Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Carney confides in Jason Smith! not looking good!

Interesting. Just heard on Win news that there are strong indications that Todd will re-sign with the Raiders by the end of the week, after turning down a number of lucrative offers from other clubs.

dolphinboy

Homer's Bowling Ball said:
Interesting. Just heard on Win news that there are strong indications that Todd will re-sign with the Raiders by the end of the week, after turning down a number of lucrative offers from other clubs.

As he should

Come on Todd they backed you, now you back the club :pray:

Chachi

Homer's Bowling Ball said:
Really? I missed the news tonight, but the Canberra Times indicated that a decision was coming in the next few days in accordance with the clubs request for him to decide before the season starts.

I'm still quietly confident, but certainly wouldn't be surprised if he went, given his track record of making great life choices. :(

Having said that I heard John McIntyre on the radio (ABC) this arvo having a whinge about other clubs coming in and making big dollar offers to our star juniors like Carney and Zillman. I had gathered from that interview that things weren't looking great.

At the end of the day we really need to target two or three key players and make sure they stay in green just for us to keep our credibilty. If that means paying overs for our own juniors for some time then that's the way it is (even though Todd is giving me the sh*ts with all this crap). The fact that Carney and Zilly are key position players makes even more sense. Now we just need a target a top quality young hooker so hopefully Flanagan gets a decent offer.

Chachi said:
Really? I missed the news tonight, but the Canberra Times indicated that a decision was coming in the next few days in accordance with the clubs request for him to decide before the season starts.

I'm still quietly confident, but certainly wouldn't be surprised if he went, given his track record of making great life choices. :(

Having said that I heard John McIntyre on the radio (ABC) this arvo having a whinge about other clubs coming in and making big dollar offers to our star juniors like Carney and Zillman. I had gathered from that interview that things weren't looking great.

At the end of the day we really need to target two or three key players and make sure they stay in green just for us to keep our credibilty. If that means paying overs for our own juniors for some time then that's the way it is (even though Todd is giving me the sh*ts with all this crap). The fact that Carney and Zilly are key position players makes even more sense. Now we just need a target a top quality young hooker so hopefully Flanagan gets a decent offer.

Dead set. It was just a short grab at the end of the sport report, but Phil Small said pretty much exactly what I wrote.

Bay56

Chachi said:

You've echoed my posts Chach ... 100% in total agreement ... imo it's not rocket science.

schnitzel

If we let the kid go what chance have we got of getting a player of half his ability to repace Carney? I reckon with our challenges we have to pay overs to get any half with rep ability, $400 K might sound a lot but who else could we realistically get for the same money? If Thurston was off contract we could offer him double that and he still wouldn't sign with the Raiders. Let's face it, Todd is probably the closest thing we will have to a marquee player!

schnitzel said:
If we let the kid go what chance have we got of getting a player of half his ability to repace Carney? I reckon with our challenges we have to pay overs to get any half with rep ability, $400 K might sound a lot but who else could we realistically get for the same money? If Thurston was off contract we could offer him double that and he still wouldn't sign with the Raiders. Let's face it, Todd is probably the closest thing we will have to a marquee player!

and whilst this sort of mentality remains, nothing will change
If this club keep paying overs, players will EXPECT overs and DEMAND overs from this club.

Change the attitude by changing the precedent

shear_joy9

A mate just told me he spoke to Carney, who told him he would re-sign with Canberra.

dunno what to make of it

I spoke to a mate the other day who saw toddy in the shops doing grocery shopping, he said hi, toddy said hi... he said it was a sign

that man may or may not have been Marko

100%green

Raider_69 said:
I spoke to a mate the other day who saw toddy in the shops doing grocery shopping, he said hi, toddy said hi... he said it was a sign

that man may or may not have been Marko

Stalker strikes again!!!!:lol:

Roy Rover

shear_joy9 said:
A mate just told me he spoke to Carney, who told him he would re-sign with Canberra.

dunno what to make of it

He told my mate on Wednesday that he's staying in Canberra and that it'll be announced on Friday.

Here's hoping it's true.

Edwahu

Sounds good. It will be a big boost for the whole club and the timings perfect just before kick off.
If he does stay i reckon we might see a few more announcements in quick succession.

Lime_Green

I'm loving all these positive rumours for a change.

Carney signing tomorrow would be a massive boost for our season IMO.

It would finally send a clear message that the Raiders CAN hang onto top talent, and help us to attract the likes of Flanagan.

*mustn't get too excited*

dolphinboy

No credence in rumours saying he is offski but we do backflips because some bloke spoke to some bloke's 2nd cousins uncle who knows some bloke says he is staying.

When Todd has ink on Canberra contract I will be excited, prior to that I live in hope.