Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Alex McKinnon possibly Quadriplegic - Mclean guilty of dangerous throw - 7 weeks

How many weeks?

• 1-2

Votes: 53 42.7%
  • 3-4

Votes: 25 20.2%
  • 5-6

Votes: 10 8.1%
  • 7-8

Votes: 10 8.1%
  • 9+

Votes: 26 21.0%

betcats

The fact it is being talked about in the media and Smith was already disliked make his actions no less distasteful.

We have seen in Mckinnons own words the effect Smiths actions have had on him and his family. Im sure Alex had no reason to dislike smith prior to this, in fact he said he respected him and looked up to him didn't he? Shouldn't it be Alex's feelings we are most concerned with? He is the one that has to live with this everyday.

100% This.

I get pissed off the way that guys like Smith, Gallen, Ennis and Thurston bitch and moan and carry on to the referees. But I don't think its a massive issue. Especially when the full extent of the injury was unknown.

Regardless, I fully support McKinnon and if he does so, support his sueing the NRL.

unknown?

no excuse.
It was about as bad an injury you could witness on a footy field.
Smith was way out of line for carrying on with it.

The bloke was clearly in a very bad way.

Canard

unknown?

no excuse.
It was about as bad an injury you could witness on a footy field.
Smith was way out of line for carrying on with it.

The bloke was clearly in a very bad way.

It ended up being the worst we have ever seen. (in my lifetime)

But lots of players are taken off, without any major injuries resulting from it.

To say he "carried on" is an exaggerated for effect also.

But lots of players are taken off, without any major injuries resulting from it.

He carried on by trying to put the blame on McKinnon .
It was a fair display of poor sportsmanship as far as I'm concerned.

It is plain as day for everyone to see.
Trying to somehow justify Smiths behaviour is ridiculous.

Generalzod

I find it funny that people are making excuses for Smith that he didn't know the full of extent of Mckinnon's injury, Again how would he know he was more concerned about the penalty...the guy is an idiot....

Shorty

It's a complete waste of time trying to speak rationally to the usual suspects in here.

DiegoNT

It's amazing how Queensland and storm fans can try justify action's like this. Imagine if someone like Paul Gallen was in smith shoes, and it was a young Queensland forward on the ground unable to move? I'd still have the same level of disgust, but Queenslanders would be literally calling for Gallens head

Hutty1986

It's a complete waste of time trying to speak rationally to the usual suspects in here.

So speaking rationally... does that just mean blindly sticking up for a fellow qlder? Can only imagine the weeping and sooking from some maroons fans if someone like Gal did what Smith did.

Your proud captain was still whinging about a penalty when a kid had just been crippled in a blatantly illegal tackle. There is literally no excuse for what he did, if Smith claims he didn't know Macca was in a bad way, then he is deadset kidding himself.

chigurh

It's amazing how Queensland and storm fans can try justify action's like this. Imagine if someone like Paul Gallen was in smith shoes, and it was a young Queensland forward on the ground unable to move? I'd still have the same level of disgust, but Queenslanders would be literally calling for Gallens head

Bzzz wrong.

I wouldn't be complaining, for all of the perfectly valid reasons mentioned over and over and over again in this thread already. :roll:

Qlderps showing yet again why their ridiculous one-eyedness in the face of any situation is an embarrassment to the sport. MCG minute silence and now this. If Origin is the cause of this it highlights how damaging it actually is to the game when you stand back and look at it in its entirety.

DiegoNT

When you have to regularly say 'it's not his go, he's not that type of person' over many separate incidents, surely the penny has to eventually drop.

betcats

Ive never seen anyone look or sound as terrified as Alex did. Ive seen people go down with neck injuries and get the full treatment being taken off and ive seen people screaming and writhing in pain after busting a knee or something but this was different, straight away you could see this was something more serious. As alex said surely smith could see the "white terror" on his face. Even SLater said we all knew this was something very bad on the field.

Craig Johnston

why are we still talking about what happened during the incident? even alex himself stated everyone is entitled to their opinion at the time, but the grievance alex has is with how smith has conducted himself SINCE the incident, not a call or sms (unlike mclean) or a softening of his stance, alex has every right to feel angry that someone has said he caused his own disability and has refused to apologise for it.

POPEYE

So speaking rationally... does that just mean blindly sticking up for a fellow qlder? Can only imagine the weeping and sooking from some maroons fans if someone like Gal did what Smith did.

Your proud captain was still whinging about a penalty when a kid had just been crippled in a blatantly illegal tackle. There is literally no excuse for what he did, if Smith claims he didn't know Macca was in a bad way, then he is deadset kidding himself.

Careful ol' mate, you'll overdosed on those f**kwit tablets, no-one knew anyone was crippled in the short time Smith was trying to keep McLean from being sent off, which could have happened the more the hysteria grew. It's a captain's duty to press for anything that keeps his team intact, only a dope would imagine he'd carry on if he knew the gravity of a situation less likely than winning Lotto

It's clear reading comments in most media that Smith has the backing of fair minded people, the wankers that speak loudest are those with an agenda, even if it is only they wanted Smith poached by their team . . . in Dragon's colours you'd easily forgive his affront

Canard

Aren't you just reinforcing the point, that the only reason that it's an issue is because of the colour of the jersey he wears?

If any player knew that another had just been made a paraplegic, and didn't care about it, then yes I think everyone would be upset.