Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Benji Marshall ?

Jubileeboy

Excellent - When this descends into a balls up train wreck
We will see the demise of both Doust and Price.

No matter how many names we might have in the backline,
it can't function without a good pack of forwards.
One who is led by a brutal overpowering dictator - which we have none last game I stood up and saw live. v Roosters - again slapped around like a b*t$h

Take a look at the Broncos - they are a fine example of how to spend under the salary cap.

We chuck or money at flash in the pan has-beens who clearly are after money only.

If that wasn't the fact the sharks would of been the perfect choice.

Another season wasted when its barely a third old.
Onya boys you do good things.

lol

Slippery Morris

BUB888 totally agree. Can't see any negatives with this signing. He is a class player and someone we should be excited to see in in the halves. Widdop/Benji probably the best halves combo since Baz/Mundine or Baz/Rodwell. Last year we had to watch Chase/Fein at one stage. What a huge improvement.

Benji will be so pumped to prove he is not wasted and his time in Rugby will make him appreciate even more how good the game of league is and how good he has it.

st.phil

BUB888 totally agree. Can't see any negatives with this signing. He is a class player and someone we should be excited to see in in the halves. Widdop/Benji probably the best halves combo since Baz/Mundine or Baz/Rodwell. Last year we had to watch Chase/Fein at one stage. What a huge improvement.

Benji will be so pumped to prove he is not wasted and his time in Rugby will make him appreciate even more how good the game of league is and how good he has it.
+1

Jersey No 14

Did anybody see his pathetic attempt at Rugby
LOL
We've brought a five-eighth and two halves who are all good.
Not for one second have the halves had a opportunity to dig in and shine.
and we dish em'
Dishwater - dished
Now we want to buy a big name for what - so we and you guys say between the line climb brightly into the spotlight
The way Hasler as the bulldogs traveling is wonderful. I don't see him yerning for media publicity.
The whole Dickwad reentry into the NRL is media dirven by his CH 9 mates.
The only reason he's ditched the Sharks are they are worse than us.
I hope I'm wrong - I really do because it's the Red V which is at stake here - not any of our opinions.
We have not learnt a thing over the past decade.
Browny year came and went - what did we learn
Bennett came along and won us a comp then left - As Doust about that fact.
Now for my point
It is a travisty of which were we are now.
I is clear not only did we not learn anything for Bennett, we've (thanks to Management)
gone deliberately back into some Browny like state.
We've had wins from the tigers underdepleted Sharks 16-14 (something like that)
and the warriors twice - who'd lost their coach.
The broncos tore us a new arse
The roosters just the previous showed us up for who we are - weak.
And everyone delusional about tiny tiger who is all about him and getting his missus on TV
Our ball movement is rank at best, we have no plays 30 metres out, our defence is again weak up the centre
With our cap exhausted if we buy this guy - do you guys think for just one moment he's going to fix all this and help us into the 8 (eight) then go on to win a comp
You guys are delusional and our management should (by the board) be sacked for even contemplating this accusation - you've all got rocks in your head.
Our problems are systemic - and you want to throw what little we have left at this YES flash in the pan Has-been well good luck.
I'm a Dragon - Born a Dragon and will Die a Dragon I'm plenty old to have seen Changa Reddy and the like play for us.
I now wonder as we see the players on TV aggree to the idea of tiny tiger how much of a desperate club we've become again
Systemic Problems are rith
It was 30 years before we're into our 4th post comp year and we're learnt nothing accept how to waste money.
The people who count should hang their heads in shame.

And you dish me for being against the very thought of Benji wearing a RED V
Rar - Rar - Rar GOOOOOOOOO Benji !!!

NOT!!!!!

pinkmoon

He will sign with the Sharks anyway.

From all reports the guy has a whopping big ego that divides the players and fractures the harmony of the club. The game has changed and left Marshall behind; I hope we do too.

st.phil

LOL
and we dish em'
Dishwater - dished
Now we want to buy a big name for what - so we and you guys say between the line climb brightly into the spotlight
The way Hasler as the bulldogs traveling is wonderful. I don't see him yerning for media publicity.
I hope I'm wrong - I really do because it's the Red V which is at stake here - not any of our opinions.
Now for my point
I is clear not only did we not learn anything for Bennett, we've (thanks to Management)
And everyone delusional about tiny tiger who is all about him and getting his missus on TV
Our ball movement is rank at best, we have no plays 30 metres out, our defence is again weak up the centre
With our cap exhausted if we buy this guy - do you guys think for just one moment he's going to fix all this and help us into the 8 (eight) then go on to win a comp
You guys are delusional and our management should (by the board) be sacked for even contemplating this accusation - you've all got rocks in your head.
Our problems are systemic - and you want to throw what little we have left at this YES flash in the pan Has-been well good luck.
I'm a Dragon - Born a Dragon and will Die a Dragon I'm plenty old to have seen Changa Reddy and the like play for us.
I now wonder as we see the players on TV aggree to the idea of tiny tiger how much of a desperate club we've become again
It was 30 years before we're into our 4th post comp year and we're learnt nothing accept how to waste money.

