Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

25,152 fans WTF????

Snoochies

By the sound of it we may as well play all nrl games at brisbane sounds like everything there is perfect :lol::lol:

Not far from it. :D

I was in Sydney late February for the first time since I was born in Blacktown hospital 29 years ago and I will never complain about Brissy Traffic again!! I watched the charity shield match and didn't find it hard to get too and Tesltra has great parking there but that ol' Parramatta road is a nightmare.

In Brissy we are lucky enough where you can live 40km out of the city and be in the city within half an hour, free public transport to all NRL games and the bus drops you right at the front gate. I'm not being biased but Lang Park is definitely the best stadium, best transport and facilities. State of Origin sold out as soon as tickets went on sale, I haven't heard of the Sydney game selling out and the old excuse it's a one team city doesn't work for state or origin. If the NRL is that popular down there, SOO should sell out or at least minimum 55k to match QLD.

fish eel

I was in Sydney late February for the first time since I was born in Blacktown hospital 29 years ago and I will never complain about Brissy Traffic again!! I watched the charity shield match and didn't find it hard to get too and Tesltra has great parking there but that ol' Parramatta road is a nightmare.

In Brissy we are lucky enough where you can live 40km out of the city and be in the city within half an hour, free public transport to all NRL games and the bus drops you right at the front gate. I'm not being biased but Lang Park is definitely the best stadium, best transport and facilities. State of Origin sold out as soon as tickets went on sale, I haven't heard of the Sydney game selling out and the old excuse it's a one team city doesn't work for state or origin. If the NRL is that popular down there, SOO should sell out or at least minimum 55k to match QLD.

what else is there to do is brisbane other than go to the football?

Snoochies

what else is there to do is brisbane other than go to the football?

Any city where you don't have to spend half your Saturday sitting in traffic must be a good thing.

Anyway, must ask why the 3000+ NSW residents per week are moving up here in their droves. (Don't quote me on that last figure, but there's alot. :D)

Sydney population is 4,284,397 (9 NRL sides - souths, roosters, penrtih, Eels, tigers, cronulla, manly, sharks, dragons) 476,000 per NRL side

Brisbane population is 1,857,594 (1 NRL side - Broncos) 1,857,954 per NRL side

Bit of a difference in market share champ

Snoochies

Sydney population is 4,284,397 (9 NRL sides - souths, roosters, penrtih, Eels, tigers, cronulla, manly, sharks, dragons) 476,000 per NRL side

Brisbane population is 1,857,594 (1 NRL side - Broncos) 1,857,954 per NRL side

Bit of a difference in market share champ

Ahhh very clever, I guess the Titans are nowhere close to Brissy. :sarcasm:

Pretty sure if I was a member of another club and were given the opportunity to go and see a historic game for free I'd make my way out, but that's just me and traffic isn;t a concern up here.

How are those state of origin tickets going, you have well over twice the population and still can't sell out the game. :roll: And I'm a blues supporter.

Ahhh very clever, I guess the Titans are nowhere close to Brissy. :sarcasm:

Gee you just stepped into more poo

If youd like to add titans no worries, just add 500,000 more people to the equation :lol:

Pretty sure if I was a member of another club and were given the opportunity to go and see a historic game for free I'd make my way out, but that's just me and traffic isn;t a concern up here.

How are those state of origin tickets going, you have well over twice the population and still can't sell out the game. :roll: And I'm a blues supporter

Lets see when QLD lose 4 series in a row, if they sell out in quick time, plus ANZ is considerably bigger than anything QLD have so will take a little longer :)

If it was a Friday or Saturday night, Id say well over 35k would have turned up today (me inc) Had a christening to go to today, and besides unlike Queenslanders, family comes before footy for a lot of us down this way ;-)

salvy71

Trust me, its far from perfect up there. You think Sydney traffic is bad, try Brisbane peak hour or driving from Brisbane to Ipswich at any time. Holy f**k!

