Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Carl "The Kitten" Webb

1 Eyed TEZZA

uhhh.... did anyone actually see the fight? cos it doesnt sound like it. I was watching it at a mates place and loved every minute of it. Carl landed a ton of good ones in the first 2 rounds, just not the knock out blow he was looking for. They were both completely exhausted by the end of the 3rd round and stumbling around trying to muster enough energy to swing a punch, looked like two drunks trying to go toe to toe in the carpark at 5am. It was a matter of who could manage to stay on their feet the longest but then when Porter landed a couple near the end Charlie couldnt go any further.
I thoroughly enjoyed it and am happy to see Carl down to 108kgs, just goes to show that football fitness is worlds appart from boxing fitness.

Can you feel the love people?

Slackboy72

So what now for Carl?
Can't play footy. Can't fight.
Maybe he could be a bouncer? Or a shopping trolley monkey?

f***ing hilarious.

Hopefully this will mean that opponents won't believe all the 'he's a hard man' bullsh!t the media goes on with now. I'd love to see someone like FuiFui or Daine Laurie or even TLL step forward and knock the shyte out of him... obviously it ain't that hard to do.

Canard

Just like his Cowboys playing career, all talk no action.

I think Webb was sent to the Cowboys by Wayne Bennett as a ploy to weaken them from the inside and ensure they never compete with the Broncos dominance of QLD rugby league, and to ensure that they are wasting $400K of there salary cap on the lazy bastard.

beave

uhhh.... did anyone actually see the fight? cos it doesnt sound like it. I was watching it at a mates place and loved every minute of it. Carl landed a ton of good ones in the first 2 rounds, just not the knock out blow he was looking for. They were both completely exhausted by the end of the 3rd round and stumbling around trying to muster enough energy to swing a punch, looked like two drunks trying to go toe to toe in the carpark at 5am. It was a matter of who could manage to stay on their feet the longest but then when Porter landed a couple near the end Charlie couldnt go any further.
I thoroughly enjoyed it and am happy to see Carl down to 108kgs, just goes to show that football fitness is worlds appart from boxing fitness.

yeah well I would enjoy to see 2 chicks going toe to toe as well, doesn't mean it is good boxing though mate. Kudos for him for giving it a go and dropping his weight down, but deadset, for someone who has been playing football at an elite level for the last 9 years he died in the ass deluxe. Me thinks his days of living off the commentators claims of him being a 'golden gloves' (what the f#$k qualifies you as a golden gloves anyways???) are over. But at least he looks to have been steering wayward of the "golden arches" of late, hopefully he continues in at least doing that now and focus on his football.

Big Time

this is gonna hurt his preparation. he won't be able to intimidate people like he was. he will be hurting. whats the bet he tries to prove himself with the knuckle on the field in the first couple of rounds.

did he get knocked out, or just lose on points?

either way, f**king hilarious. The goose always liked to use his apparent boxing ability as a child as some sort of free pass to the tough club, but has been shown for what he really is, and thats nothing but a cheap shotting nancy.

They don't go down as easily when they aren't facing the other way, do they carl? :lol:

tko

Godz Illa

People used to bag out Mundine early in his career for fighting 35 year old forklift drivers... but at least he used to beat them

:lol: Gotta love the Webb bashing Charlie.

In truth - getting defeated by a pro boxer doesn't mean you are not a hard man. Webbs definitely a hard man - criticism should be directed at his lack of consistency on the field. I wouldn't like to tell Carl Webb to his face that he is soft. Unless I had Fui standing beside me :)

If I remember correctly, a big Webb hitup inspired the Cowpats to a win over us in 88 that put a big dent in our season.

this is gonna hurt his preparation. he won't be able to intimidate people like he was. he will be hurting. whats the bet he tries to prove himself with the knuckle on the field in the first couple of rounds.

Given his form last night, who do you reckon he'll step up against?

Preston Campbell? Jarrod Sammut? Chris Sandow?

In truth - getting defeated by a pro boxer doesn't mean you are not a hard man. Webbs definitely a hard man - criticism should be directed at his lack of consistency on the field. I wouldn't like to tell Carl Webb to his face that he is soft. Unless I had Fui standing beside me :)

4 fights with a 1 and 3 record hardly makes you a "pro".

Tommy Anderson

If I remember correctly, a big Webb hitup inspired the Cowpats to a win over us in 88 that put a big dent in our season.

Gee he has been around for 22 seasons, no wonder he is no good now lol.

dubby

Wow. You can smell the irony in here.

Do any of you recall Webb blowing his own trumpet?

No. It was the media doing that.

Webb has had about 8 weeks of boxing training to prepare for this fight. If any of you had any idea about boxing, you would know it takes alot more than 8 weeks to prepare for a bout, especially if you are a 110kg man not used to endurance. Boxing is bloody tough. Probably the most draining exercise known to man. Webb sure found that out.

The people here putting crap on Webb for having a go should chill out. He stood up, had a go and did his best. He learned more in that 3 rounds about boxing than you guys have by watching it all your life.

Some of the hits he landed in the early rounds would have knocked out most NRL players IMO. He hit hard, but old mate could take it.

The most ironic thing I find ATM is most of the lads laughing at Webb have probably been beaten up themselves. Memo: Laughing at Webbs loss does not atone for your own failures at fighting/lovemaking/manhood.

I stated that this knuckle dragging money was all talk, in a thread a few years ago.

The self proclaimed NQ "tough man" was at the Riverside tavern being a drunk asshole. he said something to a woman at the bar, her boyfriend (maybe 175cm and proportionate build) took exception. Webb pushed him and offered to take the smaller guy on, shaped up and proceeded to lead with his head. 4 punches later the fat rolled cowboy had his tail firmly between his rather large ass cheeks. would have thought he would have learned his lesson.

Tough man my ass, what a joke. Can he just toddle off to some far flung dark corner of the world now please.

Biggest myth in the NRL