Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023-2028 next tv deal discussion

Storm80

"I saved Foxtel which allowed AFL to get a big deal!"

Even if this were true. It's not his f**king job! His only interest should have been maximizing the NRLs income. f**king stupid fool.
Don’t forget under his guidance the NRL placed the 2nd Brisbane team away from the future growth corridor and will have little impact on the News Ltd owned Broncos.

They’ve also gifted the AFL a foothold on everything south and west of the river with home ground on redeveloped $1b government funded Gabba by 2032 and new HQ in Springfield.

If I didn’t know better I’d say the News Ltd just magically regained 51% ownership in the NRL and are making sure everything is weighted in their favour.

The cheap TV rights and placement of a club in north Brisbane appears to substantially benefit both News Ltd and the AFL.

When is the Commission ever going to make decisions that benefit the NRL first and foremost?

Honestly, if NRL fans actually understood how much they’ve been screwed over since Greenberg got the ass there would be pitchforks and torches outside Moore Park HQ right now.

AFL have got at least $500m more for 2025, 26 & 27. Plus cart blanche to take over the south and west of Brisbane over the next 20 plus years cause there is no NRL team in the growth corridor. These NRL decisions are rancid and have generational impacts. They shape the sporting landscape for the next 50 years. And the future landscape is all AFL

Colk

From "the dread,' """AFL domestic revenue""" whats that??? thats stiff coming from a immigrant coming to Australia AKA> POM limiting the NRL to what did you say 'domestic revenue' well i don't recognize your domestic revenue tag AND say it's FTA TV, which this thread is all about, but you just twist shit like others here, still waiting on you or a figure 'y'all' stand behind, Wookie.....

So what is the FTA (Seven network) amount , will keep it here for all to see, and revisit in 15 mths, so I say your full of shit and all your mental abilities is of a value of your excrement. So say it's $190m p/a for Seven ( for 23-24 years) you brave wombat....? I mean 'hedgehog' , say it, the AFL wins with $190m million dollars... I won't forget and some like me won't forget either ... $190m from Seven for 23-24 ...but it gets better their paying 14% on top for the new deal well over 200m , infact it makes $216m, good if you can get it... Unless it too good to be true.

Sure the NRL don't come out on top after 2025, BUT their is hope we can sign in 2025 for a better deal, however you revel in it, to the point where you can't recognize we have come out on top, that's according to what the players have said , IT"S only you and friends that imagine better results form our opposition than needs to be....
Can't fix stupid.

What are you essentially talking about here? The NRL has no power once the deals have been signed.

V’Landys or whoever could go to Foxtel or Nine and ask them for an increase or to re-negotiate and they will tell them tough luck we have already signed the contract and f*** off

The_Wookie

He doesn’t even know why Telstra are paying a hundred million a year to the afl or how much foxtel are paying

you would think someone that is all over the ratings could provide some better guideance here

Dude. No one knows outside of the AFL and Fox/Telstra.

Just because your comfortable inventing things, doesnt mean I am

The_Wookie

"Tiny mind" , oh no, whats Radio and Tv rights are the same , whats that about... WE are talking about FTA TV money amount ....Like the thread discussion, Try this , I was watching my TV: radio the other day and...... So you admit 'you don't know' and yes I don't know for complete sure... But i hang my hat on that it's smaller than NRL FTA TV rights, we will see BUT we have a figure ( sorry i have to repeat what Seven AFL said ) $146 m (average) for the AFL.. The NRL have $162 million dollars we WIN....Thanks for coming....

So take the radio rights that Nine included in the NRL deal out and get back to me about treating them the same.

colly

What are you essentially talking about here? The NRL has no power once the deals have been signed.

V’Landys or whoever could go to Foxtel or Nine and ask them for an increase or to re-negotiate and they will tell them tough luck we have already signed the contract and f*** off
Can you read and comprehend ... We are talking who wins the FTA Free To Air TV contract for period 2023 to 2024.. Please keep up, it might surprise you BUT NOT ME the NRL win this category hands down.... OR maybe YOU could do some research and tell US what the 'real' figures are ??????? We won't hear back from you I am sure , after that challenge to 'Put or Shut-up'..... I've supplied $162 million dollars for the NRL yearly for each of the years 2023-2024 against ,,,wait for it,,, "average $146m" p/a... Please jump on the $190 million bandwagon... with our fein from the west...

Colk

Can you read and comprehend ... We are talking who wins the FTA Free To Air TV contract for period 2023 to 2024.. Please keep up, it might surprise you BUT NOT ME the NRL win this category hands down.... OR maybe YOU could do some research and tell US what the 'real' figures are ??????? We won't hear back from you I am sure , after that challenge to 'Put or Shut-up'..... I've supplied $162 million dollars for the NRL yearly for each of the years 2023-2024 against ,,,wait for it,,, "average $146m" p/a... Please jump on the $190 million bandwagon... with our fein from the west...

