Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

7 tackle try - NQ dudded again!

KeepingTheFaith

Well done Beave, if only more fans shared your balanced pov.

Just flicked on the news to hear "that ref should never be allowed to ref the Cowboys again".

Imagine the NRL if every ref who duded a team was banned from reffing that team again.

Desert Qlder

The expert quoted in the article is not telling us fans things we did not know about the club. One of the primary reasons fans have called for Henry to be sacked is his inability to mentally prepare the side for the contest.

NQ have been mentally weak for the entire Henry tenure. They probably were prior to this even when we made the GF. But that did not matter so much because they were coached to their strengths, which certainly was not defence. With flair and speed, they used to be able to place so much pressure on the opposition, having them to always focus on what they had to defend. There was always the supreme confidence in the squad that they could outscore opponents regardless of how they were defending.

Henry's other main problem was he completely stifled our attacking game and this in turn exposed the defensive deficiencies. It was the right decision to let him go. The club desperately needs a leader that can instil some backbone into the squad, and we may start to win games off both our attack and defence.

I also never agreed that Thurston should be captain of the club. It would have been far more wise to have Matt Scott assume the role independently and have the responsibility not on Thurston's shoulders. He is far too temperamental for the position.

Didgi

Why not? It's pretty spot on...

Actually the Kieren Foran knock on IS open to interpretation. This image shows that Foran's hand is on the front of the ball:

---353_foran-20130916141038656409-300x0.jpg

I'm not saying it wasn't a knock-on but it's not as clear cut as you make it out. The strip was quite possibly the most blatant one that any player has ever got away with. It was as blatant, if not more blatant than the knock-on that your lot have been moaning about for 12 months. 3 arms went up (Foran's right arm and both of Thurston's), the ball hit 1 or more of them and went forwards and the video ref made a call based on his interpretation of the evidence.

You are literally too stupid for words, and how you're still arguing over this when your team benefited and it's been admitted as such is beyond me.

squiddy

I can't wait for this weekends 2 games to be over and done with so there's something f**king else to talk/whinge/gripe about.

This is all I am going to say on the matter as a diehard NQ fan.

Maybe if JT and Lui knew how to kick on the last, we wouldn't have been under the pump Saturday arvo from their uselessness.

Maybe if the whole team stood up to be counted during the whole f**king regular season and not just the last 6 games we wouldn't have been in a sudden death situation AND away from home.

Maybe if the f**khead coach selected Taumalolo on a deserved weekly basis we would have won more games.

Maybe if the f**khead coach brought Tariq on with a bit more than 25mins to go on Saturday,he may have made more of an impact.

Maybe if the coach selected Reithmuller over a broken down Dallas Johnson all season long we would have won more games.

Maybe if the coach gave more of the younger guys like Feldt and Ulugia a go earlier on over hacks like Ash Graham we would have won more games

I could go on and on but I am sick of the bullshit conspiracy excuses.

Play your f**king asses off ALL YEAR you prima donna, read your own hype, over paid pricks.

Stop blaming everyone else for the loss and I wish all the bandwagon 1 week supporters would shut the f**k up and get on someone elses bandwagon because you are making the sane NQ fans look like a bunch of raving looneys. Petitions and mid week games, what, because the result didn't go our way we are going to whinge like a bunch of f**king spoilt brats? The last 2 days the reaction of the team has been downright disappointing.

I wish the players would shut up, go to ground and use the hate and destroy every merkin next year when they run out to play instead of crying like an old mole on her rags.

Top post mate well done !!

As for the F'n consiracy when the refs stuffed up the tackle count around tackle 3 how the f@ck did they know sharks would end up scoring ? How did they know Pomeroy wouldnt drop the ball like he has alll season ?Friggin joke the whole thing , get over it like our good man Beave has ... and cowboys fan calling conspiracy dont forget to look at the 70th minute when Tate fields a kick , you guys could have ebded up with a 7 tackle set too , except JT i think knocked on .

