Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Coaching preference for 2024

What are you hoping for in our next coaching appointment?

• Rookie Coach

Votes: 21 14.5%
  • Premiership Winning Coach

Votes: 105 72.4%
  • NRL Experience coach with no Premiership wins

Votes: 6 4.1%
  • Coach from Overseas

Votes: 5 3.4%
  • Extend Current coach

Votes: 8 5.5%

Dragons star Josh Kerr opens up on his feud with coach Anthony Griffin​

Reborn Dragons prop Josh Kerr fell out with Anthony Griffin last year, now he reveals how the pair buried the hatchet and where his future lies.
Josh Kerr walked into a meeting with St George Illawarra coach Anthony Griffin at the end of last season intent on dropping some truth bombs.
Kerr told Griffin in no uncertain terms that he didn’t think he was being coached. Griffin gave as good as he got and by the time the meeting had come to a close, the pair had cleared the air.

A clean slate was born. You get the feeling before that meeting, Kerr would have been happy to see the back of Griffin and the Dragons.

Now, he has sympathy for the Dragons coach and what he is going through as he fights to keep his job beyond the end of the season.

As he speaks to News Corp in the lead-up to Tuesday’s Anzac Day game against the Sydney Roosters at Aliianz Stadium, Kerr has revealed his concern for Griffin and his overwhelming desire to sign a new deal at the Dragons.

“At the moment we are talking about re-signing, which is crazy because last year I was in a position where I don’t think they wanted me,” Kerr said.

“It is good to know I have worked my way back into that mix of wanting to be re-signed. There are a few other clubs who have jumped in as well, which is good.

“Last year was in a pretty dark head space and didn’t know what I was going to do. At the moment I would love to stay, but we will see how much they want to keep me.”

THE COACH
Kerr acknowledges that he and Griffin haven’t always seen eye-to-eye. Last season, as Kerr languished in lower grades, he felt like he wasn’t wanted.

Something had to give. That moment arrived in the off-season when Kerr sat down with Griffin to debrief his year.

General manager of football Ben Haran was there as well, given a sideline view of coach and player hammering out their differences.

“I was off him because I didn’t know where I was going,” Kerr said.

“I felt like I wasn’t getting coached right. I sat down man-to-man and said, ‘I disagree with you on all these things’.

“He gave me his spiel. He just said, ’These are some of the areas you need to work on, this is why I didn’t play you’.

“I said, ‘Look, I disagree’. I pulled him up on a few things. He had his view on it, I had mine, just like grown men do.
“Somehow I am here. I guess he had blokes ahead of me he wanted in there, but I feel proud of myself for working my way back into it and not looking for someone else to blame.”

Griffin is now the one fighting for this future at the Dragons. The club has already started surveying their options as they prepare to make a decision on Griffin’s future.

“I feel shocking for him,” Kerr said.

“At the moment his job is on the line, his old man passed away a few months ago, he is going through a bit at the moment and he is rocking up every day like nothing has changed.

“I take my hat off to him because he changed a lot in the pre-season to come back as the coach we all wanted. I reckon he has done well because it is hard if you have an ego, you don’t really want to change.

“I personally like him a lot more now. I didn’t really hate him at all - I was just off the situation. I like him, I reckon he has done a lot to change, I really respect everything he is going through and how he has handled himself though this course of what is going on.”

MOOKS MAGIC
Kerr acknowledged there have been dark days over the past 12 months. It seems a lifetime ago that he was part of the extended Queensland squad during the 2020 series under Wayne Bennett.

Kerr is happy to admit that being so close to Origin messed with his head. He felt like he had to live up to that billing and it weighed him down.

With his future on the line, Kerr changed management companies and joined Joe Wehbe’s stable. He also started working with former Warriors and Parramatta coach Steve Kearney.

“He calls me up every week,” Kerr said.

“He is a proper legend. He will ask what you think you are good at. I will say running game. He will say focus on that and each week he will add on something else.

“It is cool to have Steve Kearney and these people helping you.”

Thanks to the sage advice of Kearney, Wehbe and his business partner Peter Nolan, Kerr has found a way out of the wilderness.

He has now strung together six consecutive first grade games and believes he is back to his best after addressing his lifestyle off the field.

“I just feel like I got ahead of myself with my football and thought I was going to go on and do bigger and better things,” he said.

“I got picked in that Origin squad a few years ago - the “worst team ever”.

“You have to remember a lot of our players were injured so they were scraping the bottom of the barrel a bit.

“When I got picked for that I thought this is my opportunity. I went back to footy and was over-thinking. I was thinking I had to be this big representable player.

“I just had to keep my game simple. This year I just wanted to do the simple shit really well. Gees, rugby league is a simple game.

