Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ben Hunt requests release from the Drags

Joe Ofahengaue was moved on from a club just a few months into a multi year contract - kinda the same thing but the club calling the shots and there was no outcry?
was from joe

if Hunt goes to the broncos i might stop following nrl the fact these guys are at the top and already have good halfs and can get stronger when there team has to be already at the cap is just insane
titans and dolphins i guess would have a bit of cap left
not sure on cowboys they lost some players last year so they must be close to it

He asked for a get out clause in his contract in case Hook was sacked. The club refused. He still signed.

f**k him. I hope he goes to the Broncos and drops another GF.

Having been through loads of this at Parramatta, I just feel like it takes away from the actual problem. It doesn't mean Hunt is necessarily in the right.

The board and front office is an absolute nightmare and I don't reckon you've hit the bottom yet, sadly. Just hope it doesn't take the government stepping in like it did for us...

SLRBRONCOS

was from joe

if Hunt goes to the broncos i might stop following nrl the fact these guys are at the top and already have good halfs and can get stronger when there team has to be already at the cap is just insane
titans and dolphins i guess would have a bit of cap left
not sure on cowboys they lost some players last year so they must be close to it
This just proves my point. Joe didn't want to leave the Tigers, they moved him on - literally the same thing but the club making the decision to initiate a release and not the player.

some11

Now that it's rumoured he is going to the Broncos.

f**k him, grub......
He said he doesn't want to play hooker so can't see it happening.

Hooking up with the dolphins to partner SOS is a perfect fit. Bennett will squeeze whatever's left of his career out of him.

some11

It's weird. I empathise with Dragons fans thinking he's a cat but I also kind of empathise with Hunt?

He's not a million dollar player, but that's not his fault l. He's pretty much been the only merkin trying for St George for a long time and probably the only one who stayed around. The club is an absolute disaster
My thoughts too. The club started these stupid million dollar contracts when they signed hunt knowing he wasn't a game manager or an elite match-winning halfback. It's ended in tears and it's somehow Ben's fault.

Direct the anger at the board

SLRBRONCOS

Oh look I'm defs not saying he's a saint either. But even with the extra years, he signed on with a coach he enjoyed playing for (regardless of how shit Hook is) and the expectation that coach would be around.

Then he got sacked less than a year later. Now obviously he should have been sacked IMO anyway, and Hunt might have even stayed after that for all we know, but then you had the absolute f**king clown show way the Dragons handled the sacking. And then the even bigger clown show with the interviews. And then their first pick pulling out just as they were set to send him a contract...

I can just see why he might have had enough.
Clown show is the perfect description. Since Hunt signed the extension:

- Chairman writes a letter in support of a pedo on club letterhead.
- Amone attacks tradie with hammer.
- Bosses of the club don't show (or give a shit) about his 300th game - I'm pretty sure Bridget organised the dinner and his friends to travel to the GC and then Townsville for the game.
- Club sacks the coach that he wanted to play under.
- Club loses sponsors. Not really at the forefront of Hunt's mind, I'm sure, but still.

I'm bet his family are begging to go home too. Just a lose-lose situation for Ben and the Dragons fans, I feel sad for both.

SBD82

Having been through loads of this at Parramatta, I just feel like it takes away from the actual problem. It doesn't mean Hunt is necessarily in the right.

The board and front office is an absolute nightmare and I don't reckon you've hit the bottom yet, sadly. Just hope it doesn't take the government stepping in like it did for us...
100% our board is to blame for creating this situation.

But Hunt has shown a selfish streak throughout his entire career. This is just one more example. He’s a petulant little sook who only cares about himself.

OzDragon

I like how we’re probably just going to let him go without any exchange of players. The club admin is as pea hearted as the playing group.

martielang

Clown show is the perfect description. Since Hunt signed the extension:

- Chairman writes a letter in support of a pedo on club letterhead.
- Amone attacks tradie with hammer.
- Bosses of the club don't show (or give a shit) about his 300th game - I'm pretty sure Bridget organised the dinner and his friends to travel to the GC and then Townsville for the game.
- Club sacks the coach that he wanted to play under.
- Club loses sponsors. Not really at the forefront of Hunt's mind, I'm sure, but still.

I'm bet his family are begging to go home too. Just a lose-lose situation for Ben and the Dragons fans, I feel sad for both.

Supporter of club set to benefit from Hunts move try’s to justify his actions. Well I’ll be damned… 😆

Fangs

Lets face it everyone, Hunty was always a Bronco. Just like Walshy.

Looks like the Broncos still have a few paper bags left in their tuckshop.

some11

Lets face it everyone, Hunty was always a Bronco. Just like Walshy.

Looks like the Broncos still have a few paper bags left in their tuckshop.
tevita.png

SLRBRONCOS

Joe Ofahengaue was moved on from a club just a few months into a multi year contract - kinda the same thing but the club calling the shots and there was no outcry?
From the RLPA, 100% there wasn't.

Is it fair to assume Joe & WT came to an agreement to allow the release to happen?

If that isn't the case & Joe refused to leave (which he is entitled to do) he would still be wearing their colours wouldn't he, albeit in KOE cup?

Will BH & Dragons come to an agreement, maybe. I'd like to see him play out the year, if that is in 1st grade or KOE Cup, that is up to both parties.

mxlegend99

Good luck to Hunt wherever he ends up. Would make a few clubs better at 9 who are premiership contenders.

But not sure any of those clubs would want him in the halves. He would need to join another shit team for that IMO.