Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023-2028 next tv deal discussion

Colk

So the afl deal has a lot of accountancy tricks in it including payments made by Telstra for marvel stadium and lots of contra ?

im shocked

Really the fact you are taking two lines out of an anti V’Landys article (and very rightly so btw) is surprising. Did you not understand the tone of the article?

Nerd

So the afl deal has a lot of accountancy tricks in it including payments made by Telstra for marvel stadium and lots of contra ?

im shocked
Some pertinent quotes from this article.

"Nine’s recent media rights decisions have now directly funded the NRL’s opposition sports in both the AFL and rugby union. Nine paid $100 million to rugby union for three years broadcasting rights while seeking reductions from the NRL for reduced content during the pandemic. Effectively, Nine took the money due to rugby league and handed it to rugby union (a sport that has sought to kill off the independent sport of rugby league for over 120 years). Some loyalty by Nine!

At the same time, Nine has ignored international rugby league (no bid for games during the upcoming Rugby League World Cups in England starting next month) and advertised rugby union widely during important rugby league telecasts such as the State of Origin series. For the NRL to seemingly countenance this behaviour from Nine without public reproach is quite remarkable.

The simple facts are that rugby league’s cumulative TV ratings for the NRL alone in 2022 greatly exceeded those of the AFL (106,265,000 viewers for the AFL, 118,964,000 for the NRL). This does not include separate ratings for State of Origin 2022 (a fixture the AFL no longer plays) or the international game of rugby league (we are about to see 61 matches of rugby league played at the three World Cups in England in October, something the AFL cannot offer).

Accordingly, the higher rating game in 2022 (NRL) was paid less money for TV rights than was the lower rating game (AFL). Let that sink in for a while.

Ramblings about the longer length of telecasts in the AFL hold little weight when more eyeballs are watching the NRL. If length of telecast solely drove value, Test cricket would be the most expensive sporting product in the world – which it most clearly is not; LIV Golf would not be playing reduced 54-hole tournaments (over the usual 72 holes played on the regular US PGA Tour); and the NFLs $10 billion per annum for TV rights for 870.40 hours content in the regular season would not dwarf MLBs $470 million per year media deal for 7,290 hours of content in their regular season."

Time to move both V'Landys and especially Nein on.

Colk

Some pertinent quotes from this article.

"Nine’s recent media rights decisions have now directly funded the NRL’s opposition sports in both the AFL and rugby union. Nine paid $100 million to rugby union for three years broadcasting rights while seeking reductions from the NRL for reduced content during the pandemic. Effectively, Nine took the money due to rugby league and handed it to rugby union (a sport that has sought to kill off the independent sport of rugby league for over 120 years). Some loyalty by Nine!

At the same time, Nine has ignored international rugby league (no bid for games during the upcoming Rugby League World Cups in England starting next month) and advertised rugby union widely during important rugby league telecasts such as the State of Origin series. For the NRL to seemingly countenance this behaviour from Nine without public reproach is quite remarkable.

The simple facts are that rugby league’s cumulative TV ratings for the NRL alone in 2022 greatly exceeded those of the AFL (106,265,000 viewers for the AFL, 118,964,000 for the NRL). This does not include separate ratings for State of Origin 2022 (a fixture the AFL no longer plays) or the international game of rugby league (we are about to see 61 matches of rugby league played at the three World Cups in England in October, something the AFL cannot offer).

Accordingly, the higher rating game in 2022 (NRL) was paid less money for TV rights than was the lower rating game (AFL). Let that sink in for a while.

Ramblings about the longer length of telecasts in the AFL hold little weight when more eyeballs are watching the NRL. If length of telecast solely drove value, Test cricket would be the most expensive sporting product in the world – which it most clearly is not; LIV Golf would not be playing reduced 54-hole tournaments (over the usual 72 holes played on the regular US PGA Tour); and the NFLs $10 billion per annum for TV rights for 870.40 hours content in the regular season would not dwarf MLBs $470 million per year media deal for 7,290 hours of content in their regular season."

Time to move both V'Landys and especially Nein on.

Very good point about the length of the game etc which some people have used to countenance this absurd difference.

That may be somewhat of an argument for the FTA difference (even then it is still too large) but how anybody can use that argument to explain the difference between what fumbleball have achieved with Foxtel in this deal (and others) and with our game is absolutely risible. It’s tantamount to highway robbery what they have done over the years.