“I spent a whole lot of last season pointing the finger at someone else other than myself, saying you are the problem here.

“The only thing I could control was when I went home, I could sook or I could work on myself. A lot of friends and family made me work hard, make things simple.”
So, Kerr is a 'Dragons star'?

blacksafake

Dragons star Josh Kerr opens up on his feud with coach Anthony Griffin​

Reborn Dragons prop Josh Kerr fell out with Anthony Griffin last year, now he reveals how the pair buried the hatchet and where his future lies.
Josh Kerr walked into a meeting with St George Illawarra coach Anthony Griffin at the end of last season intent on dropping some truth bombs.
Kerr told Griffin in no uncertain terms that he didn’t think he was being coached. Griffin gave as good as he got and by the time the meeting had come to a close, the pair had cleared the air.

A clean slate was born. You get the feeling before that meeting, Kerr would have been happy to see the back of Griffin and the Dragons.

Now, he has sympathy for the Dragons coach and what he is going through as he fights to keep his job beyond the end of the season.

As he speaks to News Corp in the lead-up to Tuesday’s Anzac Day game against the Sydney Roosters at Aliianz Stadium, Kerr has revealed his concern for Griffin and his overwhelming desire to sign a new deal at the Dragons.

“At the moment we are talking about re-signing, which is crazy because last year I was in a position where I don’t think they wanted me,” Kerr said.

“It is good to know I have worked my way back into that mix of wanting to be re-signed. There are a few other clubs who have jumped in as well, which is good.

“Last year was in a pretty dark head space and didn’t know what I was going to do. At the moment I would love to stay, but we will see how much they want to keep me.”

THE COACH
Kerr acknowledges that he and Griffin haven’t always seen eye-to-eye. Last season, as Kerr languished in lower grades, he felt like he wasn’t wanted.

Something had to give. That moment arrived in the off-season when Kerr sat down with Griffin to debrief his year.

General manager of football Ben Haran was there as well, given a sideline view of coach and player hammering out their differences.

“I was off him because I didn’t know where I was going,” Kerr said.

“I felt like I wasn’t getting coached right. I sat down man-to-man and said, ‘I disagree with you on all these things’.

“He gave me his spiel. He just said, ’These are some of the areas you need to work on, this is why I didn’t play you’.

“I said, ‘Look, I disagree’. I pulled him up on a few things. He had his view on it, I had mine, just like grown men do.

Griffin is now the one fighting for this future at the Dragons. The club has already started surveying their options as they prepare to make a decision on Griffin’s future.

“I feel shocking for him,” Kerr said.

“At the moment his job is on the line, his old man passed away a few months ago, he is going through a bit at the moment and he is rocking up every day like nothing has changed.

“I take my hat off to him because he changed a lot in the pre-season to come back as the coach we all wanted. I reckon he has done well because it is hard if you have an ego, you don’t really want to change.

“I personally like him a lot more now. I didn’t really hate him at all - I was just off the situation. I like him, I reckon he has done a lot to change, I really respect everything he is going through and how he has handled himself though this course of what is going on.”

MOOKS MAGIC
Kerr acknowledged there have been dark days over the past 12 months. It seems a lifetime ago that he was part of the extended Queensland squad during the 2020 series under Wayne Bennett.

Kerr is happy to admit that being so close to Origin messed with his head. He felt like he had to live up to that billing and it weighed him down.

With his future on the line, Kerr changed management companies and joined Joe Wehbe’s stable. He also started working with former Warriors and Parramatta coach Steve Kearney.

“He calls me up every week,” Kerr said.

“He is a proper legend. He will ask what you think you are good at. I will say running game. He will say focus on that and each week he will add on something else.

“It is cool to have Steve Kearney and these people helping you.”

Thanks to the sage advice of Kearney, Wehbe and his business partner Peter Nolan, Kerr has found a way out of the wilderness.

He has now strung together six consecutive first grade games and believes he is back to his best after addressing his lifestyle off the field.

“I just feel like I got ahead of myself with my football and thought I was going to go on and do bigger and better things,” he said.

“I got picked in that Origin squad a few years ago - the “worst team ever”.

“You have to remember a lot of our players were injured so they were scraping the bottom of the barrel a bit.

“When I got picked for that I thought this is my opportunity. I went back to footy and was over-thinking. I was thinking I had to be this big representable player.

“I just had to keep my game simple. This year I just wanted to do the simple shit really well. Gees, rugby league is a simple game.

“I spent a whole lot of last season pointing the finger at someone else other than myself, saying you are the problem here.

