Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Blue and Gold Army

walker smith said:
i would love to be aprt of a supporter group....but as i understand it, there are certain internal factors preventing people like me...

i could never sit on the north hill because hurriflatch (speaking for the EWO I presume) has made it known that people ofa certain ethnic extraction or heritage (all be it born in this country and a very proud australian) are not particularly welcome at football games....

as for parramatt's so-called "army", he has made it very clear in other posts what he feels about talking to (or corresponding with) people who dont have at least a few hundred posts on message boards ( i think he likes to deride any argument by "newbies"), so i guess that excludes me as well....

how do you expect to start an army when the very criteria by which you accept people excludes and alienates a great deal of parramatta supporters?

First of all I've indirectly accused Flatch of being racist, but he's denied it! I'll give Hurri the opportunity to retract from what WS has said but it definitly be no surprise to a lot of people about his comments.

secondly, I think your right about your second observation however ParraMatt like most of us here as passionate about their club as the next person and he's entitled to distance himself from another group but at the end of the day if we can all sing, chant and cheer as one it would make for a great spectacle for everyone concerned.

But more importantly all race, colour, gender or sex should be welcomed!! to join in.

Isn't that right Hurri ;-)

planeteels

walker smith said:
i would love to be aprt of a supporter group....but as i understand it, there are certain internal factors preventing people like me...

i could never sit on the north hill because hurriflatch (speaking for the EWO I presume) has made it known that people ofa certain ethnic extraction or heritage (all be it born in this country and a very proud australian) are not particularly welcome at football games....

as for parramatt's so-called "army", he has made it very clear in other posts what he feels about talking to (or corresponding with) people who dont have at least a few hundred posts on message boards ( i think he likes to deride any argument by "newbies"), so i guess that excludes me as well....

how do you expect to start an army when the very criteria by which you accept people excludes and alienates a great deal of parramatta supporters?

well that is the thing, 2 people with varying opinions.. for those 2 opinions, I'm sure you will get 50 that disagree with them.

Mate, you would be totally welcome!! the same reasons are partly why i chose not to become a part of particular groups, albeit some of the people i have no problem with, BUT, what they stand for is not my cup of tea. Those people like that dynamic, but I didn't and don't. All I want is a group of eels friends who want to chant and have a bit of fun.

If you wish to discuss this more, email me at planeteels@planeteels.com

eelavation said:
Jake the snake said:
Once again how hard is it to sit next to each other and cheer. f**k me dead its not rocket science.

agree.

The problem is getting everytone together. At Parramatta Stadium, there are a great many people, myself included that have had the same seat at the stadium for a number of years (8 myself) and I have built friendships with the fans around me that I do not wish to break. Away games are a little easier to orginise if people do it activly, Having a Large Army camped inside enemy territory is comforting to fellow fans and attacts them.

Tring to get people to agree on anything some times can be an exercise in futlitiy. As this message board shows.

MarkInTheStands said:
The problem is getting everytone together. At Parramatta Stadium, there are a great many people, myself included that have had the same seat at the stadium for a number of years (8 myself) and I have built friendships with the fans around me that I do not wish to break. Away games are a little easier to orginise if people do it activly, Having a Large Army camped inside enemy territory is comforting to fellow fans and attacts them.

Agree Mark. When in Sydney 8), I've had the same season ticket seat since 1986, and wouldn't budge for anything. (The club tried to make my dad and I move one year, but that's another story...)

But getting an away games army together shouldn't be too difficult, especially for the games in Sydney? Some research as to where best to sit at each ground, costs etc, transport and time of arrival, organised communication and you're there - no matter which "little group" people feel they want to belong to?

And for those "far away" games, making use of the knowledge of our regional and interstate forum contributors to help in the organisation. We already have some committed fans that make most away games, doing exactly this. Surely as Parra fans those willing can aim for some level of unity and inclusiveness at least at away games?

Hellsy

MarkInTheStands said:
eelavation said:
Jake the snake said:
Once again how hard is it to sit next to each other and cheer. f**k me dead its not rocket science.

agree.