NOT!!!!!

It's diss bro...as in disrespect

jenninga

He will sign with the Sharks anyway.

From all reports the guy has a whopping big ego that divides the players and fractures the harmony of the club. The game has changed and left Marshall behind; I hope we do too.

And what reports are they,what hogwash.
And he's been out of the game for 6 months ,how has the game left him behind.
You don't like the signing,no problem ,but think before you comment.

KiamaSaint

LOL
and we dish em'
Dishwater - dished
Now for my point

NOT!!!!!

So you want Benji, right?

mighty v

LOL
and we dish em'
Dishwater - dished
Now for my point

NOT!!!!!

Mate,

With all respect ,your living back in the 60's

Rugby league is not a sport anymore ,its entertainment,and it has to be promoted in that way

We as a club ,have the BEST brand in the NRL ,yet we have nothing to show for it apart from the Bennett years,and one premiership in 30 years

The club for tooo long went the way of bringing juniors thru ,which did nothing

Our club needs bums on seats ,we need sponsors ,we need BIG names to promote our BRAND ,which inturn brings in revenue ,which inturn brings big names and hopefully premierships

Our CLUB should be a Manchester United ,a Real Madrid etc ,THATS the new vision of the board

You see ,big names draw big names ,you get one ,you get a second ,you get a third

Our club has been mediocre for far too long ,its times for change ,time for vision,time for the BIG RED V to be the brand it should ,and the likes of Josh Dugan,Gareth Widdop and YES Benji Marshall to help us get there

So slamming the club you love ,which has only won 1 premiership in 30 years because of a player you dont like,is wrong

Need to see the big picture

bottle

Upside of Benji signing is that Jersey14 says he's calling it a day.
Has swayed me onside.

GT0007

Honestly in the short term Benji will get some people back to games and 'IF' we win some then people will keep coming and sponsorship will soar etc. It's a business decision as much as a football decision but we need to win games to reap the rewards and all I can say is we need to win the

RUCK!!!

blacksafake

LOL
and we dish em'
Dishwater - dished
Now for my point

NOT!!!!!
And you don't think that a player of his quality will not help this!
Sure i'm not his greatest fan & have often said he is not the best player but certainly one of the most brilliant and besides class is always there you never lose it.But hey if you can tell me who else is out there available with his credentials then i'm sure Doust is looking at them. :?

pinkmoon

And what reports are they,what hogwash.
And he's been out of the game for 6 months ,how has the game left him behind.
You don't like the signing,no problem ,but think before you comment.

I was implying that his style of play has been ineffective for the last couple of years...which probably had something to do with him warming the bench for Tigers last year and falling out of favour with Mick Potter...

You don't like my opinion, no problem, but think before you comment.

mmap dragons

Mate,

With all respect ,your living back in the 60's

Rugby league is not a sport anymore ,its entertainment,and it has to be promoted in that way

We as a club ,have the BEST brand in the NRL ,yet we have nothing to show for it apart from the Bennett years,and one premiership in 30 years

The club for tooo long went the way of bringing juniors thru ,which did nothing

Our club needs bums on seats ,we need sponsors ,we need BIG names to promote our BRAND ,which inturn brings in revenue ,which inturn brings big names and hopefully premierships

Our CLUB should be a Manchester United ,a Real Madrid etc ,THATS the new vision of the board

You see ,big names draw big names ,you get one ,you get a second ,you get a third

Our club has been mediocre for far too long ,its times for change ,time for vision,time for the BIG RED V to be the brand it should ,and the likes of Josh Dugan,Gareth Widdop and YES Benji Marshall to help us get there

So slamming the club you love ,which has only won 1 premiership in 30 years because of a player you dont like,is wrong

Need to see the big picture

:clap:

Slippery Morris

People seem to forget that since Benji won the GF he has had no proper half play alongside him. Best he got was Robert Lui and they did very well together. Just missed out on 2010 GF. Since Lui left he had juniors or unknows playing beside him.

With Widdop and Benji you have a quality halves combo with heaps of points between them. It will be a fantastic signing. He would have learnt alot from his last season at the Tigers so I am sure he will be just greatful like the Duges is to be in a side that is as tight as the Dragons. All the boys are pretty close and I can see him thriving under that enviroment. He sounds like a good bloke and I know someone who met him and thought he was great. Bought him drinks all night after he just met him 5 minutes prior.

GT0007

People seem to forget that since Benji won the GF he has had no proper half play alongside him. Best he got was Robert Lui and they did very well together. Just missed out on 2010 GF. Since Lui left he had juniors or unknows playing beside him.

With Widdop and Benji you have a quality halves combo with heaps of points between them. It will be a fantastic signing.

Good call, I'm leaning toward Benji but I can just see the shit hit the fan in here after a few games if we dont already win the Grandfinal lol