“The only thing I could control was when I went home, I could sook or I could work on myself. A lot of friends and family made me work hard, make things simple.”
Thanks @SAP58.
I still think he’s got some good footy in so hopefully he’ll be signed.

BTW he’s right. He wasn’t being coached properly.

Maddragon99

In order of preference:

1. Ryles - Long apprenticeship at Storm/Roosters, fresh perspective on the club, highly touted by the Storm to succeed Bellamy so that’s gotta count for something.

2. Young - Good reviews whilst working under Payton at the Cows, would understand the club in its current state which could go a long way to working with it or fixing it, skin in the club so perhaps more trust may be given to him by admin than say an outsider.

3. Flanno - Only just gets 3rd in front of Des, proven and experienced coach, turned the Sharks around so maybe he can do the same with us, players love him judging from chatter while he was at the Sharks, us and now Manly.

4. Des - Same points as Flanno but the thing that worries me is his less than stellar salary cap record. We only just fixed our cap and we don’t want to be spending another 3-4 years fixing it even for some short-term success.

5. Hornby - Bleeds for the club and would understand where it needs to be to succeed but I think it’s just a little too early for him to make the step-up to head coach in my opinion.
Ryles is my preference but he’s not available until 2025 he’d need to break his rooster’s contract for 2024 which I think is unlikely.

Des is an obvious well credentialed coach but why would he want to come to us?

The rest are no better than Griffin.

The sad truth is we had the chance to sign Fitzgibbon & we didn’t go for him & now we are in a very deep dark hole.

justadragon

I find it difficult to believe all these players instantly coming out and supporting Hook, no one ever doubted he may be a good bloke. Unfortunately there have been no decent results from the good bloke or the team in general under his watch. So what is the club supposed to do ?? Yes we keep the good bloke and finish bottom 4 every year. HELLOOOOOO Josh Kerr the only way you could have kept the good bloke there is you and the rest of the team performing and winning games and making it at least to finals !!!! Instead of every pre season telling us what a great year it will be, the toughest training, everyone is really motivated to prove a point, the whole team is buying into the program, how things are way different now, we have the players that can do the job !!!!! Shall I keep going,,,once and for all its a results driven sport, you cant be there hoping to make finals, YOU HAVE TO BE IN THE FINALS AT LEAST !!!!!

So Hook only told Kerr the areas to work on, and why he didn't play him, at the debrief at the end of the season. That's sh*t coaching right there. Why would you wait until the end of the season? Why wouldn't you work on getting all players improving their game throughout the season? That's grounds for getting rid of Hook right there.

BLM01

I find it difficult to believe all these players instantly coming out and supporting Hook, no one ever doubted he may be a good bloke. Unfortunately there have been no decent results from the good bloke or the team in general under his watch. So what is the club supposed to do ?? Yes we keep the good bloke and finish bottom 4 every year. HELLOOOOOO Josh Kerr the only way you could have kept the good bloke there is you and the rest of the team performing and winning games and making it at least to finals !!!! Instead of every pre season telling us what a great year it will be, the toughest training, everyone is really motivated to prove a point, the whole team is buying into the program, how things are way different now, we have the players that can do the job !!!!! Shall I keep going,,,once and for all its a results driven sport, you cant be there hoping to make finals, YOU HAVE TO BE IN THE FINALS AT LEAST !!!!!
Dont shoot the messengers
It is called instructions from club media managers in pushing certain narratives prior to offering a person agreeing to a interview. In some instances it is player managers
It happens in all big organisations including govt
Ben Hunt (normal) as captain and Josh Kerr are our main go to people used by our club
Gareth Widdop, Tyson Frizell and Brett Morris rumoured departures ring a bell and their fronting up to answer these.?

BLM01

Surprised you'd say that after his performances this year, but I guess we all see the game differently...

I think he has been very good for us, off the bench so far, this year. Not surprised at all to hear other clubs are interested. He's been consistently making his 10 m with most carries and I think his defence has really improved out of sight.

Comes on when the sting comes out of the game and brings good leg speed and a VERY quick play the ball that others can play off the back of. Has a good offload too.

I don't think you'd have to break the bank to keep him. By the sounds of it he wants to stay.

I can think of a few others I'd like to see the back of before him.

I'd be re-signing him for sure...
No we see the game sort of the same.
But just for me he has limited minutes coming off the bench fresh and Yes he is playing in the middle this year and noted plays the ball quicker but does not trouble the opposition enough.
We need more from our tallest? biggest? prop and it is a contract year as others have mentioned.
He has had many years to start to dominate like each teams are supposed to have these type of props and what is he now mid-late 20's?.
This year Lawrie & Molo are our aggressors but that does not excite too many.
For me he is never going to be that leading prop and boy we need another 1 or 2.

lemnoc

So, Kerr is a 'Dragons star'?
Hook seems to have had issues with a number of players. He and Kerr may have settled their "differences" for now, but which player will be next in butting heads with the Hook? He just seems to have a personality not compatible with these young players. Look at how Lomax and Lawrie made a mockery of him in that interview on the Matty Johns Show last year.