Iafeta

I can't wait for this weekends 2 games to be over and done with so there's something f**king else to talk/whinge/gripe about.

Maybe if JT and Lui knew how to kick on the last, we wouldn't have been under the pump Saturday arvo from their uselessness.

Maybe if the whole team stood up to be counted during the whole f**king regular season and not just the last 6 games we wouldn't have been in a sudden death situation AND away from home.

Maybe if the f**khead coach selected Taumalolo on a deserved weekly basis we would have won more games.

Maybe if the f**khead coach brought Tariq on with a bit more than 25mins to go on Saturday,he may have made more of an impact.

Maybe if the coach selected Reithmuller over a broken down Dallas Johnson all season long we would have won more games.

Maybe if the coach gave more of the younger guys like Feldt and Ulugia a go earlier on over hacks like Ash Graham we would have won more games

Play your f**king asses off ALL YEAR you prima donna, read your own hype, over paid pricks.

Stop blaming everyone else for the loss and I wish all the bandwagon 1 week supporters would shut the f**k up and get on someone elses bandwagon because you are making the sane NQ fans look like a bunch of raving looneys. Petitions and mid week games, what, because the result didn't go our way we are going to whinge like a bunch of f**king spoilt brats? The last 2 days the reaction of the team has been downright disappointing.

I wish the players would shut up, go to ground and use the hate and destroy every merkin next year when they run out to play instead of crying like an old mole on her rags.

I couldn't believe the stupidity in your team selections. Kalifa Fai-fai Loa could have a 200 metre game and find himself in Queensland Cup. Taumololo could have 8 tackle breaks and 6 offloads and find himself banished for a month. I honestly think Neil Henry is at Paul Langmack levels as far as coaching goes. He's a dead set failure for the cattle he's had at his disposal.

snoozer

best post in the thread.

butchmcdick

I couldn't believe the stupidity in your team selections. Kalifa Fai-fai Loa could have a 200 metre game and find himself in Queensland Cup. Taumololo could have 8 tackle breaks and 6 offloads and find himself banished for a month. I honestly think Neil Henry is at Paul Langmack levels as far as coaching goes. He's a dead set failure for the cattle he's had at his disposal.

Well now we have pretty much f**ked KFFL's game by not developing him we have released him

Henry is a shit coach

Spot On

How about leaving Tariq out or starting him off the bench????? Don't get it. Henry could of had a starting pack to tear most teams apart but rarely had them playing together. It's obvious he's had a falling out with more than a few of the squad.

Puntastic

To every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.

This post almost single handedly outweighs the mass of conspiracy bullshit I've been reading.

Well done.

As some sharks fans have pointed out, the actual effect of this blunder wasn't necessarily worse than other less-obvious ref f**k ups. A stupid call on the 6th tackle could ultimately result in a repeat set worth more than 7 tackles overall.

So while the referee blunder was utterly atrocious and repercussions from such colossal f**k ups should follow, the cowboys were no more disadvantaged than they would be had a number of other mistakes been made.

wibble

I could go on and on but I am sick of the bullshit conspiracy excuses. ...

I agree that NQ should take a lot more from the season than just complaints about a bad decision (a terrible decision) that cost them 1 tackle.

Including these points, and I'm sure you know more than I about the Cowboys workings than most of us, though it does seem astounding that Taumololo isn't given more opportunity. He looks on the verge of a Fafita style break out.

I do think you might be being a bit harsh on your team in the heat of the moment, they have played well in their last few months and went down fighting. But I like your sentiment that the fans and the team need to use this as motivation, and not as an excuse to ignore their failings, something Sharks fans aren't always good at either.

Big Pete

the Cowboys completed an eight-tackle set after the officials lost count during a lengthy adjudication on a possible penalty try in the Queensland derby

When play resumed, the tackle count mysteriously went from five to three, giving the Cowboys an extra two plays on the Broncos' tryline.

