OT, what are you saying here?
You will cease to support the dragons whilst ever Flanno is coach?
So you’ll stop watching NRL altogether?
Or you’ll watch but you’ll hope for failure?
I reckon the only way I could stop “going for” dragons would be to stop watching NRL altogether.
I admire your values, OT. In fact I share them. Obviously we grew up in an era when parents regarded inculcating excellent values in their kids as one of their most important parental roles.
However where I differ from you is that because I hold the whole operation of the NRL in contempt I argue that if I am to remain a Dragons' fan, my ethical framework just can't be applied. There are just so many ways that the NRL fails to respect my values. The lack of consistency in their treatment of different players and clubs, their adjusting the rules mid-season (do you remember the sudden crackdown on high tackles? Poor Rava!) their pandering to the TV networks in contempt of the devoted and lifelong fans (Friday, 6pm any takers? Anyone miss watching the three grades at the same venue on a Saturday or Sunday arvo?), the embedding of betting into the game, the increasing frequency of broken contracts including coaches, most notably Ricky Stuart and Ivan "get on the bus with me" Cleary, player off-field behaviour such as drug taking or lack of respect for women. I am sure you can add other examples.
In this environment I say I have a choice: take a step back from my values and maintain my almost six decades of attachment to the Dragons or reject the world of the NRL for good. This season especially has tested that attachment, but for the moment I am sticking with the first choice outlined.
On a lighter note, I have taken the drastic step of travelling to the UK to avoid having to watch another Dragons' loss this season. But in a town just out of Edinburgh today I discovered a pub named The Four Marys. For the Dragons, of course, one Mary was one too many!
My interest in RL has and will always be with the Big Rev V at the very heart of it.
My moral compass says that I can't agree with the decision of the club to employ someone in a most senior position when I perceive that person is damaged goods notwithstanding that I can forgive actions if people show remorse / contrition so hope springs eternal that truth and accountability again stand for something.
I wouldn't cop deceit from from my kids when they were growing up (still won't and they are now well into their 40's) so why would I be willing to cop it from a footy code, footy team, footy coach?
So after the end of this season I will have little more than a passing interest in the game itself as I will not be purposefully following the fortunes of the club I have followed for > 60 years.
I wish the club no harm nor will I be buoyed by any success that comes its way and if asked why after all these years my interest has fallen of a cliff I will simply say that I decided to cast my vote in an affirmative way.
TBH I have watched us become the putana of the RL world being constantly f**ked by one and all and us the loyal supporters being f**ked over by the club itself time and time again and this just puts the icing on a very moldy and rotten piece of fruit cake that is left over from a most inconvenient marriage.
I more than anyone else hope that it turns around and I can come back in and talk about my team.