Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

bring back arko and quale

jack coburn

regardless of what is said by superleague nuthuggers these 2 were the best administrators the league has seen.
in 95 we had the higest ratings,biggest crowds and the game was expanding to all parts,these 2 were league men with a (i hate to say it)vision for our game and only in the interest of our game.
i know arko is to old but what about quale.
the sad thing for me as a supporter is that if the players and clubs had stuck together they could have got anything they wanted and we would now probaly dominate the aussie sporting landscap.
i would also after 10 yrs still like to thank all the superleague clubs for giving a game that wasnt theirs to sell to ruppert,we are now finaly starting to see the negatives of that decision come to fruitition via poor tv deals and a game being run by lawyers for the sole benefit of murdoch.

please bring in some people with league in their hearts not profits in their mind.

Rockin Ronny

regardless of what is said by superleague nuthuggers these 2 were the best administrators the league has seen.
in 95 we had the higest ratings,biggest crowds and the game was expanding to all parts,these 2 were league men with a (i hate to say it)vision for our game and only in the interest of our game.
i know arko is to old but what about quale.
the sad thing for me as a supporter is that if the players and clubs had stuck together they could have got anything they wanted and we would now probaly dominate the aussie sporting landscap.
i would also after 10 yrs still like to thank all the superleague clubs for giving a game that wasnt theirs to sell to ruppert,we are now finaly starting to see the negatives of that decision come to fruitition via poor tv deals and a game being run by lawyers for the sole benefit of murdoch.

please bring in some people with league in their hearts not profits in their mind.

Arko's interest was Manly first, rugby league second.

How else did Manly, bankrupt in the late 90's, end up with Gosford stadium and then an NRL licence? Manly should have been the first club kicked out if teh criteria was fair dinkum.

Self-interest is what is killing rugby league. We need people focussed on the game, not simply their own club.

mrbishi

How else did Manly, bankrupt in the late 90's, end up with Gosford stadium and then an NRL licence? Manly should have been the first club kicked out if teh criteria was fair dinkum.

Self-interest is what is killing rugby league. We need people focussed on the game, not simply their own club.

:lol::lol::lol:

What do you think made manly bankrupt, manly saved the arl, if they had of gone to superleague the arl would of died, fast.

Spud

I remember Arko calling Manly the jewel in the crown of the ARL around that time. So yeah I think Manly was his first prioritiy

jack coburn

of course manly was his priority WHEN THE WAR STARTED but pre superleague the job they were doing was better than ever before or since,once the war started every ceo was looking after their club.the undeniable facts are that had they still been in charge we would have a healthy national comp and not in the situation we are in now.

Sounds distinctly like RR's interest is bitter whinging based on bullsh!t first and rugby league second.

TheBourbonBeast

Jeez some Sydney nuffies have no-idea........Why not bring back Dally Messenger? Winston Churchill??

All these empty stadiums are really having an affect on you guys brains down there. Must be the echo or something.

Yeah sure lets the cut the wages of the players by 3 fold, and each club start holding chook raffles for survival.

Amateur hour is over.

nqboy

the undeniable facts are that had they still been in charge we would have a healthy national comp and not in the situation we are in now.
They were in charge when they sold RL down the river to Kerry Packer and then decided to stay with him out of misguided loyalty.

If the ARL had been the leaders you claim they would have found a way of working a deal with News that wouldn't have seen us splintering in the way we did. AFL managed it when News came sniffing so why didn't we?

Big Mick

If Super League was actually embraced rather than totally ridiculed because of ARL self-interest, then players would be getting paid what they think they deserve to be paid, we'd have a national competition and players wouldn't be going to the ESL where they did embrace Super League and competition is now thriving and expanding.

Arko is probably a bit past it and Quayle wouldn't want a bar of it even if he was asked. He's got a job that takes him all over the world and yet is probably less stressful so why would he want to come back and put up with all the sh*t that ARL/NRL CEO would bring.