"The Cowboys had one more play but instead received three more plays."

No Cookies | thetelegraph.com.au

Conspiracy

newman

anyone see NRL 360? There are now claims that Lui knocked on before kicking the ball, so the first tackle should have been zero and the refs got the call right... There is a YouTube link if someone wants to upload...

Apey

the Cowboys completed an eight-tackle set after the officials lost count during a lengthy adjudication on a possible penalty try in the Queensland derby

When play resumed, the tackle count mysteriously went from five to three, giving the Cowboys an extra two plays on the Broncos' tryline.

"The Cowboys had one more play but instead received three more plays."

No Cookies | thetelegraph.com.au

Conspiracy

Justice!

wibble

anyone see NRL 360? There are now claims that Lui knocked on before kicking the ball, so the first tackle should have been zero and the refs got the call right... There is a YouTube link if someone wants to upload...

Noooo! We'll have to replay the replay :shock:

Ando dealt with that on Sunday on the ABC. Said basically the same thing.The real problem was getting the count wrong.

I Bleed Maroon

I don't believe in any conspiracy theories. The refs are f**king idiots, the rot has set in and the NRL has done nothing about it for years. That's what I believe. The amount of airy fairy dribbler New South Welshmen in this thread however is staggering, and you all need to be brought down a peg.

The regular season T.V Ratings this year are floundering, crowd attendance in NSW is typically diabolical as these first few finals games have demonstrated and the only hope the state has left now is this much hyped South Sydney vs. Easts Grand Final. God help us all if it doesn't eventuate. There would be many lols to be had after all the hoohah.

I have an invitation for the old NSWRL diehards out there, a challenge even: throw us out of the comp. Melbourne and the whole state of Queensland, both at state and club level. Kick us to the curb. Be rid of the filthy redneck seat pissers. That's what you all ultimately would love, isn't it?

.....But you know you can't do that don't you. You can live in your mid 20th century NSW centric bubble until the day that Rupert Murdoch shows glimmers of being a good person but it won't change the fact that, in the year 2013, you can't survive without us. If QLD goes, so does half that 1 billion that the merkins at 9 are paying us. If you can have the balls to throw us out of the party then you certainly have the gonads to face what will inevitably come. Cronulla would be the least of your worries.

No, it's not our success on the footy field that NSW are so pissed off about because after 8 years of QLD Origin dominance and 6 Brisbane Premierships, that could almost be considered normal. It's the ascendency of Queensland's importance to the health of the code in Australia that really rubs you all the wrong way.

wibble

Ando dealt with that on Sunday on the ABC. Said basically the same thing.The real problem was getting the count wrong.

Except the real problem to many seems to be the weight, as it were, of the 7 tackle count, rather than the ease of avoiding a counting issue.

If the count was wrong, as Anderson and the referees involved (by not using a zero tackle defense) seem to be saying, it is terrible in that it should not happen (much like not knowing the rules, that Sharks fans were upset at in the round 1 loss to the Tigers in 2012).

I and other Sharks fans, to the best of my knowledge, have not denied that it is a terrible decision to allow 7 tackles from this regard. What we dispute is the implication that the decision was such a crushing burden in a tight contest, that the Sharks were gifted a try, gifted a victory, should have to replay the game, were not worthy winners and other such nonsense.

If the zero tackle should have been applied (as seems the case from some footage), this in no way makes mis counting any less terrible from the point of view of assessing referee blunders. In fact, it would mean the referees have made two blunders in rapid succession (not getting the zero tackle right, and not getting the tackle count right).

But in terms of the burden against a team of not getting a zero tackle when they should, and against another team in getting 7 tackles against them, these seem like errors that have a pretty even effect on a game. Ironically, if applied in rapid succession, as did happen, the team that should have gotten 7 tackles but then had a missed call that got them six, but then had a bad count that got them 7, seems to be in pretty much the same situation as if no errors had been made.