Dragon David

So true justa!

Dragon David

What eggs do we have in the basket to choose from that are considered better than Hook's egg? Nearly all I can see/hear you say! But in reality who is he or who are they? The club has not given any clue whatsoever so far and of course any one who has been officially approached has been told to keep schtum until the club officially announces him.

The journos have had a field day just like us as to who should be and who could be but no-one has got a clue because at this stage I don't think that the Board members have any clue themselves. They really have an enormous decision to make because they won't want to go down this horrible rocky road too many more times if at all and therefore whomever is the right guy has to be the RIGHT GUY - no ifs, buts or maybes, the one that will be the perfect fit to rid us of our disastrous coaching dilemma. There is no room for second best I am afraid.

Dragon David

So according to reporter David Riccio on Triple M radio, the Dragons have began the reach out to 4 shortlisted potential coaches, through the Managers of Young, Hornby, Flanagan & Hasler.
It seems inevitable & the clock is now ticking.
Sorry, Coffs. I was typing up my post above and now see what you have written. Do these 4 meet with what I have said? Here we go again. Riccio reporting, nothing official so not much creedence in my opinion, just reporting.

TheRev

So according to reporter David Riccio on Triple M radio, the Dragons have began the reach out to 4 shortlisted potential coaches, through the Managers of Young, Hornby, Flanagan & Hasler.
It seems inevitable & the clock is now ticking.
Love to know if those 4 names are factual or a guess.. or indeed whether there could be a 5th etc.. and so much for the UK entrant.

Young or Hornby would be much easier to get full board support on.. but I hope they take a punt on one of the other 2.. I think Hasler or Flanno could get a real culture change & a different perspective.. very quickly... its going to take a small leap of faith for some of them.

justadragon

Sorry, Coffs. I was typing up my post above and now see what you have written. Do these 4 meet with what I have said? Here we go again. Riccio reporting, nothing official so not much creedence in my opinion, just reporting.
I suppose Dave the process has to happen via an inquiry to the managers " hey would such and such be interested " if the answer is yes then a more formal process would occur. Either way its not as embarrassing if they turn us down at the informal stage just like Slater.

justadragon

Love to know if thode 4 names are factual or a guess.. or indeed whether there could be a 5th etc.. and so much for the UK entrant.

Young or Hornby would be much easier to get full board support on.. but I hope they take a punt on one of the other 2.. I think Hasler or Flanno could get a real culture change & a different perspective.. very quickly... its going to take a small leap of faith for some of them.
And $$$$$$$$ !!!

No doubt we have had issues re coaching since Bennett's departure.

For the best part of 11 years we have said that

Defence is shit
Attack is shit
Basic skills are shit
Kicking game is shit
Game plan is shit
Man management is shit
Fitness & conditioning is shit
Rehab is shit

We have had a range of coaches, conditioners, gurus, mentors and others to bring the best out in our players and in that 11`years there have been many and varied players so it's not as if we haven't had different skills sets in the place.

No doubt the coaches and associated staff have had deficiencies in a range of areas but to say that these major problems have been the hallmark of all 3 coaches and associated staff is a bit too much for me to accept.

If we are brutally honest we have had a few good players intermingled with some very ordinary players and we have over-estimated many a players ability and worth.

By all means get a new coach but to expect that things will instantly change and a new discipline will emerge is a bridge too far for mine.

In fact I do believe that Hook did try to instill discipline into the place and to a large degree put the ball firmly in the players court and pushed back on them to give them responsibility and ownership rather than mody coddling them and sadly that approach has also failed.

IMO in recent times the Mc Fookknuckle and JDB incidents reinforced a very bad message to the playing group and it has now become heavily ingrained.

Any new coach will have more than his hands full with our club and most likely the reason why our pool of candidates is kept quiet because it is so exceedingly small.

Chinless, Mc Fookknuckle and Hook have all been less than perfect but we have Bennett and Gould to thank for the 1st two and only ourselves to blame for the last one.

Coffs dragon

so the shortlist was the long list from 3 weeks ago - Riccio is killing it
I’m sure he’s just looking for some hint of relevance in the media & really just stating the obvious.
I’d be tipping it’s only certain managers that are drip feeding rumours to position themselves. Maybe there are other potential coaching candidates whom represent themselves or are based overseas and don’t feed the media trough. Maybe some can operate confidential.