Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Beer Thread

Desert Qlder

I'm a massive fan of Erdinger, and enjoy a Schofferhofer every now and then, but I could never really get into the Weihenstaphaner for some reason, it's just got too much flavour for my liking. Not a big fan of Aussie wheat beers either, they really can't compare to the German variety

So I had a crack at an Aussie, the Hargreaves Hill Hefeweizen. It was easy to like it, nice aromas of citrus and solid flavour, so it's hard to be too critical.

That said the carbonation and mouthfeel gave me the sense of a better than average homebrew. As if it was an attempt at a hefe as opposed to the finished product.

Overall though, considering my low expectations of Aussie hefes, I came away pleasantly surprised. Only had one also and I usually like to have a few before making final judgments about my beers.

Noa

Had a bottle of the blue grand reserve Chimay tonight. $8 but worth every delicate, toffee, heavenly drop. Also tried a red-oak, it was OK, looking forward to going to the pub next time in Sydney.

And I love Weihenstaphener, especailly the dunkel.

Been at the multicultural festival here in Canberra. Many, many imported beers...I tried beers from(and I forget many names);

Kenya (Tusker)-Not bad, slightly sweet, went great with the goat curry they had
Macedonia (NFI)-Very good, hoppy dry lager
Poland (NFI)-Tried two, a lager much like Zywiec and a raspberry beer that was excellent
Hungary (Dreher)-Nice crisp lager
Japan (Kirin Original)-Tried it because it's totally different to the Kirin Ichiban. Quite full bodied.
Chile (Kross)-Nice golden ale, fruity and bitter
Czech (Kozel Dunkel)-I've always liked it so I had to get one on tap. Dark and creamy
Spain (NFI, not Estrella though)-Another lager, great for the chorizo roll. Also had a sangria
Lithuania (NFI)-Like a couple of them, it was on tap and nameless. Really nice pilsener style, grassy.
Greece (Mythos)-Meh
Croatia (Karlovac)-Another nice pilsener
Serbia (NFI)-Not bad, easy drinking lager

Now, bed time....

Desert Qlder

a bottle of the blue grand reserve Chimay

It's been staring me in the face every time I walk into the shop, but I've resisted (that and Duvel), waiting for the perfect moment to enjoy it. Don't think I will be able to for much longer.

Noa

It's been staring me in the face every time I walk into the shop, but I've resisted (that and Duvel), waiting for the perfect moment to enjoy it. Don't think I will be able to for much longer.

Dont chill it would be my only tip.

dogslife

Tried a couple of Korean beers at the Korean bbq place we went for dinner. Hite and Cass. Pretty sure they were both the same flavourless beers with different labels on them, will not try again

DB

Anyone had dry dock? Is it worth it for $28 a case? Bottle-o up the road is selling it for that price.

Desert Qlder

That's very cheap. If you're a fan of the flavourless, must-be-drunk-at-near-frozen, Corona-esque beers of the world then you'd want to be smashing it at that price.

Anyone had dry dock? Is it worth it for $28 a case? Bottle-o up the road is selling it for that price.

That's very cheap. If you're a fan of the flavourless, must-be-drunk-at-near-frozen, Corona-esque beers of the world then you'd want to be smashing it at that price.

Agree with Desert Qlder. It's the Woolworths attempt at Tooheys Extra Dry. Same goes for Maxx Dry through Coles.

Desert Qlder

I suppose if you were going to be drinking supermarket beers you're probably better off going with the Aldi range.

Yes, I admit, I was guilty of buying their 'Amber Ale' sixpack for $10.00. All I was looking for was an ounce of flavour and pleasantly there was. For the price, hard to knock it.

Shit, I've even bought their $2.50 bottles of wine. I'm good at being a cheaparse sometimes.

Joker's Wild

The classic Aussie flavourless.

Hard to believe the same mob make Old, how can one brewery swing so wildly?

Catering to all drinkers I guess

TEDs are a beer that you buy when throwing a party. You know pretty much anyone will drink them and not complain. You can throw all the "Dry" beers into that category really

Desert Qlder

Catering to all drinkers I guess

TEDs are a beer that you buy when throwing a party. You know pretty much anyone will drink them and not complain. You can throw all the "Dry" beers into that category really

JW, I know there's a snowflakes chance in hell you'd invite me to your party, but if you did I'm sure you would pour me something better than TEDs :p.

It's a good question though, what would you supply at your party? I'd probably go with my favourite mainstream lager, Boag's Draught, and a couple of cartons of Golden Ale on standby for those who want a bit more taste.

If I throw a party, it's generally Carlton Dry for it's broad appeal (even I like the stuff) and then whatever is on special out of the Squire or Matilda Bay range. Usually Fat Yak, Big Helga, Golden or Sundown/150 Lashes.

Joker's Wild

JW, I know there's a snowflakes chance in hell you'd invite me to your party, but if you did I'm sure you would pour me something better than TEDs :p.

It's a good question though, what would you supply at your party? I'd probably go with my favourite mainstream lager, Boag's Draught, and a couple of cartons of Golden Ale on standby for those who want a bit more taste.

lol these days Id only be buying the good stuff so you'd be safe at one of my dos mate

Its shameful but so many of my mates cant handle a decent beer, most are too stuck in their ways to evolve their palates and move away from the Super Dry and TEDs and join us in the upper levels of true beer enjoyment.

My party stock would consist of:

- Little Creatures/Fat Yak/JS Golden Ale for me and those who appreciate
- Super Dry for the plebs
- VB for my father inlaw who simply refuses to drink anything else

Sunday arvo I dedicate to adventuring in the unknown. Around 2pm I wonder up to the local BS and look for something new and give it a crack. Sometimes I find gems and othertimes rocks but I always have fun trying.

Best advice I give anyone on beer. Try something you don't know, otherwise you will never know what exactly you will enjoy.