Wb1234

Ignoring the Telstra payments news ltd reported the afl got 3.5 billion over 7 years or around 500 million pa

this is pretty much what I expected so minus contra they are getting something like 470 million pa from their tv deals and the nrl is currently around 430 million

now we are really finding out the reality

well done gill that’s a great legacy

The Penguin #6.

My brother-in-law is a school teacher and he hates Rugby League. I reckon it`s because he`s had too many Rugby League jocks sitting up the back of the class-room, football on the desk, asking smart-arse questions for most of his school-teaching career.
Recently he took my sister, their family and some other people to an swans fumbleball game. For me they are typical fumleball fans, not really committed just there because they think it is trendy. No substance as fans at all. They can take it or leave it. I`ll bet there`s a lot of Sydney fumbleball fans like that.
Funny thing is though, whenever he tries to bring up fumbleball at family gatherings I just say " it`s a silly game ", and that`s the end of that. There doesn`t seem to be a response and they know it.

Colk

My brother-in-law is a school teacher and he hates Rugby League. I reckon it`s because he`s had too many Rugby League jocks sitting up the back of the class-room, football on the desk, asking smart-arse questions for most of his school-teaching career.
Recently he took my sister, their family and some other people to an swans fumbleball game. For me they are typical fumleball fans, not really committed just there because they think it is trendy. No substance as fans at all. They can take it or leave it. I`ll bet there`s a lot of Sydney fumbleball fans like that.
Funny thing is though, whenever he tries to bring up fumbleball at family gatherings I just say " it`s a silly game ", and that`s the end of that. There doesn`t seem to be a response and they know it.

Some things are inexplicable to any sort of rhyme and reason. My concern is with the amount of money that they have, they will eventually get to more people like your brother in law.

You only have to look at certain things to see that people aren’t particularly smart and that a lot of things are down to shrewd marketing: McDonalds is absolutely crap food but it would probably the highest selling food in the world; Scott Morrison was elected Prime Minister of Australia even though he was sacked from Tourism Australia etc.

Good, I think this is the beginning. The big positive that I can see (or hope) is that finally this is the line in the sand moment. We need to get rid of the management and take back the game from f****** News Limited.
Nothing much will change. The NSWRL and ARLC will just restructure everything so that there's more funds available to prop up nine professional clubs in Sydney. They'll take money out of grassroots and hold back expansion to make sure all nine Sydney NRL clubs are safe. That's how a sport goes from being mainstream to a niche product and struggling for relevancy.

We don't fund the game at the junior level to the same degree as AwFuL and it's coming back to hurt us. I'm seeing more white kids in Brisbane and Logan playing fumbleball because they're the demographic AwFuL has targeted. People my age are NRL fans, but in 20 to 30 years from now the kids of today will be devoted AwFuL fans following the Lions and taking their children to the Gabba.

Colk

Nothing much will change. The NSWRL and ARLC will just restructure everything so that there's more funds available to prop up nine professional clubs in Sydney. They'll take money out of grassroots and hold back expansion to make sure all nine Sydney NRL clubs are safe. That's how a sport goes from being mainstream to a niche product and struggling for relevancy.

We don't fund the game at the junior level to the same degree as AwFuL and it's coming back to hurt us. I'm seeing more white kids in Brisbane and Logan playing fumbleball because they're the demographic AwFuL has targeted. People my age are NRL fans, but in 20 to 30 years from now the kids of today will be devoted AwFuL fans following the Lions and taking their children to the Gabba.

That’s one side of the coin mate. The fact that we have made no attempt to grow our game outside of NSW and QLD and be used and abused by broadcasters has probably been the worst thing.

Ignoring the Telstra payments news ltd reported the afl got 3.5 billion over 7 years or around 500 million pa

this is pretty much what I expected so minus contra they are getting something like 470 million pa from their tv deals and the nrl is currently around 430 million

now we are really finding out the reality

well done gill that’s a great legacy
Mate, give it a rest. We're getting about $400m per annum to AwFuL's $640m. If you remove contra we get about $370m per annum to AwFuL's $570m. We've lost the war and we can blame it on the hillbillies from the NSWRL who want a return to 1972. They've spent the last four decades basing everything around the needs of the NSWRL clubs. They bankrupted the BRL, held back the Broncos, gave Cowboys, Crushers, Warriors and Chargers no chance to survive and sacrificed Adelaide and Perth to keep small clubs in Sydney afloat. If it wasn't for News Ltd we wouldn't have the Cowboys, Storm and Warriors. Our game has gone from being a genuine competitor to AwFuL in a congested market to becoming a niche sport that's losing relevance in its heartland.

