Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brett Seymour under investigation for alcohol incident

BWNB

To be fair, Zappia has always been on top of player behaviour as an issue at the Sharks.

I wouldn't be surprised if it wasn't forced, and I'd love to have someone like Zappia in charge of player discipline at my club... it's what most clubs in the NRL need imo.

You sure about that?
Dropping one of your best players for misbehavior while the next club lets their BEST players off?

You sure about that?
Dropping one of your best players for misbehavior while the next club lets their BEST players off?
Yeah, I think the league needs more guys like Zappia. It might be unfair to start with because other clubs are too self-interested to do what is for the good of the game (and their club in the long run), but yeah, it'd be great if/when Zappia comes back to my club ;-)

BWNB

Yeah, I think the league needs more guys like Zappia. It might be unfair to start with because other clubs are too self-interested to do what is for the good of the game (and their club in the long run), but yeah, it'd be great if/when Zappia comes back to my club ;-)

He isn't really doing anything good for the on field performance of the club but.

I wonder who the idiot was who went around taking footage of Seymour out on the piss.

He isn't really doing anything good for the on field performance of the club but.
You guys still went alright last year after punting that fella that puched the girl at the servo, and sidelining Bird. The approach hasn't done you any damage anyways.

BWNB

You guys still went alright last year after punting that fella that puched the girl at the servo, and sidelining Bird. The approach hasn't done you any damage anyways.

It sure WILL, watch the next two matches.

BTW in the current economic climate its hard to get cash so I reckon ill just walk around Sydney nightspots trying to get incriminating footage of players on the piss... DOG!

Gallop is happy with what Cronulla did. no further action will be taken

Sky News live press conference

Ah, Trent Barrett will step up :lol:

Everyone has phones on them these days, it's up to players to realise the reality and pull their heads in a bit... rather than turn any small sensible drinking occasion into a howler that does them, their club and the game damage.

Keep standing them down, and eventually they will all learn. They can't earn their salaries if the money coming into the game through sponsorship and broadcast rights is threatened by their own standard of public behaviour.

Shorty

Well done to the Sharks management.
Only 2 rounds and I think Barrett will take this as an opportunity to shine.

gong_eagle

so can someone ask Gallop now does that stop players from celebrating Mad Monday like has been done since the year dot
and what of the winning grand final teams celebrations

so can someone ask Gallop now does that stop players from celebrating Mad Monday like has been done since the year dot
and what of the winning grand final teams celebrations

The drinking itself is not really the problem its what they do when pissed that causes problems for them. As long as they have their MM in a controlled setting, and don't do things that piss other people off, or are illegal, or embarassing if reported publicly, particularly if captured on camera, they will be fine.

Kiki

i cannot BELIEVE they fined him 20 grand for being drunk. have they lost their damn minds?? last time i looked getting pissed wasn't against the law. how utterly absurd.

BWNB

i cannot BELIEVE they fined him 20 grand for being drunk. have they lost their damn minds?? last time i looked getting pissed wasn't against the law. how utterly absurd.

Soon they will stop selling alcohol at the game

Ah, Trent Barrett will step up :lol:

Everyone has phones on them these days, it's up to players to realise the reality and pull their heads in a bit... rather than turn any small sensible drinking occasion into a howler that does them, their club and the game damage.

Keep standing them down, and eventually they will all learn. They can't earn their salaries if the money coming into the game through sponsorship and broadcast rights is threatened by their own standard of public behaviour.

Surprise, surprise, it is possible to stop at 10 or so beers, not compulsory to have 30 (not always easy I do know)

I wonder when some of these guys will learn. I'd have thought if ever there was a time to be on your best behaviour it is now, so are these guys either (a) too dumb to realise this, (b) arrogant enough to think there will be no consequences from acting like an arsehole?

Finally, I wonder how many of those crying poor about how the game is undersold and not getting the money it "deserves" are the same ones who find poor player behaviour quite ok - as long as they stay out of jail they can play.

Cletus

The drinking itself is not really the problem its what they do when pissed that causes problems for them. As long as they have their MM in a controlled setting, and don't do things that piss other people off, or are illegal, or embarassing if reported publicly, particularly if captured on camera, they will be fine.

Seymour didn't do anything wrong or illegal, apart from wear thongs in a pub. And how is it his fault if someone films it and flogs the footage to channel nine for a tidy sum? The whole thing is a complete joke that the NRL is using to justify standing down Stewart for being pissed. Gallop has gone completely overboard on this one.

No he didn't do anything illegal, but he did put himself in a position to be an embarassment to the NRL. His choice, his risk.

Special K

346715.jpg

Careful! The fun police will stand you down if you guys keep this up. The LU sponsors might not be happy with this! Lets all panic!