Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brian Smith: It's all on the line in race for finals

Pumba

Brian Smith: It's all on the line in race for finals
BY BRIAN SMITH

What a finish footy fans for almost every club in the NRL are in for over the next three weekends, and none more so than our Knights.

The Cowboys arrive on Saturday night at EAS trying like mad to shake off the wooden spoon tag with their key playmaker, Johnathan Thurston, back from injury.

They will be trying to knock us out of the play-off race and we will be striving to keep our dream alive.

We will have Adam MacDougall back after missing last week's trip to Canberra, and Doogs, like Danny Buderus, may be playing for his last tilt at the NRL play-offs.

I am sure everyone in our club wants our two most senior players to achieve that goal after all they have done for our sport and club over distinguished careers.

There is sure to be some desperate football being played by both teams as well as those individuals within.

That's what we have been working hard at from those November pre-season training sessions where we all started getting to know each other.

It's been a credit to all those blokes who have performed for us in the NRL this season that we have managed to blend together so many guys from different footy backgrounds and at both ends of the experience spectrum.

Bedsy and Gids [Kurt Gidley] have led the way with outstanding seasons for the Knights and at rep level, and Simmo [Steve Simpson] and Doogs have pulled out some special games with man-of-the-match performances too.

Likewise rookies like Junior Sau and Aku Uate have made great contributions when given their chances to join in with the big boys as others like Jimmy Mac [James McManus], Pato [Cory Paterson] and Mullo [Jarrod Mullen] have continued to grow in the season '08.

But for me, the overwhelming achievement made so far this season has been the teamwork all the squad has developed.

It's what the people within the club and the many supporters I met on arrival in the Hunter nearly two years ago have consistently repeated that they wanted to happen.

"Get us working as a team. Make it hard for the opposition to come to Newcastle. Let's get that pride back in our defensive line."

I heard it everywhere I went. It's what I love to do, and there is no better feeling as a coach in team sport than to see your team working hard for each other, especially under the pump when the opposition is having a full-on crack at you, as the Cowboys will surely be doing on Saturday night.

We have made enough progression this season to be in there fighting for a place in the big end-of-season games.

Not enough to be cruising in at the top of the ladder, but I think that might have been pipe dreaming for anyone who was thinking like that.

No, we are about where we wanted to be at this stage, but a little short of completing the job. At this time of season the pressure begins to mount on almost everyone associated with a footy club. For some it becomes more difficult than for others to deal with the disappointments, hold their nerve, continue to do the things that have been successful, not worry about the outcomes but treat every day as the only opportunity to prepare for the next, so that game day arrives with a feeling that we are all ready to go.

Nothing can be left undone through lack of attention or distraction for coaches or players.

Knowing who to listen to and who to ignore can be a valuable tool also at this time of year.

Quite a number of Knights fans have become regular, valued contributors to my pool of weekly evaluation and assessment on all things footy.

While we don't always agree, obviously because they often have opposite thoughts to each other as well, I really appreciate the manner in which they transfer their thoughts, hopes and disappointments to me.

I know they will continue to do so as I welcome their inputs.

I have not found it hard to tell a disappointed but loyal and supportive fan from those who have little concept of the team values we are building, or the place real club supporters have in helping us achieve what we all desperately want.

A Knights win on Saturday will do for starters!

And we will know and appreciate all of those people who have assisted in making it happen.

Link

Karmawave

Note the not-so-subtle attempt by Smith at the end of the column to show how much he appreciated us, the fans. :lol:

Karmawave

Is anyone else completely disinterested in the NRL at the moment?

I can't believe how little it excites me anymore. The referees have too much influence, and I'm even flicking off Friday Night Football after the first game during the last few weeks. ( And enjoying a Jets home game live in the process )

On Saturdays, I only headed out with mates after SuperSaturday finished. Lately, I don't even care about much anymore. In the last 2 weeks I've only watched on average 4 games a weekend, when I always watched every game.

I think if it wasn't for the Knights holding on to a Top 8 birth by the whiskers on their chin, I might have switched the NRL off altogether.

It's all so boring.

voltron

i agree
im just not as fired up anymore
but i think thats more got to do with the loss to raiders
and not many good prospective wins ahead......
lol

Karmawave

i agree
im just not as fired up anymore
but i think thats more got to do with the loss to raiders
and not many good prospective wins ahead......
lol

Nah, I can't say that's me. The only fire I do have for the game lately comes from my interest in the Knights. Win or loss.

Even the so called " big games " are boring.

Can you imagine the type of snoozefest the Sharks and Roosters tonight in wet conditions in Cronulla are going to dish up?

macavity

you would (or wouldn't?) be surprised at how many of us only really bother with Knights games, Karma.

We were once all RL fans - I think these days if it wasn't for our club, we probably wouldn't bother at all.