The point then is that in terms of "gifting" a team the win, in the very same set it would seem that the Sharks were not really given a unduly unfair and overwhelming advantage.

We Sharkies fans (if I can deign to speak on behalf of them all, as I'm sure I can as recognised overlord of the forums) have been arguing this all along (despite agreeing that mis counting is terrible; I should want all to agree to that as a Maths teacher!), and I would hope it is clear to most that even if the zero tackle should not have applied, plenty of decisions in a game have an effect that can be as great as gaining an extra tackle, and we even reckon in one eyed Shark land that we copped a few raw ones ourselves in that match. It's just even clearer that the decision was not unduly burdensome if it can be seen that in the very same set an equal and opposite weighting decision went against the Sharks that if applied correctly would have given pretty much the same result as we got.

gallagher

I don't believe in any conspiracy theories. The refs are f**king idiots, the rot has set in and the NRL has done nothing about it for years. That's what I believe. The amount of airy fairy dribbler New South Welshmen in this thread however is staggering, and you all need to be brought down a peg.

The regular season T.V Ratings this year are floundering, crowd attendance in NSW is typically diabolical as these first few finals games have demonstrated and the only hope the state has left now is this much hyped South Sydney vs. Easts Grand Final. God help us all if it doesn't eventuate. There would be many lols to be had after all the hoohah.

I have an invitation for the old NSWRL diehards out there, a challenge even: throw us out of the comp. Melbourne and the whole state of Queensland, both at state and club level. Kick us to the curb. Be rid of the filthy redneck seat pissers. That's what you all ultimately would love, isn't it?

.....But you know you can't do that don't you. You can live in your mid 20th century NSW centric bubble until the day that Rupert Murdoch shows glimmers of being a good person but it won't change the fact that you can't survive without us. If QLD goes, so does half that 1 billion that the merkins at 9 are paying us. If you can have the balls to throw us out of the party then you certainly have the gonads to face what will inevitably come. Cronulla would be the least of your worries.

No, it's not our success on the footy field that NSW are so pissed off about because after 8 years of QLD Origin dominance and 6 Brisbane Premierships, that could almost be considered normal. It's the ascendency of Queensland's importance to the health of the code in Australia that really rubs you all the wrong way.

There's no need to throw you out. If a few bad decisions go against you, you will go off and start your own comp. But you'll take a few Sydney teams with you to make it a little bit relevant. But then you'll slink back to us again.

sensesmaybenumbed

.....But you know you can't do that don't you. You can live in your mid 20th century NSW centric bubble until the day that Rupert Murdoch shows glimmers of being a good person but it won't change the fact that, in the year 2013, you can't survive without us. If QLD goes, so does half that 1 billion that the merkins at 9 are paying us. If you can have the balls to throw us out of the party then you certainly have the gonads to face what will inevitably come. Cronulla would be the least of your worries.

wibble

Except much like NZ and their inferiority complex about Australia (they even rave on about our laws in their parliament, trying to compare themselves to us) we don't actually give a shoit about QLDs "ascending importance".

Brisbane is holding Brisbane back in terms of expansion just to keep a monopoly- I'd love to see a few more Brisbane and other QLD teams. We actually just LOL at your inferiority complex like we LOL at certain Sydney team(s).

But there are plenty of mature QLD and QLD NRL team supporters who don't believe the whole of Sydney is against them, and we duly join in with them laughing at other tin foil hat theorists, and there are plenty of those in NSW also.

The code has never been healthier, and much like Australia as a country, this is in large part due to its growing diversity, including having QLD, NZ and Melbourne teams, as well as traditional Sydney tribalism and regional NSW and ACT teams.

Its undue bias in whinging such as displayed in this 30 odd page thread now, and pretty much any thread about Origin, that sees "fans" death riding clubs, laughing at injured players, and siding with atrocious drama creating media to push club agendas, that is causing much of the harm in a game that should be, and generally is, growing stronger all the time.