Tring to get people to agree on anything some times can be an exercise in futlitiy. As this message board shows.

I agree with you fully Mark. As you well know I have been sitting close to you in the stands for about the same many years and I too do not want to move as I have formed friendships (and enemies, but all in good humour!) with those around me. I also sit with a very dear friend who is not at all interested in joining a supporter group and I have met halfway with him so that we are both happy, I also sit with my parents whom I do not see every day. We sit in the seats that my late grandfather bought for my Dad and Nan (added a few extra over the years from the original 2) back since the stadium was opened in 1986.

I went to Colonel's last Sunday and discussed this on behalf of people like Mark and I, and made a suggestion that we join the group at away games but stay put for home games. I'm sure there are more of you out there who may like this idea.
By joining the group for away games we would still be included in the activities/outings/socials and the other things that will happen throughout the year, and after all we need a bigger force at away games to make an impression.

I was part of that wonderful group called the Parraletics, which is no more through all the internal bitching that went on... whatever happened to just watching the footy I ask?
Even as part of the Parraletics though I still sat in the Cronin stand (along with Mark) and joined them at away games and down at the pub after the games etc. and this was always adequate enough.

I truly believe that if we all don't work with each other to form the 'appearance' of one big group (please note I said 'appearance' only) that this group will not be a force that other supporters will look at with any kind of trepidation. Why can't we all meet half way and go to the club as a united force? Once it is sorted with the club surely you can all sit in the designated area with your fellow companions that you joined with and have a good time while being part of a group that is very vocal but could still be separate.

I understand that no-one wants to wear the wigs etc. which is why people didn't want to join the Parramaniacs, but I can also understand that people would not want to join EWO (and no offence to any members of that group intended) but your image within the club is not very welcomed and you seem very secluded in who you stand with, and there is often unfriendly comments towards fellow supporters and players. A supporter group of The Mighty Parramatta Eels Club should not make people feel like they are outsiders or have to contend with drunken arguments from their own kind.

It is really sad to go to away games and see how other clubs have it so together. To go to Newcastle you are shadowed by their supporters (hell even at Parra stadium they outcheer us), Canberra have a Sydney based club as well as a Canberra based club (and hey guys guess what they are not the best of friends either but they still manage to pull each other together for games to support their Team), Souths have The Burrow, The Roosters have a whole bay and this is just to name a few.

I know most of you have no idea who I am as I really do not post alot of messages in here (for anyone interested I am Jess's sister). And alot of you are probably thinking 'who the hell is she to come in and post a message like this'. But I LOVE this team and will fight, defend and support them through good times and bad right to the end and it kills me to see all the infighting that goes on.

I really hope we can work it out and I have confidence that Colonel, Planet, Nix, Jess, Eelavation and all you other good people will come together to make 2005 the best year for supporting the Eels yet.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
Colonel Eel said:
ParraMatt said:
Who turned up? list would be good.

Nikki, JessEel and her sister and Jess, eelavation and joe, di luvs parra and her daughters.

Not many but somewhere to work from.

Nikki, JessEel ;-) , Hellchick, rowdy, eelavation and joe (sometimes shocker) di luvs parra and the littlies but in spirit there was also mystik (we spoke about you and your banners) MITS (who like hellchick was referred to in an away game context) Planet (as we knew you were in) and a few others.

What i took away from the meeting was pretty much if there has to be two armies, so be it. i would rather that then a constant struggle. but also if those two armies could take part in the same chants on the hill it would look and sound better. There are two raiders groups and while they don't spend time together socially they work together during games. I would be happy to settle for this with the parra fans. I will be apart of Colonel's group, as i was one who began getting if off the ground, and began to make contact with others and the club and such. I have been a fan for long enough that i reckon its time to get involved with the club. But please Matt, don't divide the groups completely because we have a different view on how it should be run. i know we don't agree but we all have the same goal!! cheering the eels on to victory!!

if anyone wants to discuss anything with me about this shit, just pm or email me or add me to msn. i really want this to work

MystikEel

Mass MSN convo lol

Thanks for not forgetting me, Jess. Much appreciate it :)

Thing is, if there are two 'armies' then there might be a bit of a division in size, names etc... But i think also if people just turn up at the games (regularly?), sit near each other or close enough and work the flags/banners things right, I think it will be all good.