LOL - me thinks you'd be in shock if you copped traffic in sydney - trust me - our freeways are probably the size of your back streets . I've grown a beard from the time I leave home from out blacktown way to the time I've gotten into the city and vice versa ... and that's only a 28km trip !!
Incidentally - the M4 heading west was paralysed after an accident ...took 30 minutes to go 3kms ....awesome .....:(

salvy71

We got 79000 last year and most years we get above 70000 ....I'd guarantee we'll easily pass 55000 once again this year and sell out the 3rd game if it's a decider and as for getting to the city within 30 minutes from 40km away in Brisbane ....you lucky buggers !!! lol

Joely01

Any city where you don't have to spend half your Saturday sitting in traffic must be a good thing.

Anyway, must ask why the 3000+ NSW residents per week are moving up here in their droves. (Don't quote me on that last figure, but there's alot. :D)
I dont know they are probably following you since you did exactly the same.... you were born in blacktown :lol:

Parra Guru

WTF does the SOO sales have to do with this thread?

The crowd figure isn't a result of nrl members not showing up, it's because Eels fans are sellouts and look for reasons not to turn up when the going gets tough.

I usually would get the train to the game but changing at Parra for a rail bus wasn't that much harder than changing at Lidcombe for the connecting train!

Joely01

Well why is Gallop still in control of the nrl you seem to have all the answers what are you waiting for.....

SDM

Must be handy if you have to re-string a banjo, root some livestock and marry your sister, while still making a 7.30pm kickoff.

Parra Guru

I agree it's very convenient for transport.... Don't go looking for night life after the game though...

cornerposter

Comparing a 1 team city against a city with 9 different teams ? I should hope not !! :lol:
Dress it up in all the statistical lingerie you want, fact is NSW'kers don't go to NRL games, struggle to fill the stadium for Origin and rarely turn out to watch the national team.
I guess fair-weather support is hard to sustain.

ElectricEel

LOL - me thinks you'd be in shock if you copped traffic in sydney - trust me - our freeways are probably the size of your back streets . I've grown a beard from the time I leave home from out blacktown way to the time I've gotten into the city and vice versa ... and that's only a 28km trip !!
Incidentally - the M4 heading west was paralysed after an accident ...took 30 minutes to go 3kms ....awesome .....:(

Bro, I Live in Campbelltown, and I have family in North Brisbane, so I get to experience Sydney AND Brisbane traffic. Never again will I winge about Sydney traffic. Brisbane IS worse. :crazy:

salvy71

Bro, I Live in Campbelltown, and I have family in North Brisbane, so I get to experience Sydney AND Brisbane traffic. Never again will I winge about Sydney traffic. Brisbane IS worse. :crazy:

Fair dinkum ? Geez I'm in tears once I hit from burwood on ....couldn't imagine anything being worse than that .

salvy71

Dress it up in all the statistical lingerie you want, fact is NSW'kers don't go to NRL games, struggle to fill the stadium for Origin and rarely turn out to watch the national team.
I guess fair-weather support is hard to sustain.

True that Brisbane gets bigger crowds to the Broncos games , they have made the playoffs 18 years straight and are always in the mix for a finals shot so we still don't know if their fans are fair-weather supporters, I'd love to see their home crowds if they ran last to 2nd last for most of the season , they might still get over 20000 but I doubt it - it'd be interesting to see . How would the South Qld crushers or any other 2nd Brisbane team have fared with crowds ? I know the crushers struggled to get a decent crowd during the 95/96 seasons before the split season which led to low crowds everywhere . I'd love to see at least 3 Brisbane teams in the NRL to check out what crowds all 3 clubs could pull .
Queenslanders are definitely more passionate about origin - but we do get crowds over 70000 and we've had a few 80000 crowd sellouts as well .
Brisbane definitely is the place to play test matches - no doubt .
The grand final though ? We sell it out every year , even with 2 non sydney teams playing the 2006 grand final and we fit 30000 more punters in the stadium . I would be shattered if they moved that to brisbane as I go every year but if it's once every few years then I'd cop it sweet .