Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Canberra Raiders - crap town, moron fans, pooch rooter culture

hutty, you know that any dragons fan in canberra plays a very similar path to matt damon in good will hunting...

you just need to get out of the quagmire that surrounds you :)

bugger... double post.....

oh well, here's something to keep you amused....

chick_dance.gif

man, i could really go a kingsley's chicken burger rite about now..

macavity

yep.. know exactly what you mean... when i go back and speak to people i went to school with, the conversation goes something like this..

me: "so what are you doing these days?"
dilbert (puffing out chest): "i work for the attourney general's department"
me: "good for you. is he a nice person"
dilbert" oh, i've never met him"
me: "so what do you actually do there?"
dilbert: "oh, i'm heavily involved in policy"
me: "so you write the policy?"
dilbert: "no"
me: "do you assist in writing the policy?"
me: "do you help to implement the policy?"
me: "so what exactly do you do with the policy?"
dilbert: "i help to type up what people say needs typing and help to answer letters"
me: "oh, so you're just a clerk then?"
dilbert: "no.. well, yes.. but i'm nearly an APS 4!"

canberra.. a sad place... when i got back there i see the same people, doing the same things and nothing really changed..

Funny 'cause it's true.

It isn't exactly limited to Canberra, either.

Makes me want to pull my hair out.... often.

CMUX

There is nothing remotely liveable about Dapto or the Southern end of the Gong. Now I don't wish to speak ill of salt of the earth people from Dapto, some of whom can actually write their own names (which they learnt to do in prison whilst taking classes on ripping off the social) - but you might want to re-think that past statement.

Unless you love dog racing. Dapto's definately got that in spades over Canberra.

Plus Dapto has the road out of Dapto and that's something that Canberra will never have. So it's all plusses from where I am sitting (obviously miles away).

Nothing wrong with the greyhounds. We even got it twice a week at one stage when the equine flu was around.

Yes we do have a road out, we also have electricity and running water! The road out is good, although if you go south it takes you to Albion Park and us Daptoids don’t associate with those cretins!

Dapto better than Canberra. You're havin a laff.

Dapto >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Canberra.

Kanahooka>>>>>>> Canberra

Koonawarra >> Canberra

Berkeley, Warrawong or Unanderra, would rival AP.

Or Warilla.

bileduct

canberra.. a sad place... when i got back there i see the same people, doing the same things and nothing really changed..
This is true. I worked at the Health Insurance Commission (now Medicare Australia) some 12 years ago and returned there to do some contract work recently and it's full of the same people doing the same jobs they were in back then.

skeepe

It may surprise you to learn that not everyone in Canberra works in the public service, and those of us that don't share to same view of those idiots as everyone else.

Shocking, I know.

Gippsy

Public Servant talking to a customer : "Well, we have a backlog at the moment and I'm about to go to lunch and tommorow I have a rostered day off. When I get to it I will need to send it to my supervisor who is on leave next month, and then it needs to go to a different department, so all going well, fingers crossed, we should be able to sign your form and send it back to you within 8 weeks".

Public Servant as a customer : "I want to speak to the manager. I had to wait at least 2 minutes for my skinny latte and it is obvious full cream milk has been used. And, look at little Winston's babycino. Clearly not frothy enough. This is totally unacceptable. I want my money back and compensation for wasting my time or you will be hearing from my solicitor".

It may surprise you to learn that not everyone in Canberra works in the public service, and those of us that don't share to same view of those idiots as everyone else.

Shocking, I know.

if you aren't in the public service in canberra, you're either in a trade or retail...

Von

and the other myth that makes me laugh: "Canberra is full of politicians".
150 (lower house) + 72 (upper house) = 222 pollies.

222 out of 400,000 people = 0.055%

(even then, the small amount of pollies are sent to Canberra from the rest of the country)

Raider Azz

and the other myth that makes me laugh: "Canberra is full of politicians".
150 (lower house) + 72 (upper house) = 222 pollies.

222 out of 400,000 people = 0.055%

(even then, the small amount of pollies are sent to Canberra from the rest of the country)
Not only that, but as soon as Parliament is over they jump on a plane and head back to where they live.

von - how does that compare to somewhere like sydney or melbourne?

btw.. you need to add in the local government in canberra too..

Raider Azz

Would you like to reproduce the quote where it was said that marijuana was legal in the ACT? You can't, because that's not "exactly what he said" at all.

The reality of the situation, however, is that ACT citizens are free to grow and use their own personal stash and face a penalty amounting to little more than a parking ticket in the event that the cops wish to impose a fine - which is almost never.

You said he was wrong about "all (his) facts". All would include his statement about pornos and pros, unless you actually meant "all" to mean only one of his "facts", as I'm unaware of anywhere in the ACT that sells liquor 24 hours.

You might want to review your use of the english language in future to avoid these little mishaps.

Raiders fans certainly make up the majority of the dimmest people posting here.
f**k me who cares? talk about nitpicking...

FTR i said "basically" all his facts. which means YOU need to review the english lanuage yourself champ ;)
but honestly who gives a sh*t? so you have perfect knowledge of the cannibis laws in the ACT. Congrats for you.

ah... the private sector in canberra...

let me guess, more than 50% of your business is govt?

supera

if anyone does find that 24 hour bottle shop in Canberra, please let me know!

Have lived here 3 years - love the footy team, actually like the weather more than 95% of the people here, i really, really like the leafy suburbs... but hate the public servant mindset, people's feeling of self importance, the worst drivers i've seen in Australia (i don't think they don't have the ability, i just think they're insular, and have that sense of self importance) and the massive over representation of public housing in areas where the people living a block away (and paying market rate rent) are paying 4 times as much as the public housing bums to live there.

Von

Muz, you must have lived in a different Canberra to the one I did. From memory, the Kingston bottleos closed at around 11/midnight, with Coles Liquor, Dan Murphys, etc having the same hours nationally.