Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brooks

stryker

Have you watched them play recently ? I haven't seen Cleary play a good game in a while and I've seen Brooks play some good games.

This is reflected in the Dally M's this season as well.
I have. Nathan has been tapering for the finals after ensuring his team got there through consistant season long form. Brooks is having a go when it is almost too late. His inability to lift the side through the mid season stretch is his consistency.

stryker

Whys that? Brooks has proven he can play good footy with the right players around him
Not consistently. He has played in teams with internationals before and was aweful. He has played in teams with his best mates and delivered bugger all.

gitano

Okay now you're trolling lol. No dragons fan would be happy with mcawful
A coach is what takes you to games.

You guys could have Alex Ferguson, Vince Lombardi and Craig Bellamy on the staff and still run ninth. Can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.

The Rosco

You guys could have Alex Ferguson, Vince Lombardi and Craig Bellamy on the staff and still run ninth. Can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.
What's that choking sound ?
And you can have Mary and Doust and have all the joy you have right now.
You can't make a purse blah blah, but you can name a day about groundhogs. Then make a movie about it. A movie that just has the same stuff happen over and over again. You know, like a footy team promising everything but woefully dropping their skirts when it counted. Again.
Gimme a C.
Gimme a H
lol. I cbf to look up your thread about who the dragons are playing in the GF. What's the consensus ?
On the subject of your gun halfback, I had a mate that always laughed when I called him a Hunt, coz Hunts are useful, he'd say.
After watching Ben play, he don't say that no more.

gitano

What's that choking sound ?
And you can have Mary and Doust and have all the joy you have right now.
You can't make a purse blah blah, but you can name a day about groundhogs. Then make a movie about it. A movie that just has the same stuff happen over and over again. You know, like a footy team promising everything but woefully dropping their skirts when it counted. Again.
Gimme a C.
Gimme a H
lol. I cbf to look up your thread about who the dragons are playing in the GF. What's the consensus ?
On the subject of your gun halfback, I had a mate that always laughed when I called him a Hunt, coz Hunts are useful, he'd say.
After watching Ben play, he don't say that no more.
Good yarn. Still smarting from 2010 I see. Our last title. Knocked yas out. A decade or so after your last title. Oh dear

Das Hassler

Last title?....actually only title ( you are a merger right?). ...5 years after our's in fact
Just to mention..10 years is generally considered a decade...not 5...5 years is known as a choke

Russell Coight

Ok. Hopefully you show up after the game on Saturday night

I have. Nathan has been tapering for the finals after ensuring his team got there through consistant season long form. Brooks is having a go when it is almost too late. His inability to lift the side through the mid season stretch is his consistency.

So Cleary who hasn't been playing well is really just tapering at the right time whereas Brooks doesn't have the ability to win tough games for us despite playing a lot better than Cleary over the course of the year.

I'm not buying that line.

Russell Coight

So Cleary who hasn't been playing well is really just tapering at the right time whereas Brooks doesn't have the ability to win tough games for us despite playing a lot better than Cleary over the course of the year.

I'm not buying that line.

I'm guessing brooksy brushed him at a fan day or something

Shredder

05, you kinda lose a little cred by saying Cleary hasnt been playing well man.

You cant be derogatory of everyone.

05, you kinda lose a little cred by saying Cleary hasnt been playing well man.

You cant be derogatory of everyone.

I'm not being derogatory towards heaps of players. Brooks has been great. It's just that Brooks has been performing a lot better than Cleary this year and trying to state that the reason is Cleary is saving himself for the finals doesn't add up to me.

I like Cleary as a player but he has the potential to be a Blair type signing for us and screw us over. Marquee players should be marquee players. At this point in my opinion Cleary is not at that level.

Remember 05,

Brooks is 23, 24 in December. Cleary is only 20, 21 in November. He missed some weeks earlier in the year and came back to play in 3 of the biggest games on the rugby league calendar and came out the other side intact. Didn't set the world on fire but he wasn't expected to. The kid can only get better, I hope Brooks gets better, time will tell.

Shredder

Every top shelf player has the potential to be a pot plant.

As another poster mentioned, where we are and with our history, at the moment, we have to pay overs to entice players to our club, or sign longer contracts for them. Thats just reality.

I remember in 05, Gordon Tallis was asked about what he was going to do and he specifically said "well I wont be going to Wests."

The reality is that we are in the bottom half of clubs and have been for some time. And thats going to take some time to change. Having said that, to do it, we also have to take some risks.

Ivan brought in a stack of new players this year and more than half worked out, thats a pretty good result. We also have better defence and we are nudging the finals. I respect what he is putting together here and I can continue to support it.

Additionally, I just dont get the hate for Matulino and Packer. Yeah they have been off their best, but I have more confidence in our front row now than I ever have had before. Not all of their work is seen in stats.

Remember 05,

Brooks is 23, 24 in December. Cleary is only 20, 21 in November. He missed some weeks earlier in the year and came back to play in 3 of the biggest games on the rugby league calendar and came out the other side intact. Didn't set the world on fire but he wasn't expected to. The kid can only get better, I hope Brooks gets better, time will tell.

I basically agree. Cleary may turn into a gun player. When you say he can only get better I'm not so sure. He might. He might not. He is already a very good player but maybe this is as good as he gets.

At this point I think Brooks is playing better than Cleary and I wouldn't let Brooks go to get Cleary.

Das Hassler

Every top shelf player has the potential to be a pot plant.

As another poster mentioned, where we are and with our history, at the moment, we have to pay overs to entice players to our club, or sign longer contracts for them. Thats just reality.

I remember in 05, Gordon Tallis was asked about what he was going to do and he specifically said "well I wont be going to Wests."

The reality is that we are in the bottom half of clubs and have been for some time. And thats going to take some time to change. Having said that, to do it, we also have to take some risks.

Ivan brought in a stack of new players this year and more than half worked out, thats a pretty good result. We also have better defence and we are nudging the finals. I respect what he is putting together here and I can continue to support it.

Additionally, I just dont get the hate for Matulino and Packer. Yeah they have been off their best, but I have more confidence in our front row now than I ever have had before. Not all of their work is seen in stats.

As considered and reasonable overview as I've read.

That point about our front row is a good one. I don't think our front row has been great but I reckon it's been better than last year. We are definitely a better team this year than last year.

Das Hassler

Remember 05,

To be fair. .Nathan has lived with a first grade coach since he was in primary school..Brooks has played under 3 coaches in a ( untill now....mostly) chaotic club and lives with Moses so you may want to cut him some slack..talk about an underprivileged background!

gordsy

At the end of the day it doesn't matter which way we go, if Benji is the best halves partner we have then we will struggle to do much then a token finals berth in 2019. We need to recruit, retain and develop far better than we have in the past 5 years.