Karmawave

you would (or wouldn't?) be surprised at how many of us only really bother with Knights games, Karma.

We were once all RL fans - I think these days if it wasn't for our club, we probably wouldn't bother at all.

I know, and how sad's that.

I used to get fired up about top of the table battles as much as any Knights games.

The Bulldogs v Roosters games a few years ago.

The Warriors attacking skills at their best.

The Tigers in 05.

Where did it all go wrong?

How can people ( like me ) go from having Rugby League as, by far, my favourite sport, to actually looking forward to an EPL soccer season. Sickening.

As for our 100th year. Apart from a few highlights, who would have even known it was the century celebration.

Celebrate what? How boring we can turn our game into? :lol:

antonius

Is anyone else completely disinterested in the NRL at the moment?

I can't believe how little it excites me anymore. The referees have too much influence, and I'm even flicking off Friday Night Football after the first game during the last few weeks. ( And enjoying a Jets home game live in the process )

On Saturdays, I only headed out with mates after SuperSaturday finished. Lately, I don't even care about much anymore. In the last 2 weeks I've only watched on average 4 games a weekend, when I always watched every game.

I think if it wasn't for the Knights holding on to a Top 8 birth by the whiskers on their chin, I might have switched the NRL off altogether.

It's all so boring.
Yep, I reckon if the Knights weren't there I would hardly watch a game.

Karmawave

When the highlight of our game is getting excited about Colin Best, Joel Monaghan, and a second string Raiders team, its a blight on the rest of the NRL ( and its coaches ).

Smithy can talk up the excitement all he wants about the run into the Finals. Some of the more exciting teams won't even make the bloody semis :lol:

Karmawave

look at the likely top 4 mate - the 4 most boring teams in the comp.

Tell me about it Macca.

Oh don't worry, we can whet the appetite for what we have to look forward to in the semis tonight when the Roosters and Sharks combine to score 16-20 points.

Joker's Wild

Yep, I agree with that sentiment.

Time was I would watch every game on Fox and the missus couldnt get a word out of me until the footy was over. Last Sat. night I was folding laundry during the Cowboys v Titans game and switching over to the 'lympics more often than not. I thought I was just getting old but now I have a new excuse, the NRL is just plain boring.

I still enjoy getting to live games though, somehow the crowd mentality makes it more exciting. I get along to some of the local Qld Cup games too which is something I never would have done previously.

I honestly think the quality compared to 3-4 years ago is crap. Too many players have headed overseas or gone to union. The standard of play is sooooo much lower.

I am not just talking about your SBW's but even ur average toilers who are heading over there.

As well the constant stoppages in play.... And mind boggling rulings are shocking.

I used to watch every game fanatically, but like Macca said now its really only the knights games that make me sit up and take notice.

roopy

I've never liked the NRL much.
I've always been a fan of the lower grades - where you see a lot more variety of play and the defence doesn't smother everything else.
You also get to see people improve rapidly over a season all the time. You see that in firstgrade, but it is rare, not an everyday thing.
I watch firstgrade, but i actually enjoy watching blokes i've seen in the juniors do well, like Tilse for Canberra or Snowy for Cronulla, just as much as i like the Knights.

Johns Magic

The salary cap is killing the game.

There are no real powerhouses anymore bar the Storm, and any team can beat any team on the day. In a way that's good, but at the same time, there's no huge clashes to look forward to or sense of an underdog victory.

The style of footy is now boring and slow, and the refs are a joke.

I also think the massive dominance of Polynesian players is creating more predictable play and less excitement. Wait, can I say that?

Apey

I only ever manage to watch the first Friday Night game and always the Knights game. I can't be f**ked watching it all, I don't mind watching the highlights though :lol:

Jono078

Yeah, I find myself looking forward to the Sunday Footy Show more these days and just watching highlights :(

I thought it was just me who has lost interest in watching most games, I guess not.

Few years ago id be super excited for super Saturday and watch 3 awesome games, now I just watch the 5:30 only most of the time, unless the Knights are playing of course.

keeney

I've always been a Knights fan first. I can take a casual interest in other teams and players, but the Knights turn me into an obsessive stats nerd. I've never understood it, the Knights draw a really intense emotional attachment out of me, whereas the game at large (other teams) doesn't tend to. Its always been the case.

antonius

The game (as everyone else is saying) has become boring. The NRL claim they make rule changes to speed up the game, all they've done is slow it down because we spend quite a significant amount of time now waiting on video results, this not only brings the game to an abrupt halt, but allows sides to regather themselves in defence which is bloody frustrating when it's your side doing the attacking. I'd rather have a few mistakes and no vid ref for starters.

~knights~

I only ever manage to watch the first Friday Night game and always the Knights game. I can't be f**ked watching it all, I don't mind watching the highlights though :lol:

I always watch the 1st friday night game than fall asleep in the 2nd,lol