Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Can RL take over from RU in NZ?

ozbash

the NZRL need to be run more professionally as well, they are a joke.

thats about the only thing you have got right Dally.

TK is spot on, you dont need to be a rocket scientist to work out that S14/All Blacks and to some degree, the old Air NZ Cup, are the most viewed sporting code here.

You dont need stats, its a fact.

shiznit

ive watched next to no rugby union since the NRL started this season.....ive just had overkill from rugby.

i will get back into the rugby when the boys in all black get back out on the pitch... at the moment the NRL is more exciting.

Te Kaha is right though.... while the RU's figures have been going down its not just RU. Cricket is struggling itself... the NRL has been switched to SKYSPORT 2 & 3. and even then... we used to get ALL the nrl games live... now we miss out on 2 or 3 live.

then you have the FTA rights for the NRL... the majority of the warriors games kick off around midnight on a sunday night... thats nothing to do with politcs just that people would rather watch 80's movies instead of watch the footy...

bloody pisses me off but sadly the majority rules.

as for the main question... i dont think it ever could take over from Rugby Union... RU in this country is going through a tough time at the moment.... theres no doubt about that... but they have the power of the all black brand behind them where they can play extra tests in europe where they pick up a million dollars per match.

the NZRL is a deadset basketcase who sadly rely solely on getting a midyear hiding by the roos to get a good $250,000.

Te Kaha

Te Kaha, I dont know the first thing about NZ ratings, but I can tell you that basing somethings ratings on what channel is shown is flawed - case in point the NRL in Australia.
Up until 2 years ago the NRL was shown on fox sports 1, but then in 2007 was moved to a new channel which was not available to all subscribers (fox sports 3) despite having 19 of the top 20 rating shows from 2006. Why do you think they did this? To increase subscriptions - they moved their star player to a new channel in an effort to increase the amount of people who would upgrade their subscription service. If they moved any other sport or show they knew that they wouldn't get as many people upgrading.
This is true, the difference being that the NRL has always been a big ratings winner in Aus, not so in NZ. Also moving from a channel available on UHF relatively cheaply to one that is only available on digital with a large start up cost, even more so when the audience is mainly working class on lower incomes, is not a good marketing tool.
Another point against your argument is politics. A case in point for this example is the Melbourne Storm. When televised live in Melbourne the Storm out-rated 2nd string movies/old sitcoms, but due to the AFL having such a strong influence on the media in Melbourne the sport is only ever televised at a reasonable hour when it's the finals, despite the success it's had when given an opportunity, yet the people of Melbourne are continually subjected to the 2nd rate movies/old sitcoms because someone high up is obviously abusing their power for personal preferences.
Doubtful that is the case in NZ. Its possible but the hold that Rugby has is not that great.
ive pmed someone to give me the link
when i get it, ill show you the difference between arguments based on fact and blind guesses
Sure you will... more make believe.
Where are you getting your figures from out of interest?
Last years SKY annual report. The household figures would have gone up a little i would think.
The NRL has always been on SS2 whilst the super14 is on hasn't it? This is very simply down to the fact that there is more NZ involvement in the S14 and so it takes preference.
While the Super 12/14 was on yes. In previous years tho, if there was no Rugby it was on Sky Sport one. not so this year.
It is a similar scenario with the netball as well I reckon. They put that on ss1 because it is a true trans-tasman competition, so there is more NZ interest. This is a pretty stupid reason though, because I remember reading in the paper that the ratings for the opening round of the netball averaged 29,000...
Sky put a lot of money into it, they must be hoping for some sort or return.
There is some pretty disgraceful programming that goes on though. I think super14 even gets put on ss1 over the international cricket. This will probably change if the super14 continues to get poor ratings...
Depends on your definition of bad ratings... if it still rates higher than what they would replace it with then why pull it?
the numbers i read for the NRL in NZ were around the 160,000 - 180,000 mark on Sky, and that they beat some S14 games at the same time
Well yay...lets see the link
Of course not. It's a collective term, not a personal jibe.
right...

thats about the only thing you have got right Dally.

TK is spot on, you dont need to be a rocket scientist to work out that S14/All Blacks and to some degree, the old Air NZ Cup, are the most viewed sporting code here.

You dont need stats, its a fact.

nope didnt say that at all.

go back and read the thread again and show me where i said it happens regularly.

