Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game 2023 Crowd Watch

Iamback

Roosters got 32k against them at the SCG of all places in 2019 so I guess we will get an indication of the true panthers supporter base on Friday.

To be fair that was your home ground back then. Friday night instead of Sat night knocks off 5k imo

Iamback

Penrith crowds for Prelims at Homebush
43k v Warriors in 2003
46k v Canterbury in 2014
50k v Souths in 2022

I reckon 30-35k will be the baseline going off that,

Playing it at Allianz would have been better - offer free public transport with the ticket.

Run extra express trains from Penrith to Central, then get on the tram to Moore Park from Central.

Surely the NRL & NSW government could have worked together to make this a big event. Its where the game needs to be smarter.

The Warriors game was boosted by their owner buying 10k tickets and giving them to Kiwis.

That was also a Sunday, The rest were against sides with big fan bases on Sat night.

Transport is included, The club is running buses my question is what is being done to get neutrals to attend

Yosemite Sam

From memory they started pricing finals too highly after the 2009, 2011, and 2012 prelims that pulled over 70k and the crowds dropped off a cliff.
That has more to do with the teams playing than pricing though. We haven't had a prelim between 2 of the big Sydney clubs since the dogs played the rabbitohs in 2012.

Wb1234

Which is just stupid. There's plenty of other places there to have a fan zone.
Although, it's the NRL who get all the money from these semi's, so there's no incentive for the Warriors to do it unless the NRL pays for it.
Also, I don't know why they don't sell more tickets for that hill. There's shit loads of space.
Yeh such a waste they don’t stands there

Wb1234

The Warriors game was boosted by their owner buying 10k tickets and giving them to Kiwis.

That was also a Sunday, The rest were against sides with big fan bases on Sat night.

Transport is included, The club is running buses my question is what is being done to get neutrals to attend
Smallish Sydney club vs the storm

no chance for a big neutral walk up

SLRBRONCOS

That has more to do with the teams playing than pricing though. We haven't had a prelim between 2 of the big Sydney clubs since the dogs played the rabbitohs in 2012.
While I agree with this statement we were fair expect to expect more than 52k for a prelim final between Rabbits and Roosters after they pulled 59k in a regular season game just the year before. Anyway, happy to leave this discussion in the last decade given where we are now

Wb1234

Broncos warriors can go way higher than Suncorp capacity

shame they don’t have a staidum the size of accor to test how big that crowd would be

we are unlucky that the more popular teams are in the smaller staidum with no larger option

Chins get the wins

Unless the NRL are giving away freebies i dont think many neutrals would want to go.

You have a Melbourne Storm side who have cheated, wrestled, ruined the game in the past 20 years.

Then there is Penrith who don't exactly crave the neutral support like they did in 2003.
Funny because Gower is a bigger merkin than anyone we currently have Luai included

bazza

Given that the week 1 finals at Penrith and Cronulla sold out - this is the only chance (outside the GF) to see a live NRL final game in Sydney this year

Iamback

Unless the NRL are giving away freebies i dont think many neutrals would want to go.

You have a Melbourne Storm side who have cheated, wrestled, ruined the game in the past 20 years.

Then there is Penrith who don't exactly crave the neutral support like they did in 2003.

Then that is on the RL fan base as a whole

King-Gutho94

Then that is on the RL fan base as a whole
Well our game is built on tribalism.

Unlike the ping pong down south where the weird flogs in the AFL like in Adelaide on the weekend where Crows fans rocked up in GWS gear to stir up the Port fans.

We simply don't just rock up and buy opposition jerseys of teams to go and support them in finals.

Its your team or no team.

yobbo84

Souths v Roosters got more people at homebush for Round 26, 2013 then a prelim Final in 2014.

It really was quite bizarre.

Was there something else on that we didn't about.
Souths had been shit for 476 years, and for the first time in forever, we were the two best teams in the league by a fair margin (ignore the fact we shat the bed in the prelim when up 14-0).

Now we met in Round 26, with the winner receiving the minor premiership. It was a massive event.

Iamback

Unlike the ping pong down south where the weird flogs in the AFL like in Adelaide on the weekend where Crows fans rocked up in GWS gear to stir up the Port fans.

We simply don't just rock up and buy opposition jerseys of teams to go and support them in finals.

Its your team or no team.

Not saying to wear the jersey but there was an out cry in week 1 of the finals that 'fans' were locked out of games.

There is no Internationals in Sydney, There are plenty of Origin and test players on show.

Surely enough reason to go to a game in just jeans and a shirt, Especially as so many neutrals were sooking 2 weeks ago at no footy to watch live

Wb1234

It’s your team or no team.
Wahs