Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ayshford re-signs

N.C.

Ayshford is a great prospect for us. He got an early start in first grade due to injury (was it Collis in 2009?). If he was in his second year at this level, rather than his third, most of us would be singing his praises and wondering why he hasn't been selected for Origin yet. This guy is getting better and better, and I agree with Galloway's comments in the Herald today... He is quality.

Vicious

Don't agree he has been poor at any time this year.

You obviously didn`t watch the Broncos game? My biggest criticism of Blake is that he very rarely tackles with his shoulder, he`s very much an arm grabber and that doesn`t work against the top class centres in the game.

He is still very slow for a centre, he had back rowers playing in the centres chasing him and Vatuvai is one of the slowest wingers in the game.

This aside he has really stepped up to the mark in his past two games and he will go along way to helping us winning many more games this season if he continues his good form.

DanOz

You obviously didn`t watch the Broncos game? My biggest criticism of Blake is that he very rarely tackles with his shoulder, he`s very much an arm grabber and that doesn`t work against the top class centres in the game.

He is still very slow for a centre, he had back rowers playing in the centres chasing him and Vatuvai is one of the slowest wingers in the game.

This aside he has really stepped up to the mark in his past two games and he will go along way to helping us winning many more games this season if he continues his good form.

So you are basing your blanket criticism of him on 1 game? And yes I have watched every game this year, and while he has not been outstanding every game he has been solid at worst.

tumblingdice

Always thought he was solid if unspectacular. Never had a real bad clanger of a match. Done well last couple weeks, most line breaks coming from some sort of broken play or defensive lapses, well taken advantage off with swerve and a bit of pace. Notice his propensity to do a one handed ball catch and carry, maybe a couple of speedsters around him to capitalise on off loads as he can take a couple of defenders to tackle him as he is quite gangly and puts up a fight.. Deceptively quicker than he looks, but not overly quick. Maybe headed to the second row at some stage as well. Better the contract negotiations were a few weeks ago rather than after some man of match performances.:roll:

“He is a big young kid and is still growing. When he gets bigger, he may even head to the second-row,’’ Sheens added.
“Blake has size and speed and he is clever with the football. He didn’t lose his cool when he made that long break down the sideline. He is in my opinion a very good player and could easily play representative football.”

Magpies Forever

Just wondering what we now think of Ayshford after the first year of a four year deal?

Useless hack!!

Ayshford was never going to be a star but I think he has had a very ordinary (perhaps even going backwards) season. How much of that was SHeens influence- ie swapping him around and mind games who knows. I always doubted a 4 year extension but thats another Sheens inspiration. Mind you he is atleast better and cheaper than Reddy.

BuffaloRules

t

Ayshford was never going to be a star but I think he has had a very ordinary (perhaps even going backwards) season. How much of that was SHeens influence- ie swapping him around and mind games who knows. I always doubted a 4 year extension but thats another Sheens inpsiration. Mind you he is alteast better and chaper than Reddy.

He has definately gone backwards this year, and he was only average last year...

Surely he gets paid more than Reddy?

hybrid_tiger

Another player that has gone backwards (and he was never that good to begin with).

But he will be named in the team this weekend.

Matchball

Ditch both our centres.
We have to be able to do better than these 2 losers we have now.

I would go as far to say that we have the most ineffective centres in the competition.

Don't Blame Ayshford. Has/Had all the potential in the world. his attack i believe is lacking due to Benjis form or position however his attitude in defence is not good.

How many players with potential come through the ranks and excel under Sheens. There are a few that are self motivated and hungry, the rest just plod along. Its become routine, no different to scratching your balls upon waking up.

This post is more aimed at defending Ayshford rather than knocking Sheens but the fact he came out and said the team tried too hard in yesterdays loss shows where he is at and the security blanket he creates for his players.

I stand by my call in this thread. I think he's worth having. He showed under the tuteledge of Folkes, that he's a good player.

He got f**ked around positionally this year and that f**ked his confidence and form.

Plus neither of our centres have been getting any quality ball all year.

BuffaloRules

His confidence and form has been f**ked,it would be obvious to anybody except Sheens who has continued to pick him all year...

His defence is woeful.. not sure if the lack of quality ball impacted on that as well...

As i mentioned elsewhere a while ago, a close analysis of his tackling technique has shown he has changed it massively, for the worst. Instead of leading with his shoulders, he now tackles side on (as in facing the sideline) and leads with his hands around the attacking players shoulders.

Last year he defended squarer and lead with his shoulder. He made plenty of good driving tackles last year. I haven't seen him make one this year.

Not a bad player, considering every second week out fullback or 5/8 changes it's hard to him to gel with the guys playing inside him. Same thing has happened with Lawrence as well.

gronkathon

They always seem to get the ball in pressure or off rubbish late balls though.

We have zero structure in attack. We are a feeble, pathetic shell of what we were

Pistol_Pete

Look at what a coach can do for players like Halatau, Corey f**king Payne of all people and clowns like Jono Wright. Canterbury signed Graham before the season started and were going very well so not too much of their improvement can be put down to Inu and Perrett. The only change Canterbury have had is coach.

I would really like to see how these players would go under a new coach before we punt them.

Except for Moltzen who can get farked.

Ron's_Mate

Look at what a coach can do for players like Halatau, Corey f**king Payne of all people and clowns like Jono Wright. Canterbury signed Graham before the season started and were going very well so not too much of their improvement can be put down to Inu and Perrett. The only change Canterbury have had is coach.

I would really like to see how these players would go under a new coach before we punt them.

Except for Moltzen who can get farked.
A few times this year I have wondered - "What if Des Hasler had moved to the Tigers rather than the Bulldogs?" I reckon we would be top four, some underperformers would have been dropped, Benji would have been brought into line and there would be no capitulations such as witnessed against the Chooks, Rabbitohs and even Saints at the start of the season.

magpie guy

As i mentioned elsewhere a while ago, a close analysis of his tackling technique has shown he has changed it massively, for the worst. Instead of leading with his shoulders, he now tackles side on (as in facing the sideline) and leads with his hands around the attacking players shoulders.

Last year he defended squarer and lead with his shoulder. He made plenty of good driving tackles last year. I haven't seen him make one this year.

He has always had fairly poor lateral movement in defence which leads to arm grabbing instead of hitting with the shoulder. When he hits more or less front on he tends to drive and make dominant tackles.

Could it have anything to do with our line speed being slower? Due either to lower fitness (no Folkes?) and/or not having Gibbs there to set the pace.

I think the sharp increase in his playing weight, our lack of defensive structure, wingers rushing up and in, which isolates centres and as you said, our abysmally slow line speed are all contributors. If our wingers stay on their man in defence, you'd see our centres defence immediately look 50% better. You can see when a team goes wide against us, lawrence & ayshford are flat footed because they don't know if they are defending 1, 2 or 3 players. Thats where the defensive issues of blair and our halves is seen.

Our sliding defence is slow moving, and slow to react.