Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Channel 9 doing more for AFL than NRL

SaveTheChildren

well the NRL footy show is garbage. it gets caned every week in the ratings. just looking at the set tells you it's shot on a shoestring budget

i wish they'd just axe it or have a legitamate go at improving it

Axing it would be a disaster. It needs 50% serious discussion minimum. It just stands for fatty dressing womens clothing.

SaveTheChildren

the show in its current format is an embarrassment to Rugby League
It needs to address serious rugby league issues. I am probably in the minority there.

Axing it would be a disaster. We need to get it right! A lot of people don't want to discuss whether or not it was a grapple - but many do! 50/50. How can you lose? Give everyone what they want. How can you lose?

ParraEelsNRL

It needs to address serious rugby league issues. I am probably in the minority there.

Axing it would be a disaster. We need to get it right! A lot of people don't want to discuss whether or not it was a grapple - but many do! 50/50. How can you lose? Give everyone what they want. How can you lose?

FFS, just f**king stop it.

Everyone bar Lockyno1 wants the footy show to pull its finger out and have more serious talk on there and less garbage, do you think everyone here is a moron and you are the lone leader above us all? :roll:

You know what, the way it is now, it would be better to axe the f**king thing.

i don't think 9 want to get it right. every year they try something new and anyone could tell them it would fail

why persist with bonehead Harragon and halfwit Johns?

why piss off Sterlo?

every year it gets worse and imo 9 are doing it on purpose. its just part of a plan to get the AFL footy show on. it's clear thats the code they're most interested in promoting

i don't think 9 want to get it right. every year they try something new and anyone could tell them it would fail

why persist with bonehead Harragon and halfwit Johns?

why piss off Sterlo?

every year it gets worse and imo 9 are doing it on purpose. its just part of a plan to get the AFL footy show on. it's clear thats the code they're most interested in promoting

Well if the AFL footy show does get on in Sydney, watch the ratings drop below 40k.

Rockin Ronny

That'll put it in front of most live AFL games so they may be excited by that. lol

It's easy just to tee off against another sport - but it's not helpful for the future of the game.

AFL has teams in VIC, NSW, QLD, SA (2) and WA (2). Rugby league has NSW, 2 in QLD and a propped up non-event in Melbourne. If you're looking for truly national exposure as an advertiser, where do you go? Obviously, AFL.

The AFL commands greater TV payments than league because (1) national exposure and (2) buyer and seller are not the same mob.

But, the biggest difference nowadays is that AFL is still a game, a community asset. Rugby league is a product - the fans are irrelevant except as potential PayTV purchasers.

It's easy just to tee off against another sport - but it's not helpful for the future of the game.

Of course it helps. AFL have paid for positive coverage in the press in the past. Is it just coincidence that this, our 100th year, has been our worst for negative press..

Do you think the AFL would like Rugby League to be on the nose in NSW and Qld when they push their two new teams in, or do you think they'd be happy to see Rugby League booming?

AFL has teams in VIC, NSW, QLD, SA (2) and WA (2). Rugby league has NSW, 2 in QLD and a propped up non-event in Melbourne. If you're looking for truly national exposure as an advertiser, where do you go? Obviously, AFL.

It's an automatic thing with AFL fans to ignore 40% of the population and call their code "truly national".

AFL have no teams representing the 40% of people who live in the areas not covered by OZTAM. All the AFL teams are in 5 cities. The NRL is in 8 + NZ.

You follow the wrong sport.

http://www.thinktv.com.au/media/Media_Releases/Week_38_2008_-_Weekly_Ratings_Report.pdf

Not many AFL games on that list is there?

The AFL commands greater TV payments than league because (1) national exposure and (2) buyer and seller are not the same mob.

They command more because they have the media in their pocket and have for decades.

It's a con job that would be the perfect con except for the fact that NSW and Qld don't like AFL.

They've been pushing it down our throats for a while now, do you think it's working?

Do you think their new teams on the Gold Coast and in Western Sydney will be rousing successes, given the fact that the Brisbane and Sydney AFL sides have experienced a marked downtown in crowds and ratings over the past couple of years?

But, the biggest difference nowadays is that AFL is still a game, a community asset. Rugby league is a product - the fans are irrelevant except as potential PayTV purchasers.

AFL is a community asset?

If you live in NSW and Qld is it still a community asset?

AFL is a game based wholly and solely around OZTAM TV ratings. Tell me how many of their teams represent an area not covered by OZTAM?

Then tell me how many NRL teams?

What's with 9's promotion of AFL through the Today show? All this week they are doing a "tour of the bay" ending in a live broadcast from Geelong on Friday for their Grand Final show. They were banging on all this morning about some bloke called Adam Cooncheese or something like that winning a Billy Brownless medal? I didnt even know it was on until this morning. Was it on 7 up here or 10??? Must have been on HD because the missus was watching some crap on 7 about city homicides and kids were singing Karaoke on 10.

