Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bulldogs fullback Ben Barba stood down indefinitely

Packy

I like the part where it says that all he wants is to be a good father to his kids... Then goes onto say that he never spent any time with his family, and was out drinking and partying all the time and living the high life while mum was stuck at home with the babies.

Just SCREAMS "family man", doesn't it...

I think you might find that until recently he was pretty much with his family most of the time. Since he and his wooz has dramas is when it kicked in.

Danish

According to that article he spent all his time with "football commitments" and his GF was left at home with the kids all the time.

And yes he spent the last 3 months or more on a giant bender with a group of f**kwit mates ater the break up while still living in a house with his young kids. Another sure sign of a great and commited father right there.

The guy sounds like a world class dickhead. It will be very interesting to see what additional details come to the surface about his antics in the coming weeks. If he just had a bit of a drinking and gambling problem why were the club thinking about sacking him?

no name

According to that article he spent all his time with "football commitments" and his GF was left at home with the kids all the time.

And yes he spent the last 3 months or more on a giant bender with a group of f**kwit mates ater the break up while still living in a house with his young kids. Another sure sign of a great and commited father right there.

The guy sounds like a world class dickhead. It will be very interesting to see what additional details come to the surface about his antics in the coming weeks. If he just had a bit of a drinking and gambling problem why were the club thinking about sacking him?

Because somebody, finally, thought of the children?
helen-lovejoy-pic.jpg

Peter_phelps

I am willing to say Bye Bye Barba from now, I don't think he will be back. This story has Mundine stink all over it, and is deja vu from 2008. Looks like "the man", has an urge to destroy any talent that comes out of Belmore. Saw the Mundine article in the paper this morning and cringed, how can he say "the club did it to make themselves look better"..I wish clubs would start prioritizing players well being and their families. This is a great thing to see, and wish I saw more of it, A number of players will have an issue with gambling an alcohol, would be great to see some other clubs show initiative to get these players on the right track.

This probably explains why Greenburg was desperately trying to get Folau at Belmore this season.

Fire

The community has heaps of resources for people with drinking and gambling problems.

Why should the club have to provide these.

They employ people to play footy, not to run their lives.

If I was acting like a f**k stick, my employer would tell me to grow up. If I didn't, they would fire me.

Peter_phelps

The community has heaps of resources for people with drinking and gambling problems.

Why should the club have to provide these.

They employ people to play footy, not to run their lives.

If I was acting like a f**k stick, my employer would tell me to grow up. If I didn't, they would fire me.

explain to me the part how you say "run their lives"? Ben has requested help, and is getting it. Its through Ben's own initiative of understanding he needs help, and has asked the club for it. Unless I have missed something?

If Ben continues on this road, after the club has helped him out, then the club would have every right to tell him and his Mundine crew were to go, but if Ben wants to make a change and requested their assistance in doing so then, like Greenburg said there not going to throw him on the street.

Fire

explain to me the part how you say "run their lives"? Ben has requested help, and is getting it. Its through Ben's own initiative of understanding he needs help, and has asked the club for it. Unless I have missed something?

If Ben continues on this road, after the club has helped him out, then the club would have every right to tell him and his Mundine crew were to go, but if Ben wants to make a change and requested their assistance in doing so then, like Greenburg said there not going to throw him on the street.

I didn't know that.

I've said it above. I don't wish Ben any ill will, but I care about his problems as much as he cares about mine.

Don't read Aussie papers unless someone posts a link on here and Mundine is a dumb merkin.

Seems to me that the real mental health issue Ben Barba has falls into Axis II of the DSM.

Looks to be more personality disordered than depressed.

butchmcdick

Mike Coleman had a column on Barba in today's Sunday Mail

I can't seem to find a link to it but it certainly is a good read

butchmcdick

Seems to me that the real mental health issue Ben Barba has falls into Axis II of the DSM.

Looks to be more personality disordered than depressed.

He broke up with his missus and has been on a bender since

Who here hasn't done something similar

Danish

f**king hell it hasn't even been remotely confirmed that he has mental health issues. It's just pure speculation.

The only confirmed facts are that he split up with his missus, has spent the off season getting pissed with a group of tremendous dickheads (which the club claims they were aware of but could not step in as he wasnt technically breakimg any rules in the process), and then after a particularly massive bender tried to get back into his estranged girlfriend's house and there was some sort of incident based around this act that seriously breached the club's code of practice. This led them to consider sacking him but instead they have chosen to try and straighten him out instead.

Any claims of mental health issues, let alone attempting to diagnose specific problems, is just media hearsay

Spot On

f**king hell it hasn't even been remotely confirmed that he has mental health issues. It's just pure speculation.

The only confirmed facts are that he split up with his missus, has spent the off season getting pissed with a group of tremendous dickheads (which the club claims they were aware of but could not step in as he wasnt technically breakimg any rules in the process), and then after a particularly massive bender tried to get back into his estranged girlfriend's house and there was some sort of incident based around this act that seriously breached the club's code of practice. This led them to consider sacking him but instead they have chosen to try and straighten him out instead.

Any claims of mental health issues, let alone attempting to diagnose specific problems, is just media hearsay

I haven't read all the literature in the papers and so on but wasn't it Todd Greenberg that applied that tag?

Canard

I haven't read all the literature in the papers and so on but wasn't it Todd Greenberg that applied that tag?

Not specifically, no.

Add fit the "Tatt" didn't he tweet or FB in a joke tube that he would get one, rather than actually has one

Spot On

So has it been assumed that he has mental health issues??? Or has someone, speaking for Barba (or Barba himself), stated he has a mental health issue. Has a doctor diagnosed him with depression?

If someone's relationship ends, beers are consumed, money is punted through pokies etc do we now assume that these behaviours are due to mental health issues???