This Koroisau signing definitely helps push us back into top 8 contention in 2020.
We are still a superstar or 2 away from a premiership though.
Or 3.
This Koroisau signing definitely helps push us back into top 8 contention in 2020.
We are still a superstar or 2 away from a premiership though.
He has not been lunted, he has been punted.
Passing is quality. Absolute myth that he can't pass, far superior to any other option. His decision making when fatigued is where he struggles.
I still reckon our best no.14 option is Katoa. I don't think Egan or Kenny offer anymore impact wise & both cover less positions.
I agree but he’s gone. Hope he gets picked by another NRL club would be more than handy for the right team particularly given his modest price tag.
The dogs should take him. They need a hooker badly and he's better than what they have.
Most clubs have very little room to manoeuvre in their cap so his options will be limited.
The Titans could be a possibility as it is suggested they may be looking to move on from Peats & Rein or at least one them. Peats is supposed to be on big money.
When it comes to discussions about potential signings I don’t remotely consider the likes of Tom & Jake Trbojevic simply because one they will stay with Manly and two even if they didn’t we would have a hope in hell.
In respect of Kalyn Ponga he is capable of exciting footy but I’m not sure he is worth any where near the silly money being talked about. While he is capable of great things but at the same time as we have seen in recent weeks he is not without his flaws either. Like the Trbojevic brothers he is not a realistic option for us and we have young Laurie who is similar in style and could turn out to be a really fine NRL fullback, time will tell.
I think my point wasn't clear.
I was responding to you saying dogs not being able to afford Katoa due to cap. I was saying the Dogs were prepared to offer Tom & Jake Trbojevic, Ponga ridiculous money under the cap and didn't get them they also wanted Api and missed out. They have heaps of cap room for Katoa.
I'm now of the Burton to fb Edwards to wing and we need a centre or two mindset.
Why would you want to play a specialist 5/8 at fullback and a specialist fullback on the wing?
Surely pre season will have a big bearing on who gets first crack. We have 3 specialist fullbacks in Edwards, Laurie & Staines to pick from. Burton & Laui go head to head for the vacant 5/8 position. May the best specialists win.
I don’t understand why we would try and fit square pegs into round holes.
You pick your best players and fit them in. Also Burton plays exactly the same style as Ponga but he has better kicking. This idea he can only play 5/8 or leave is silly.
Who said anything about leave.
Since Burton came from the Central West he has played in the halves. Do we know whether he has ever played fullback, if he did it must have been under 13/14’s back in his home town.
We’ve ruined enough players over the years trying to play them away from there natural and rightful position without doing it to poor old Burton who looks the real deal in the halves.
In addition to Edwards we have two other highly talented specialists in the fullback role.
I don’t get it I really don’t.
What's not to get. If Luai is successful in the halves you can't move him yet Burton is a better footballer than Edwards, Laurie, Staines. Therefore you fit him in.
You are making the assumption Luai has the position. He doesn’t. It is likely to be a shootout between him and Burton, with perhaps Tyrone May in the mix as well however unlikely that may seem.
The incumbent fullback is Edwards with hopefully Staines and Laurie applying the pressure.
Burton looks to be a real prospect but he has come through the juniors into the seniors as a 5/8. Just because he is a good footballer doesn’t automatically ensure he will make the transition to the highly specialist fullback role.
Assuming he is a better footballer or will be a better footballer than Edwards, Laurie and Staines only time will tell and that is a huge call on kid after one game especially after all the debate about how we are too quick to overate our junior talents.
For the record, my personal opinion only I think the biggest potential talent is Daine Laurie he is the closest your going to get to the likes of Kalyn Ponga is that the type of fullback were looking for.
In addition to the above it ain’t gonna matter one iota whether it’s Burton or Luai at five eight and whomever is the chosen one at fullback nothing is going to change unless the coaching staff get there shit together and have proper game plans and attacking structures.
We have proved over the last four years we are capable to rolling down the field reasonably well but once we get anywhere near our opponents goal line the results have been there for all to see. We offer nothing and that is a coaching issue.
I'm making the assumption on Luai because he deserves first crack at 5/8 after staying loyal and waiting on the bench. I just think it's fair.
Completely agree.