I think you need to learn to comprehend. Do you understand what phyrric means? It is inconsequential because it doesn’t in any way take account what both are earning in total (not just from FTA) and furthermore the difference between the two FTA deals and the timeframe of 2 years is so small, that it doesn’t overcome the fact that we are getting smashed overall from 25 onwards.

To me it’s analogous to a 100m race and claiming that you being ahead for the first 10m is all that matters.

colly

Re
I think you need to learn to comprehend. Do you understand what phyrric means? It is inconsequential because it doesn’t in any way take account what both are earning in total (not just from FTA) and furthermore the difference between the two FTA deals and the timeframe of 2 years is so small, that it doesn’t overcome the fact that we are getting smashed overall from 25 onwards.

To me it’s analogous to a 100m race and claiming that you being ahead for the first 10m is all that matters.
Read the discussion thread title - " which doesn't say "who wins in 2025 because it about 2023-2028 OF WHICH 2023 ANDDDDD 2024 are important, or do you want rename the Thread. Who cares what you say about a Victory!!! Nobody cares! Winners are grinners and losers are just.... losers. Sure the golden calf of the AFL wins in 2025, but WHO knows what happens then...

Colk

Re

Read the discussion thread title - " which doesn't say "who wins in 2025 because it about 2023-2028 OF WHICH 2023 ANDDDDD 2024 are important, or do want rename the Thread. Who cares what you say about a Victory!!! Nobody cares! Winners are grinners and losers are just.... losers. Sure the golden calf of the AFL wins in 2025, but WHO knows what happens then...

Mate do the maths. If you are comparing the deals between the period from 2023-2028 then you have to take into account the fact that they are earning $100-200m per annum more than us from 2025 to 2028.

If you don’t like that fact then change the thread of the title to who is earning more from FTA networks from 23-24.

Also, how do you think that the ARLC are going to renegotiate a deal before 2028? They have signed the contracts. Channel Nine or Fox have no obligation to re-negotiate with the NRL. They would tell them bad luck and go away.

The_Wookie

Ill tell you whats funny about this.

We KNOW specifically what Nine are paying for 2023 from Nines ASX announcement that they are only paying 112m in cash + 14.5m in contra. Where the hell did you even get 162m from?

This was also reported in the Financial Review, the ABC, the SMH, and others.

The same ASX statement says Nine are paying 130m cash and contra on average from 2023-2027. This is as opposed to Seven paying an average of 146m for 2020-2024.

Per the ASX statement dated december 20 2021

Nine’s average cost over the 2023 to 2027 rights period will be c$115 million per annum in cash, with a further c$15m of contra and other (non-cash) services to be provided. This compares with the average cost of the 2018-2022 contract, announced in November 2015, of $115m plus $10m contra. The year one (CY23) cost of $112m (plus $14.5m in contra and services ) compares with the original 2022 P&L cost (which included the amortisation of the contract prepayment) of $130m (plus $10m of contra), and the COVID-adjusted 2022 P&L cost of $103.5m (plus $15m of contra and other services).

Diesel

I live in northern Logan. It is a dyed in the wool rugby league city of 330k people that has been neglected badly by the QRL, NRL, Souths Magpies and Brisbane Broncos over the last 20 years.

The QRL never gave the Logan City Scorpions a chance to establish themselves after admitting them to BRL A Grade in 1988, which was the most tumultuous period in the history of rugby league in Brisbane. The club was forced by the Logan City Council to sign an exorbitant 15-year lease at Meakin Park, despite wanting to be based at Cronulla Park, during the year that the Broncos entered the NSWRL. Sponsorship opportunities for the BRL clubs were small and limited after 1987 because the Broncos represented Brisbane in the larger NSWRL.

The Broncos never helped the Scorpions and their coach Wayne Bennett refused to let the Scorpions select Alan Cann in their A Grade team in 1988. The lease bankrupted the club and forced them into liquidation in 2002. Broncos could have bailed them out but chose not to do so out of greed.

The Scorions folded and Souths Magpies tried to win over the city by adding "Logan" after "Souths" to their name, but they've never been based in Logan and treat it as nothing more than a breeding ground for talent. There was never a merger between the Magpies and Scorpions and the last time Souths had a sub-district club in Logan was 1982.

Thd Brisbane Lions have a social club equipped with 200 pokies in northern Logan's growth area, Springwood. They make a fortune from it and use the money to fund the Springwood Pumas, who are in the midst of relocating to Cronulla Park after the local MP gifted it to them at the tax payer's expense. I tried to get the QRL to re-establish the Scorpions in 2012 and base them out of Cronulla Park, but they never responded.

I've seen a spike in children around Rochedale South and Springwood wearing Brisbane Lions gear. All of this could have been prevented if the lazy and useless bludgers at the QRL, Magpies and Broncos listened to me a decade ago. I have no faith in our governing bodies to get our game on the right path. They're lazy and I suspect they're also corrupt, as there's no way they could be so incompetent and keep their jobs. I'm getting to the point where I'm thinking of giving up on the game as I don't see any evidence it will ever change.
Another example of clubs and the governing body looking after their own interests.

its sad that you tried to retrieve the club and got nothing back and now there’s AFL jerseys around

Wb1234

Dude. No one knows outside of the AFL and Fox/Telstra.