But the essence of the idea is right. We NEED people who care about the game running it. Obviously they have to be capable. But I'd probably still rather someone with half a clue and heaps of enthusiasm and love for the game over a News Ltd lackey who couldn't give a sh*t, no matter how brilliant his business skills are supposed to be.

Big Mick

Problem is there are too many idiots running the game. They all want to have the attitude of being reactive rather than proactive. Thats the difference.

Geoff Baldwin who runs the WARL is an outsider and away from the ARL/NRL/ NSWRL politics. A very succesful businessman and a RL diehard. Dout he would want to leave his business interests or our beautiful city but the NRL could do alot worse.

GeoffBaldwin.jpg

Geoff Baldwin began his career in business after 12 years in the Australian Army where he attained the rank of sergeant at 6 Battalion Royal Australian Regt, in Brisbane. He served his last five years in the elite S.A.S. Regiment in Perth, until 1986 when he elected discharge after being medically downgraded due to serious injury.
After a highly successful career in the real estate industry, Geoff Baldwin now holds the position of CEO with a Information Technology company. He is the Chairman of the Salvation Army Red Shield Neighborhood Appeal and a director on several other prominent boards. Geoff personally owns businesses specialising in real estate, property development, marketing and Information Technology.
Along with his passion for our game and through his vast experience in many areas of life and business Geoff Baldwin brings valuable input, direction and knowledge to the WA Rugby League in the position he has filled as WARL Chairman since 1999.

If Super League was actually embraced rather than totally ridiculed because of ARL self-interest, then players would be getting paid what they think they deserve to be paid, we'd have a national competition and players wouldn't be going to the ESL where they did embrace Super League and competition is now thriving and expanding.
Why should the ARL have "embraced" SL? They had a deal with Optus. In hindsight it might have been better if they'd done a deal with Fox instead. But it's easy to say that now. Who knew it was going to transpire the way it did. It was totally unprecendented. SL didn't just want to get the TV rights too, it wanted to totally change the game and was willing to go to just about any lengths to do so. The ARL was doing a good job in the early '90s, despite what some say, far better than the dickheads running the game now are doing.

Even in England the only thing SL did that really worked was moving to summer. All the added bullsh*t like stupid team names and gay jerseys didn't cut it there. They started clubs like Paris and Gateshead which both folded and a heap of the clubs they promoted to SL went broke or couldn't compete. It's taken English football a decade to get rid of all the rubbish News brought with it. It's now pretty much back to the way it was except they play in summer and the comp is called SL instead of the first division.

Nonsense, SL in the UK changed the face of the game in that country. Before SL, RL was pretty much unheard of outside the M62 corridor. Since it there are now amateur clubs, schools and universities playing the game all over the country. It modernised it beyond recognition and the crowds have responded accordingly. Take a look at the crowds pre and post Sl if you think the "stupid names" haven't made a difference.

What we are seeing this year is phase 2 of SL which has probably taken a lot longer than it should. A League with the best teams competing in modern stadia that have to prove they are contributing to the strenghening of the game to keep a place. This is a massive change for the clubs in the UK.

Nonsense, SL in the UK changed the face of the game in that country. Before SL, RL was pretty much unheard of outside the M62 corridor. Since it there are now amateur clubs, schools and universities playing the game all over the country. It modernised it beyond recognition and the crowds have responded accordingly. Take a look at the crowds pre and post Sl if you think the "stupid names" haven't made a difference.

What we are seeing this year is phase 2 of SL which has probably taken a lot longer than it should. A League with the best teams competing in modern stadia that have to prove they are contributing to the strenghening of the game to keep a place. This is a massive change for the clubs in the UK.
Rugby league was shown on BBC with Test matches getting 70,000 to Wembley before SL. How the hell is it better off now in terms of exposure? Now they can't get 30,000 to a Test and the game is not on terrestrial TV. The profile of the game has diminished if anything. I'd say the game has grown outside the heartlands in spite of SL not because of it.

In any case your club was one of the ones that stabbed the ARL in the back and went to SL after the ARL gave it a start. Ask John Quayle about that.