Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Alex McKinnon

horrible sutff.. a young man injuring his neck whilst earning a living by putting on entertainment for us..

all thoughts are with him and hopefully he makes a full recovery.

best of luck alex.

Noname36

I just watched the footage again of how terrified the poor bloke looked while he was trying to get his mouth guard out. I actually feel physically sick.

I'm just praying the kid is alright. That goes beyond his playing future too. These types of injuries can impact far more than just that.

Yeah, I watched it again this morning and nearly threw up. It was really bad and I can only hope the bloke recovers enough to lead a normal life.

Returning to the field should be the least of his worries right now.

Joker's Wild

I have worked with spinal injuries for years . The #s and where they have occurred mean he will be in a hard collar neck brace for months at best. Not a chance he will play again this year. He will be fine but it will need some serious luck for him to be cleared to play again. They do not muck around these days. The vertebrae can splinter and it is enough to cut the spinal chord in half .

This is my understanding too after talking to a couple of nursing mates who have seen a lot of neck injuries, mostly from car accidents.

Id be surprised if he plays again. A big call I know but you just dont f**k around with spinal fractures.

Best wishes to Alex and his family.

Noname36

I wish all the very best for the kid. It was a sickening accident and I sincerely hope Alex makes a full recovery.

Is there a tribute page on the Knights website where we can send our best?

Chook.

Not that I'm aware of but heaps of people have been sending him their well wishes to his Twitter account @mckinnon92.

Mr48Volts

I fractured #C1 in 1988 playing footy (thanks to Rodney Howe) never played again, I hope 4 and 5 aren't as bad for Alex. The grief my neck gives me now I'm in my 40's is all consuming. Praying for a speedy recovery, the treatment is much better now than it was 25 years ago, here's hoping he comes out the other side in tact

rnb11

Word going around he's been put into an induced coma.

Absolutely devastated for the guy and his family. All we can do is pray and wish him well.

Johns Magic

Yeah scary stuff.

Obviously this is the lesser issue but I hope the club stands by him in some way if he can never play again like Wests have done with Dwyer. He was just about to sign a new contract wasn't he?

Jubileeboy

All rugby league fans, especially from his old team The Dragons, wish Alex a speedy recovery. Our thoughts are with him and his family.

ryana87

The fella that lifted his legs has been stood down by the nrl

Don't know how I feel about that..... It was a terrible accident, not sure if it was worth giving the fella the sack for

If it were smith who was stood down.... I would understand

SpaceMonkey

Terrible news for the Knights but more importantly for McKinnon and his family. I think we can say with all but complete certainty that his footy career is over unfortunately, and all we can can hope for is that he recovers to full normal health with no lasting effects on his quality of life.
In light of that I think the decision to stand McLean down and postpone his hearing is the right one, at least for a week or two until McKinnon's prognosis is more certain. I hope Melbourne have the decency not to object and seek leave for him to play, a week or two is nothing compared to a career.

2q83jvn.png

aqua_duck

If it is a 2 year rehab process I'd love to see the club set him up with some sort of off field opportunities whilst he's rehabbing. If worse comes to worse and he can't make it back on the field it'd be great to see him still involved with the club in some way.

Knight Vision

Quite scary and I'm rather worried, especially after what we saw after Fa'aoso's career end because of the neck injury. He looked scared on the ground, struggling to get his head off the ground and move his arms.

Fox Sports refusing to comment on it made me rather concerned. Lots of respect for not starting a wildfire of rumours. You just know that the scummy merkins in the papers and TV will hound the club for answers.

But f**k me, lost a lot of respect for Smith carrying on afterwards. Zero compassion.

Indeed- he's a AAA grade f**kwit in my book.