Colk

Mate, give it a rest. We're getting about $400m per annum to AwFuL's $640m. If you remove contra we get about $370m per annum to AwFuL's $570m. We've lost the war and we can blame it on the hillbillies from the NSWRL who want a return to 1972. They've spent the last four decades basing everything around the needs of the NSWRL clubs. They bankrupted the BRL, held back the Broncos, gave Cowboys, Crushers, Warriors and Chargers no chance to survive and sacrificed Adelaide and Perth to keep small clubs in Sydney afloat. If it wasn't for News Ltd we wouldn't have the Cowboys, Storm and Warriors. Our game has gone from being a genuine competitor to AwFuL in a congested market to becoming a niche sport that's losing relevance in its heartland.

Exactly. Imagine if we had an Adelaide, Perth and a 2nd Brisbane team over the past 20 odd years. Imagine where we would have been as a game.

Colk

The fact that there are people still arguing against the idea of a national competition is also proof of why we are losing. Have they not seen what has happened: we are getting the same viewers (actually more) and there are still people who can’t learn the lessons of what a national competition in markets that advertisers want and what a truly independent game can do

Idiots were saying the same thing 40 years ago

nothing much has changed tho
RL still dominates the same territory it did in 1982,
some eastern suburbs snobs now watch tank topped clad, unco ,noodle armed wankers ...thats the only thing different.

little will change in the next 30 years
most people in NSW the ACT & QLD think their sport is an abortion & that view is not easily changed.
As masters said
a lot of their deal is accounts trickery , another exercise in smoke & mirrors which has been their go for decades
without Telstra & contra its about 500 mill
about 130 mill ahead of us for straight cash
thats what needs to be addressed when the Vlandys rings Delany at seasons end for a
fire side chat ..
future deals will be the leverage ... lets see what happens

Iamback

Idiots were saying the same thing 40 years ago

nothing much has changed tho
RL still dominates the same territory it did in 1982,
some eastern suburbs snobs now watch tank topped clad, unco ,noodle armed wankers ...thats the only thing different.

little will change in the next 30 years
most people in NSW the ACT & QLD think their sport is an abortion & that view is not easily changed.
As masters said
a lot of their deal is accounts trickery , another exercise in smoke & mirrors which has been their go for decades
without Telstra & contra its about 500 mill
about 130 mill ahead of us for straight cash
thats what needs to be addressed when the Vlandys rings Delany at seasons end for a
fire side chat ..
future deals will be the leverage ... lets see what happens

You look at the areas AFL has a foothold in

Lost teams in

Newtown
Balmain
Wests went way out west
The Bears

West of Homebush there is nothing

Country Areas North of Canberra is all League country

The fact that there are people still arguing against the idea of a national competition is also proof of why we are losing. Have they not seen what has happened: we are getting the same viewers (actually more) and there are still people who can’t learn the lessons of what a national competition in markets that advertisers want and what a truly independent game can do
They'll blame it on the loss of the North Sydney Bears and Balmain Tigers. 😜

I've been watching the AwFuL game between Sydney and Collingwood. There's been tourism advertisements from WA and Vic, plus plenty of ads displaying AwFuL players advertising the product. They also make it a purpose to show kids in their commercials. Our game displays ads aimed at braindead drunks and gamblers. No wonder the networks and sponsors don't pay much for our game. They see it as a sport with an ageing fanbase in Brisbane and Sydney.

Some things are inexplicable to any sort of rhyme and reason. My concern is with the amount of money that they have, they will eventually get to more people like your brother in law.

You only have to look at certain things to see that people aren’t particularly smart and that a lot of things are down to shrewd marketing: McDonalds is absolutely crap food but it would probably the highest selling food in the world; Scott Morrison was elected Prime Minister of Australia even though he was sacked from Tourism Australia etc.
Macca's has its logo all over the AwFuL grounds and TV ads. Most of the AwFuL fans look like braindead bogans.