I hope they have the same (or heaven forbit better) coverage next week for the lead up to the real GF.

Rockin Ronny

AFL have paid for positive coverage in the press in the past. Is it just coincidence that this, our 100th year, has been our worst for negative press..

Do you think the AFL would like Rugby League to be on the nose in NSW and Qld when they push their two new teams in, or do you think they'd be happy to see Rugby League booming?

It's an automatic thing with AFL fans to ignore 40% of the population and call their code "truly national".

They command more because they have the media in their pocket and have for decades.

It's a con job that would be the perfect con except for the fact that NSW and Qld don't like AFL.

AFL is a community asset?

Wild conspiracy theories don;t really contribute much.

AFL is not owned by a media company. It is free to negotiate from a position of relative strength on a code's major asset - TV rights.

Fact is: rugby league was in a fight for its future during the superleague war - and Arko and its managers sold the game and TV rights off for a song to Packer and Murdoch. Rugby league is now paying for this stupidity and cowardice.

Wild conspiracy theories don;t really contribute much.

You call them wild, yet it is sheer commonsense that the AFL would want the NRL to have as much negative press as possible just before two new AFL teams are foisted upon an uncaring public.

And as I said, they've paid for positive press before, it's not much of a stretch that they'd be happy to cough up a few bucks for positive AFL coverage or negative NRL coverage.

AFL is not owned by a media company. It is free to negotiate from a position of relative strength on a code's major asset - TV rights.

Relative yes, actual, no. The top 5 TV rating matches in Australia this year so far are all Rugby League matches.

Fact is: rugby league was in a fight for its future during the superleague war - and Arko and its managers sold the game and TV rights off for a song to Packer and Murdoch. Rugby league is now paying for this stupidity and cowardice.

But it should never have gotten to that point. That Murdoch wanted an undeserved piece of the pie and was prepared to cough up plenty to get it is the single worst thing that ever happened to Rugby League.

What happened after that moment was as a direct result of that moment.

Rockin Ronny

You call them wild, yet it is sheer commonsense that the AFL would want the NRL to have as much negative press as possible just before two new AFL teams are foisted upon an uncaring public.

But, you're saying the News Limited press are being paid by the AFL to denigrate its own product to weaken rugby league to boost AFL expansion.

Fair dinkum, mate. Try this.
Players on the turps publicly, even at finals time, glassing incidents, rape/sexual asault incidents - almost weekly.
Takling family to a game costing a fortune - thus driving people back to their loungeromms to watch PayTV - crucifying crowds.
ground of choice - concrete monstrosity wihh o atmos[phere and looking empty even with 30,000 people.
TV rights payment - miniscule compared to AFL. Wonder why?

Don't blame the journos or invent conspiracies.

Rugby league is killing itself. Problem is - if the game fell over tomorrow, News Limited would then pick the next best rating product and move on.

Rockin Ronny

Relative yes, actual, no. The top 5 TV rating matches in Australia this year so far are all Rugby League matches.

But it should never have gotten to that point. That Murdoch wanted an undeserved piece of the pie and was prepared to cough up plenty to get it is the single worst thing that ever happened to Rugby League.

What happened after that moment was as a direct result of that moment.

This is because the game drives people home to watch TV. There is no attraction in going out anymore.

If a Murdoch takes interest in your game, then you are in a position of remarkable strength. How he was allowed to own rugby league is nothing short of a crime aginst the community. It was either cowardice, stupidity or corruption on a massive scale - or all 3.

Brycey

75k people turned up last weekend to finals football in NZ and Brisbane, not only a feat the AFL can only dream of but also an indication that there is an attraction in going to the game.

Rockin Ronny

75k people turned up last weekend to finals football in NZ and Brisbane, not only a feat the AFL can only dream of but also an indication that there is an attraction in going to the game.

Brycey

70K turned up to one final in Melbourne! If that's your point, it's a dumb one.

Further, the AFL appears to have an agenda and expansion plans. You and ELA might scoff - but at leadt they have a plan.

Gallop's plan - let News Limited screw the game to death ripping money out the game - but blame it on a media conspiracy.

Brycey

70K turned up to one final in Melbourne! If that's your point, it's a dumb one.

Further, the AFL appears to have an agenda and expansion plans. You and ELA might scoff - but at leadt they have a plan.

Gallop's plan - let News Limited screw the game to death ripping money out the game - but blame it on a media conspiracy.

funny how news ltd have set up their own AFL forum http://superfootyforum.com.au/index.php

meanwhile 9 and news ltd who both make a sh*tload out of NRL treat our game like dirt

I wish that merkin who runs the AFL ran our game. He has 1/2 the population convinced that his game isn't sh*t, imagine what he'd do with a game that is actually great.