*hopes*

This conversation is so disappointing for so many reasons.

For God's sake people .......we all follow the same team.
For those who can, lets get together and sing loud.

I have said it before - the Blue and Gold Army is a contradiction in terms.
Not even a battalion or squadron. The Boy Scouts would cheer louder.
Until everybody decides to throw away their pride and egos, and do what is best for the Eels, we won't have an army worth talking about.

I agree with the eloquent way Planet put it all.
They are exactly my views.

there's nothing more I can add other than lets get together and have a peace rally on a king size bed ala John and Yoko style!!

"all we are saying! is give peace a chance" ;-)

what about!

I'm just sittin here watchin the eels go round and round!!..really like to watch them roll.

Imagine, there' no heaven?..........

I'm going to watch the cricket.
Aussies are carving.

Hellchick said:
MarkInTheStands said:
eelavation said:
Jake the snake said:

agree.

I agree with you fully Mark. As you well know I have been sitting close to you in the stands for about the same many years and I too do not want to move as I have formed friendships (and enemies, but all in good humour!) with those around me. I also sit with a very dear friend who is not at all interested in joining a supporter group and I have met halfway with him so that we are both happy, I also sit with my parents whom I do not see every day. We sit in the seats that my late grandfather bought for my Dad and Nan (added a few extra over the years from the original 2) back since the stadium was opened in 1986.

I went to Colonel's last Sunday and discussed this on behalf of people like Mark and I, and made a suggestion that we join the group at away games but stay put for home games. I'm sure there are more of you out there who may like this idea.
By joining the group for away games we would still be included in the activities/outings/socials and the other things that will happen throughout the year, and after all we need a bigger force at away games to make an impression.

I was part of that wonderful group called the Parraletics, which is no more through all the internal bitching that went on... whatever happened to just watching the footy I ask?
Even as part of the Parraletics though I still sat in the Cronin stand (along with Mark) and joined them at away games and down at the pub after the games etc. and this was always adequate enough.

I truly believe that if we all don't work with each other to form the 'appearance' of one big group (please note I said 'appearance' only) that this group will not be a force that other supporters will look at with any kind of trepidation. Why can't we all meet half way and go to the club as a united force? Once it is sorted with the club surely you can all sit in the designated area with your fellow companions that you joined with and have a good time while being part of a group that is very vocal but could still be separate.

I understand that no-one wants to wear the wigs etc. which is why people didn't want to join the Parramaniacs, but I can also understand that people would not want to join EWO (and no offence to any members of that group intended) but your image within the club is not very welcomed and you seem very secluded in who you stand with, and there is often unfriendly comments towards fellow supporters and players. A supporter group of The Mighty Parramatta Eels Club should not make people feel like they are outsiders or have to contend with drunken arguments from their own kind.

It is really sad to go to away games and see how other clubs have it so together. To go to Newcastle you are shadowed by their supporters (hell even at Parra stadium they outcheer us), Canberra have a Sydney based club as well as a Canberra based club (and hey guys guess what they are not the best of friends either but they still manage to pull each other together for games to support their Team), Souths have The Burrow, The Roosters have a whole bay and this is just to name a few.

I know most of you have no idea who I am as I really do not post alot of messages in here (for anyone interested I am Jess's sister). And alot of you are probably thinking 'who the hell is she to come in and post a message like this'. But I LOVE this team and will fight, defend and support them through good times and bad right to the end and it kills me to see all the infighting that goes on.

I really hope we can work it out and I have confidence that Colonel, Planet, Nix, Jess, Eelavation and all you other good people will come together to make 2005 the best year for supporting the Eels yet.

seriously! though,

I have to move this so everyone can absorb the passion that is very wonderful "Hellchick" :clap: