Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

25,152 fans WTF????

the previous dismal form of the eels probably played into the figure as well if both teams were playing well no doubt some neutrals would have turned up to see a hard fought contest as it is they probably thought it would be an eels massacre

Perhaps it was the lack of a bus mentality, not the transport system that cost us? ;-)

Which I had already stated.
If we were winning? Yeh, sure there would have been a bigger crowd.
But fair dinkum, we got over 25 000 to a game that was supposed to be played at Parra. It wasn't, and we got more than that, so no doubt it was a success already.

Mickyd39

Would have been there, how ever a small matter of being rostered to work put the kybosh on that idea (can't really afford to knock back Sunday penalty rates), that said have some days off next week so heading up to Townsville :)

at least there will be 3 parra fans as myself and my girlfriend are heading up.

GO PARRA

Can you blame them? Why would people go the way the team are playing?! I didn't make the drive up from Wolllongong today -

Coming from Wollongong probably isn't a very good example.

SDM

At the ground, I thought it was 30K minimum. But I am probably wrong.
I was a tightarse, and although I have a season ticket, I borrowed my brother's Tigers season ticket to get the missus in for free, and it didn't work, so they just let her in, I don't know how accurate the figure could have been? Especially if all the other season tickets were not working and people were let in the gate on sight of the card.

TBH, if Trent Barrett or Steve Menzies was breaking a club record for their respective clubs, I wouldn't be any be any more inclined to go with a free entry.

I'm not a ticketed member, but if I was and was offered the oppurtunity to go to an extra sunday match for free I'd definately consider it no matter which sides were playing. It wouldn't need to be a milestone match for anyone or anything, just a free day out at the footy which to me is a great day out no matter who's playing.

I think the trains being out would definitely affect the crowd .... the buses put on were tailored towards parra fans leaving from parra and parra & merrylands stations (fair enough, parra home game) - and of course lidcome/strathfield cos they are the closest to the ground .... that doesn't help people coming from other areas - so I reckon it would very much deter any other club members

fact is buses are more inconvenient than trains, slower getting large numbers of ppl on and off - people would be put off by thought of having to do the bus swap over

would have been nice to get 30K there, but 25K was ok i guess ... should probably be happy we played souths and not some out of town team (like manly :lol:) - would have been far less

having said all that - it would have been a MUCH bigger crowd if we had started well this season - as already pointed out, many have departed the bandwagon - which is probably a sign that the club had better not get too comfortable with the increased membership numbers cos they will die off if the performances on the field aren't there

Sounding a bit touchy Bart? I'm not being a 'pednant', just saying I dint think the lack of trains had a big impact on the crowd, especially when you've got people getting direct transport from Parramatta that you wouldn't normally get - and Merrylands as well.
Not touchy, just responding to the way you originally put forward your opinion (as fact) ;-).

I'm not sure we would have got more than 25k anyway. I thought it was a good crowd and looked a decent size by kick off.
Given it's also the Bunnies home ground (and do they get in there for free for a couple of away games like we do?), I think we might have got another 4K or so (including neutral ANZ members) had transport been business as usual from other parts of Sydney.

It was a good crowd considering our poor form to date. 60 good minutes now, and counting!

Parra Guru

Can you blame them? Why would people go the way the team are playing?! I didn't make the drive up from Wolllongong today - i've done it four times this year and i wasn't going to waste my time and money on another dismal performance.

In the end, i had a sleep in, watched the footy shows this morning, washed the cars, went for a 10km run along the beach and watched the game on TV.

Given the standard of the game, and the horror ground they were playing at, i am happy with my decision.

If the game had been at Parra Stadium, i may have been swayed into going..

Well I would have thought that supporting Nathan Hindmarsh alone would be big enough reason for making the trip, but if you're happy with not going, that's fair enough too.

ElectricEel

I don't mean to put a dampener on things by what the hell is going on down there in Sydney??? Hindy breaks and all time record for Parra and this is the crowd that gets pulled for a stadium holding 80'000!!

What benefit is there holding a game at homebush when Parra stadium could have been sold out just as easily and would have been more Parra fans. Not sure about any of you but I have been extremely anxious about seeing Hindmarsh break this record regardless of how we have been going.

Guarantee up here in Brissy if there was a momentus game for a Bronco there would be no less than 35k to the game. Correct me if I'm wrong but were'nt all Parra members allowed in for free? How many actually paid to watch the game?
Sorry but great to see the team win but I believe Hindy deserved a bigger crowd than that.

Brisbane is a one team town Bro.

A lot more than just one in Sydney. Still, it was a little down on what you may expect. I mean, its typical of Souths fans not to turn up until their club is being kicked out. Maybe our poor form had something to do with it.

Can you blame them? Why would people go the way the team are playing?! I didn't make the drive up from Wolllongong today - i've done it four times this year and i wasn't going to waste my time and money on another dismal performance.

A drive from Westmead or Toongabbie, or Northmead or Beecroft or Mt Pritchard isn't quite the same as that from Wollongong

In the end, i had a sleep in, watched the footy shows this morning, washed the cars, went for a 10km run along the beach and watched the game on TV.

Your choice mate.

Given the standard of the game, and the horror ground they were playing at, i am happy with my decision.

Good for you.

If the game had been at Parra Stadium, i may have been swayed into going..

Would the standard of the game have been any different?

Sounds like "the claimed by others" bandwagoner excuses to me.
We aren't winning, so there's other reason's not to turn up.
Not taking it out on you, but these are exactly the reasons people don't turn up when we aren't winning.
So be it. Every club has them. We aren't any worse than any other club. Goodonya PB. At least you said it how it is.

ElectricEel

By the sound of it we may as well play all nrl games at brisbane sounds like everything there is perfect :lol::lol:

Trust me, its far from perfect up there. You think Sydney traffic is bad, try Brisbane peak hour or driving from Brisbane to Ipswich at any time. Holy f**k!

Parra Guru

People love them when they win.

Personally I'll go either way and I know a lot of people are the same. Days like today are great reward for those types of fans.

It was great to be there to support Hindy on his big game.

Delboy

Fish, why are we not surprised that the lack of transport provided by this dopey government had nothing to do with, according to your thoughts. Ms Photo Opportunity did not think it was worthwhile to be there so why bother.

I do know some of the people I work with who do not have cars , decided not to go as they would have just walked to the station and gone straight to the game as they have do0ne several tim es.

I don't mean to put a dampener on things by what the hell is going on down there in Sydney??? Hindy breaks and all time record for Parra and this is the crowd that gets pulled for a stadium holding 80'000!!

What benefit is there holding a game at homebush when Parra stadium could have been sold out just as easily and would have been more Parra fans. Not sure about any of you but I have been extremely anxious about seeing Hindmarsh break this record regardless of how we have been going.

Guarantee up here in Brissy if there was a momentus game for a Bronco there would be no less than 35k to the game. Correct me if I'm wrong but were'nt all Parra members allowed in for free? How many actually paid to watch the game?
Sorry but great to see the team win but I believe Hindy deserved a bigger crowd than that.

I hate to put a bigger dampener but there definitely wasn't 25 out there today...that's all I'll say ;-)

Why would he be, Bart?

Um, because he's done it before? And has done every time there has been a critical comment about the ground announcer's performance (in preference to just kindly passing the feedback to those who matter).

Fee

People love them when they win.

Personally I'll go either way and I know a lot of people are the same. Days like today are great reward for those types of fans.

It was great to be there to support Hindy on his big game.

Even though I would rather they win, I will be there as well no matter if we win or lose.:D