Te Kaha

From Sky TV's annual report 2007...
http://www.skytv.co.nz/portals/0/data/files/miscellaneous/SKY019_AR-07_Final.pdf
A few points
- " 45% of households now have SKY"
from the CEO
[FONT=@Arial Unicode MS]- "[/FONT]There is no doubt that television ratings fell for rugby this year. There are numerous reasons for this. By far the greatest impact on the Super 14 was the lack of some key All Black players during the first seven weeks of the season. Because this is a World Cup year for rugby, the rugby season started in early February, four weeks earlier than normal, which placed it in competition with a successful cricket season. Historically we have always had trouble in maximising viewer interest when codes play matches outside their traditional New Zealand seasons. This is true for cricket played in the northern
hemisphere in June or rugby in November."
- "Rugby is still an important icon for SKY in spite of the drop in ratings. This past February was one of the strongest in our history with respect to net gain in subscribers. We can attribute this to the early start of the rugby season. We are also seeing a change in how people
watch rugby with social schedules being rearranged less frequently for a 7:35pm kick off. Instead, some are electing to view the Friday game later that night or even
on a Saturday morning as part of a replay"
Drop in subscribers of sport only
- Subs by Tier 2007 2006
UHF:
Sport + Movies 52% 54%
Sport only 47% 44%
Other 1% 2%
Satellite:
Start up + Movies + Sport 43% 47%
Start up + Sport 33% 33%
Start up + Movies 11% 8%
Other 13% 12%
On Prime (SKY FTA)
- "The highest rating shows on Prime during 2007 were Tri Nations Rugby and "Top Gear".

Te Kaha

http://www.stuff.co.nz/4178710a1823.html

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/sport/nrl/story/0,26799,22252632-5006066,00.html

According to AGB Neilsen Media, 117,600 people watched the rugby at 5.30pm. Kicking off at 7.30pm, the league then scored a knockout-win with 182,200 viewers.

The astonishing victory for league has left sports experts aghahst

hmmm, those league ratings look very healthy indeed.

You were aware that that article does not say the NRL out rated ANY super 14 game didnt you???? you made that claim and have proved yourself completly wrong... It out rated the NPC, without ANY current All Blacks, 3 weeks before the start of the World cup...

Te Kaha

the numbers i read for the NRL in NZ were around the 160,000 - 180,000 mark on Sky, and that they beat some S14 games at the same time

ahhhh here it is... the post where you made a claim that, with your own proof is ohhhh so clearly wrong.... Do you have any more proof? And any proof the figures are still this strong since it moved off the UHF and main Sports channal?

Thomas

No. He's been proven wrong and will avoid this thread like the plague.

Either that or it will turn into a 14 page thread where he ends up actually arguing against his initial point of view.

You aren't exactly dealing with an intellectual heavyweight here.

Don't forget that even though Dally isn't living in NZ and possibly hasn't even been there...he knows way more than all your NZers put together because he read something on the internet about New Zealand once.

XIII

Mate this is daft. Kiwis love union as much as Aussies love footy. Nothing will change in either country.

jamesgould

You ask for a link then say "from what i have heard"???? There are no links the Legaue ratings arent published anywhere. The FACT is League has been taken off the main SKY tv sports channel, the ONLY free to air game is on late night. If ratings were that good why would SKY do that???

It is obviously to get people to spend the money to upgrade to the digital platform and the sports package. The same thing happened with league in Australia, through Foxsports in 2007 (not sure of the specifics, but there was a bit of an outcry last year).

There is no other reason that the NRL would otherwise not be on Sky Sports 1 on Monday night, for instance, as well as other times it does not clash with any other live sport (union).

jamesgould

Can you not read????? its on SKY SPORTS 2... only available to Digital subscribers... which is about 60% of 45% of the popluation or just over quarter of the population. and only the warriors are on FTA played very late at night.

The Warriors are played free to air on a Sky-owned channel. Why would Sky give away live or less-delayed free coverage of something people pay to watch? It is also worth noting that there are two NRL matches on Prime each week, the Warriors match and one other.

Who will fund it? the mythical belgium based English billionare? if its based in Wellington, how will they get good crowd figures when no games can be played at night?

Generally crowds are bigger when game are played at day - the Warriors play a large percentage of their at day. Never understood why we play night union and league in NZ, especially during winter. I used to live in Dunedin, and I'd have loved to have gone to more games, but there was no worse thought than heading out at 7:30 to stand around shivering for two hours.

Anyway, why can't they play during night? If it is scheduling then there is no problem, but I assume from what you say that there must be some sort of restriction on the amount of night games at the Stadium, coz of those whingers living nearby haha.

jamesgould

So thats a no, you have no idea how the ratings are... mine is supposition based on the fact that League coverage is dimishing.. something they wouldn't do if ratings were good.

What evidence do you have that they are going well?

I should have replied to these all in one post, but there is more league on Sky this year than ever before ... :-k

jamesgould

not live league.

Including the Toyota Cup, I think there would be. The two Friday night games were always 50-50 as to whether both were on live, Saturday was always one game delayed, so Sunday is the only day we've lost a regular live game from (although I think both games have been on live once or twice this season, haven't they? Don't quote me on that though haha).

Oh, and I have no idea what goes on with any Superleague, either.

NK Arsenal

roopy

I copied this thread into TFC.
I thought of moving it, but i think we can keep it sensible here and let anyone who just wants to haver go to the identical thread in TFC.