Just because your comfortable inventing things, doesnt mean I am
Yeh that’s fair

If you want to believe figures which are obviously inaccurate because they make your favourite sport look good then that’s your decision

lmao

colly

So take the radio rights that Nine included in the NRL deal out and get back to me about treating them the same.
Tell me the figures..... Because their not important , I think but correct me ABC radio get them for free- meaning who fuc*ing cares what Nine Entertainment group put's in their contract with NRL, however it seems to matter for you. ABC, NSW and QLD rural/metro radio get them for free, I could be wrong BUT you will report back , if i am wrong, so if Nine Ent: include Radio, which they give away for free in on ABC radio in NSW and QLD it must mean somthing to you, so much that you have tell me about radio.... If I if check my 'posts' have I mention radio? I have NEVER mentioned radio, why bring it up NOW.....
I see NOW it's a radio battle, what are the figures are 'we' winning?????? please tell ??? We, as in your a big NRL fan aren't you? No conflict ...their? Whats the state of play in the Radio contracts , please tell. I know you have something.

Wb1234

Mate do the maths. If you are comparing the deals between the period from 2023-2028 then you have to take into account the fact that they are earning $100-200m per annum more than us from 2025 to 2028.

If you don’t like that fact then change the thread of the title to who is earning more from FTA networks from 23-24.

Also, how do you think that the ARLC are going to renegotiate a deal before 2028? They have signed the contracts. Channel Nine or Fox have no obligation to re-negotiate with the NRL. They would tell them bad luck and go away.
Wait till they bring in team 18 early

this post will age like milk

Colk

Yeh that’s fair

If you want to believe figures which are obviously inaccurate because they make your favourite sport look good then that’s your decision

lmao

Mate there is no way that they could lie to an extent that the headline figure is false. They had a public announcement with the stakeholders sitting on the side of them. What you are essentially arguing is fraud and collusion. That is Qanon stuff.

Regards the amount excluding contra it might be $550 million or slightly lower or higher. Either way it is a lot more than our deal

The_Wookie

Tell me the figures..... Because their not important , I think but correct me ABC radio get them for free- meaning who fuc*ing cares what Nine Entertainment group put's in their contract with NRL, however it seems to matter for you. ABC, NSW and QLD rural/metro radio get them for free, I could be wrong BUT you will report back , if i am wrong, so if Nine Ent: include Radio, which they give away for free in on ABC radio in NSW and QLD it must mean somthing to you, so much that you have tell me about radio.... If I if check my 'posts' have I mention radio? I have NEVER mentioned radio, why bring it up NOW.....
I see NOW it's a radio battle, what are the figures are 'we' winning?????? please tell ??? We, as in your a big NRL fan aren't you? No conflict ...their? Whats the state of play in the Radio contracts , please tell. I know you have something.

Who cares what Telstra put in their media rights contract with the AFL, however it matters to you.

And I mention radio now, because you keep cutting stuff you dont like from the AFL deal under the "its not tv" reasoning. Ill note that the NRL have previously sold radio rights, so they have some value and AFL radio rights fetched 10m per year in their last deal.

Edit: 2 days after the rights announcement Mediaweek reported more radio rights deals had been done with SCA for the NRL.

The_Wookie

Yeh that’s fair

lmao

Dude if you want to believe your make believe figures over official press release stuff done with the big guns from Fox, Telstra and Seven all present...then you do that.

Why are you including skynz in fta rights? They are a pay tv company that is only showing a handful of games free.

its amazing it really is,after nearly two years of saying afl are lying about the covid recoup and getting $473mill in 23&24 the tin foil hat brigade then moved on to rubbishing the media reports that afl were aiming for $600mill a year, now they got that wrong they are heading off into multiverse of madness again with wb believing it’s all a big lie and somehow the nrl is going magically renegotiate now and get more money, colly fixated on fta for some reason and trying to cut and dice to make it look better and others believing everything from its huge contra to we will somehow make up a $500mill plus deficit in 2029.

i mean I know people hate to admit it when they’re wrong but geez this is next level lol

Colk

Wait till they bring in team 18 early

this post will age like milk

Depends on what it is and where they put it. If they put in NZ for example it won’t extract as much as you think. If they pick the Bears and play at NSO Oval it would be worth 2/3’s of nothing.

They are also obviously going to have a get a completely different negotiating team no matter where they put the next side, otherwise we will get low balled again

Yeh because adding the dolphins which apparently tv has been desperate for, brought us the sum to total of nothing. Maybe if we keep adding teams eventually tv might actually pay some more money? Another of those I told you so moments. I’ve said for years adding one club would add no value and low and behold……