Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Carney confides in Jason Smith! not looking good!

dubby

Bay56 said:
Yea Tokyo ... big thanks dude ... what we'd all do without you huh.

How about coming up with your plan dude .... "duhhh lets pay every player the same quid, duhh who cares if he cant play, duhh just need to fill out our cap, duhh is that you arse I'm licking Donny ... arh dubster get out of here"

Hey Xmas Ape for a guy who thought the salary cap was $3.36M you're doing real fine buddy :lol:

This is the funniest thread I've read! :lol:

Nothing like a TR vs Bay bout before the weekend to lighten the mood! Well the offseason is too long and I cant wait for the season to start so we can all be mates again.

Well, until we hit a losing patch and the whole "management are hopless and this club is going downhill and I have no answers just rhetoric to offer" jibe starts up again.

Im in a lively mood so gonna propose a truce with Bay 56, lets let bighorn's be bygones and come round 3, ill pop around bay 56, buy you a drink and we can hug it out mate, whatta say? :D

(this is not a piss take btw)

dolphinboy

Quite frankly apart from Alan Tongue I don't think we have a player on the roster who warrants 300k annually.

Here is my guess at what the players are on - maybe way off but hey I am not privy to the inner workings so its all subjective.

Top Tier (over 300k)
Alan Tongue

Second Tier (200k – 300k)
Todd Carney
Scott Logan
Joel Monaghan
William Zillman
Troy Thompson

Third Tier (180k-200k)
Terry Campese
Neville Costigan
Phil Graham
Adrian Purtell
Glen Turner

Fourth Tier (150k-175k)
Nigel Plum
Trevor Thurling
Michael Dobson
Dane Tilse
Lincoln Withers
Colin Best
Michael Weyman
Tom Learoyd-Lahrs

Fifth Tier (125k-150k)
Josh Miller
Joe Picker
Marshall Chalk
Ben Jones
Brett Kelly
Marc Herbert
David Milne

I would have a wage band of around 60k + Match payments – designed for injury prone players) – 60k is still a fair wedge for a bloke not getting on the ground

Lets be honest most of these blokes are getting overpaid, but it is no wonder we are flying on the cap.

May not be agreed with, but hey at least I am putting it out there

if think if you trade phil graham and troy thompson you're just about right dolph

and also its a well established fact we back loaded withers contract so by this year he'd be on 250k easy, we paid him pittence in the first year (about 70k if i recall)

dolphinboy

Raider_69 said:
if think if you trade phil graham and troy thompson you're just about right dolph

and also its a well established fact we back loaded withers contract so by this year he'd be on 250k easy, we paid him pittence in the first year (about 70k if i recall)

I reckon Phil would be right on the nub of the next bracket Nick

I think the club would be bonkers not to recognise Thommo's gargantuan work ethic.

Withers - 250k, no wonder we are capped out :crazy:

yea mate, we're paying withers a truck load in his last two years... but i recon he's prime for a good one this year... I love the Thomo love, he is a geniunely under rated front rower, he wont burst the line or score alot of tries but he'll make 15 odd hit ups a game, often first or second after an opposition kick and he tackles like a champion. Very good workhorse

Lime_Green

My guesses based on memory, cobbled together press reports and general guesswork:

Top Tier (over 300k)

None

Second Tier (210k – 300k)

Alan Tongue
Joel Monaghan
Lincoln Withers
Phil Graham

Third Tier (160k-210k)

Todd Carney (definitely on $200K)
Neville Costigan (on about $170K)
Scott Logan
Michael Dobson (definitely on $200K)
Nigel Plum
Glen Turner
Colin Best
Troy Thompson

Fourth Tier (120k-160k)

Dane Tilse
Josh Miller
William Zillman
Trevor Thurling
Michael Weyman
Tom Learoyd-Lahrs
Terry Campese

Fifth Tier (80k-120k)

Adrian Purtell
Joe Picker
Marshall Chalk
Ben Jones
Brett Kelly
Marc Herbert
David Milne

Chachi

Remember the average salary is about $160K.

I really think Nigel Plum will prove his worth this season. If we are to become one of the most feared packs in the comp he'll be right in the mix IMO. Some of the hits he put on last year with 2 dud shoulders were amazing. At full fitness he could be a real bargain for us.

Plum done some good things in attack as well , he is very underrated in that department.
Weyman , Withers are two players that need to step up this year, and I think they will especially with rumours of Flannagan coming onboard continue.

TLL deal was heavily incentive based
he had potential to earn up to 250k, if he played a certain amount of games for the club, rep games, etc etc and im doubting he's reached any of those targets
probably on about 150k outside that.

green eyed mike

Sydney_Raider said:
Can someone enlighten me about how third party agreements work?

My understanding is that up to 3 players can earn a total of 50k a year from external sponsorship but the club is not to be involved in organising this. I also think these payments can't come from existing sponsors of the club.

I am open to correction

Chachi

bluesbreaker said:
I was under the impression TLL cost you guys a packet?
I was also under the impression that Sydney is the best place in the world to live...until I found out in the SMH that 1 in 5 people actually want to leave because it's a dirty hole.

Funny how the media tells you all sorts of different things - much of it complete bullsh*t.

Bay56

Chachi said:
I was also under the impression that Sydney is the best place in the world to live...until I found out in the SMH that 1 in 5 people actually want to leave because it's a dirty hole.

Funny how the media tells you all sorts of different things - much of it complete bullsh*t.

:clap:

I like visiting the big smoke to watch footy, theatre and just to get away from home for a little break with my good wife.

A few days of the place and I'm itching to get back to Canberra.