Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anthony Griffin

martielang

Point out the "clear issues with our pathways"

How would i know the specifics, i'm not a football director.

I just find it strange you'd specifically hire a coach known for junior development & the work he's done with juniors in the most successful club in the country, if there's no issue with junior development.

betcats

How would i know the specifics, i'm not a football director.

You said "there were clear problems with our pathways" What are they???

You are talking shit mate, f**king nuffy just making shit up to support your boy hook, shitting on the club in the process and giving hook credit for other peoples work. How pathetic.

martielang

But that's only half of what I said. He'd also have to deal with knowing Ivan was trying to come back. It might not be a problem for him but are you going to risk a possible premiership on it? The club doesn't seem to want to.

The board/GM created that uncertainty though, not the coach. Why should he back sacked because people are going behind his back?

I have no issue if post season they reviewed everything & said it wasn't working. Doing it 4 weeks from the semi's though when the team is positioned well, is just strange.

franklin2323

What are the clear issues with our pathways? Point them out if it’s so clear.

Headhunted? From where?? He was on couch doing nothing, he had no job. Talk about changing the backstory.

No one is denying he was good at preparing the kids, that doesn’t mean we brought him in to fix our lower grade pathways like he has claimed. That’s totally ludicrous, the lower grades were already on fire and feeding into the nrl team. f**k you just eat this fools words up don’t you.

From here:
http://www.rugbyleagueproject.org/teams/penrith-panthers/transfers.html

2010 - 0 players debut
2011 - 5 players debut (only Austin still remains at an NRL Club)
2012 - 7 players debut (Only Mansour and Ryan Simpkins remain at an NRL Club)
2013- 2 players debuy (Only Moylan is still playing)

2014 and 2015 were good years for debuts With 12 in total

2014 8 players came from other clubs. 2015 2 more came in.. which replaces the 10 that left in that time.

2016 - 6 came to the club. 5 debut. 16 left.
2017 - 4 Came to the club. 4 debut. 8 left
2018 - 2 came to the club. 6 debut. 11 left (counting Wallace)

33 players leaving opened up positions for those debutants to get a place..That is the big difference now.

2010 NYC Team had Moylan, Cook, Austin, Graham... So we had juniors just started using them better.

franklin2323

The board/GM created that uncertainty though, not the coach. Why should he back sacked because people are going behind his back?

I have no issue if post season they reviewed everything & said it wasn't working. Doing it 4 weeks from the semi's though when the team is positioned well, is just strange.

That is the strange thing the timing of it all

martielang

You said "there were clear problems with our pathways" What are they???

You are talking shit mate, f**king nuffy just making shit up to support your boy hook, shitting on the club in the process and giving hook credit for other peoples work. How pathetic.

I don't know the specifics, so i'm not going to sit here & rattle off things i don't know shit about. I leave that to you. i think i've made my point clear enough through the other 14 posts i wrote.

Anyway mate, thanks for the discussion as always.

franklin2323

A question that I am unclear of now is what is the coaches job specifically?
I know there are a large amount of excellent resources, former players, skills coaches all interested in getting their opinions and ideas across.
Gould says Griffin wouldn’t take any help or advice, I wonder if that includes all these people who’s job it is or the players themselves.
Griffin seems to imply that he built the club from the ground up (with a focus on the juniors who were already winning grand finals before he got there)shouldn’t the coach just be focusing on our first grade team?
I know they obviously have to keep an eye on all the other squads but surely the main focus should be on football, team attack, D, player progression, opposition research, game plans etc.

The coach is responsible for getting the side to play footy and win games. How they get there depends on a few different things. The end result is too win games though

betcats

From here:
http://www.rugbyleagueproject.org/teams/penrith-panthers/transfers.html

2010 - 0 players debut
2011 - 5 players debut (only Austin still remains at an NRL Club)
2012 - 7 players debut (Only Mansour and Ryan Simpkins remain at an NRL Club)
2013- 2 players debuy (Only Moylan is still playing)

2014 and 2015 were good years for debuts With 12 in total

2014 8 players came from other clubs. 2015 2 more came in.. which replaces the 10 that left in that time.

2016 - 6 came to the club. 5 debut. 16 left.
2017 - 4 Came to the club. 4 debut. 8 left
2018 - 2 came to the club. 6 debut. 11 left (counting Wallace)

33 players leaving opened up positions for those debutants to get a place..That is the big difference now.

2010 NYC Team had Moylan, Cook, Austin, Graham... So we had juniors just started using them better.

You have no pointed out any pathway issues. Ivan brought heaps of kids through, as many as hook by your comment. Our juniors were f**ked prior to 2011 the results show that and its widely acknowledged any suggestion otherwise is bullshit.

Once again hooks fan club trying to change the backstory. Full of shit.

betcats

I don't know the specifics, so i'm not going to sit here & rattle off things i don't know shit about. I leave that to you. i think i've made my point clear enough through the other 14 posts i wrote.

Anyway mate, thanks for the discussion as always.

You’ve made it clear you make claims you can’t back up that’s all.

OldPanther

I don't think it was the smart thing to do and it's the reason I don't think Gus is behind the Ivan Cleary thing. He might lie and be ruthless but he isn't stupid.

martielang

You have no pointed out any pathway issues. Ivan brought heaps of kids through, as many as hook by your comment. Our juniors were f**ked prior to 2011 the results show that and its widely acknowledged any suggestion otherwise is bullshit.

I'm asking a genuine question. If there was no apparent issue with our development, why was Griffin hired in the first place?

OldPanther

I'm asking a genuine question. If there was no apparent issue with our development, why was Griffin hired in the first place?

He clearly contributed. My only contention is Griffin's point about us being a shambles and not doing any constructive work towards it.

franklin2323

Maybe you didn't see or chose not to see the difference in players brought in from other clubs? That is the difference. there is only 30 spots on the roster.