Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bulldogs fullback Ben Barba stood down indefinitely

firechild

If someone's relationship ends, beers are consumed, money is punted through pokies etc do we now assume that these behaviours are due to mental health issues???

Pretty much. If you have dramas and you're a kid you have ADD or ADHD, if you're an adult, you have depression or some other mental illness.

They never taught me being a fckwit was a category of mental illness in my psychiatric nurse training, times must have changed.

Hooch

Everything is a mental illness these days. It's an industry based on snake oil and pseudoscience which has spiraled out of control.

Btw Greenberg specifically said 'Ben Barba is ill' in the press.

I don't think he meant the flu.

Ultimately I think they will regret it as this episode and subsequent prolonged treatment will shatter his confidence.

Danish

He could have been referring to bim being addicted to gambling or booze just as much as anything else when Greenburg said that.

He was deliberately vague about the whole thing, purposely giving away as little detail as possible so that the media could jump to their own conclusions.

Didgi

He could have been referring to bim being addicted to gambling or booze just as much as anything else when Greenburg said that.

He was deliberately vague about the whole thing, purposely giving away as little detail as possible so that the media could jump to their own conclusions.

Or so that the media wouldn't be able to inspect every little part of his life, and have his issues spread across the papers. But if your agenda against Greenberg says otherwise...

nqcowboy87

i think the press being the press has turned greenbergs ill stateent which probably meant that he was in an unfit headspace for rugby league into something more. ive had a couple of really horrible breakups and i didnt feel like coming out of my house for like a week, didnt mean i was mentally ill.

dogslife

According to that article he spent all his time with "football commitments" and his GF was left at home with the kids all the time.

And yes he spent the last 3 months or more on a giant bender with a group of f**kwit mates ater the break up while still living in a house with his young kids. Another sure sign of a great and commited father right there.

The guy sounds like a world class dickhead. It will be very interesting to see what additional details come to the surface about his antics in the coming weeks. If he just had a bit of a drinking and gambling problem why were the club thinking about sacking him?
Yeah what an arsehole, going to the club asking for help, admitting he's f**king up his life, getting time away from the game to sort his shit out!

If we're talking world class dickheads, look no further than the Rooster's marquee signing for 2013

dogslife

It's surprising the number of people on these forums who feel they're the next Sigmund Freud

you think he has an oedipus complex? Freud put most things down to that.

I am sure he has issues he needs to find better ways of coping with but fed up with the way "mental health" is used as an excuse by people who make sh1t decisions in life and then try and party them away before screwing up and claiming mental illness made them do it. I don't know the guy and have no idea what is going on with him but when you see the "Epic Bender Crew" BS it hardly makes you think serious mental illness being dealt with through self addiction and harm.

Hooch

Was it a punishment or a mercy?

No one seems to know!

I doubt Greenberg knows.

Either Greenberg has totally overcooked it and Barba will be back within a few weeks of the season starting, or Barba crossed some sort of line that is being kept very hush hush.

I suspect the former. Toddy's been watching a bit too much Ellen and doesn't know where he's headed with this.

Fire

Dear Ben,

Please get your shit together. A lot of people think you're an awesome footy player and love watching you.

Regards,
Fire.

Peter_phelps

I think the bigger issue is getting the rubbish around him, far away from Ben.

Unfortunately Mundine will see Ben as an easier target than Williams. As soon as Ben started posting pictures of him and Mundine together, and it became clear that they were hanging out. It became an obvious representation that this was to come...

GB!

mundine doesn't drink or smoke, far better to be hanging out with choc that the EBC don't you think?

gronkathon

Nice to see the Telecrap respecting the mother of his kids request for privacy for all while this is being sorted, every day a new Barba headline

Peter_phelps

Well, the only thing I can fault the dogs for is, they should have given Barba a month of counselling, if he doesn't step it up after that on his own accord, then wave the wand. Don't see why he should be missing for months, whilst getting paid. He stuffed his own life around, show him a bit of the tough love as well. Don't know why Greenburg would punish the fans and team so close to the start of the season, perhaps Benny had a mouthful at Greenburg, and his egocentric business agenda got offended?

BunniesMan

I think the bigger issue is getting the rubbish around him, far away from Ben.

Unfortunately Mundine will see Ben as an easier target than Williams. As soon as Ben started posting pictures of him and Mundine together, and it became clear that they were hanging out. It became an obvious representation that this was to come...
Yeh because the biggest problem people who can't handle the drink have is when they hang out with people that don't drink....

Wally in trouble? http://m.sportal.com.au/default.aspx?s=league-opiniondisplay&aid=224473&j=

Barba set to sue over false claim

Ben Barba’s minders are looking into the possibility of taking legal action against one of the game’s biggest names of modern times. Only minutes after it was announced that the Bulldogs had stood Barba down, the former international went on commercial TV and breathlessly declared that Barba had been suspended for domestic violence – a claim his former partner Ainslie Currie has strongly denied. The lawyers are already rubbing their hands in anticipation of a big damages claim.

Scott

I reckon it will end up being settled out of court, but Wally stands to lose a bit i'd say.