inability to score and the fact we forced more line drop outs than any other side. Most of the times we got piggy backed up the field with a penalty or opposition error we would spend a full set attacking the try line with no luck, force a drop out and do it all again. I can remember us camping out on the other teams try line for multiple sets heaps of times, it had nothing to do with ability to make metres easily.