Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Coaching preference for 2024

What are you hoping for in our next coaching appointment?

• Rookie Coach

Votes: 21 14.5%
  • Premiership Winning Coach

Votes: 105 72.4%
  • NRL Experience coach with no Premiership wins

Votes: 6 4.1%
  • Coach from Overseas

Votes: 5 3.4%
  • Extend Current coach

Votes: 8 5.5%

Parko1310

My nephew is involved in hosting Corporate sportsman guest speaker events.
He once told me that Bellamy/ Bennett/ Cheika are Top Tier motivational speakers & you would walk hot coals for them.

He is a mad Sharks supporter & yet claimed Flanno was on his L plates on another page compared to the above 3.

These type of motivational speakers also attract Corporate Support & contacts through reputation & respect.
They aren’t asked to speak at lunches for pissed League fans, they speak & address Australian Olympic team members to motivate & unite.

Dragons need something to get out of the abyss.
I wouldn't mind Cheika if I'm honest. My opinion is this group needs some galvanising and he seems to be someone who can do that. Yes, he would need some strong support around him and maybe that involves Brown/Des in some sort of football role, or both of them. As you say, he would definitely attract plenty of corporate interest and most likely player interest as well.

matPORTS

First preference A = Bellamy
First preference B = Robinson

Alternative A = Hasler
Alternative B = Flannagan

All of the above have NRL Premiership winning experience.

No rookies.

The Price/Mary-era really exhausted me in terms of justifying what we need, so I'm reluctant to repeat myself. But, in summary... Since Bennett departed in 2011:

12 seasons
Highest finish = 7th (2015 & 2018)
Deepest run = Semi Final (2018 Finals Week 2 vs Souths)
Currently = we are now going into our fifth year of finals wilderness (is this the longest run?)

Other notable events in the last 12 seasons =

First time being held to a duck egg at Kogarah (happened twice during the Price era).

Brett Morris being allowed to up and leave - and play the prime of his career at direct rival clubs.

Mary becoming the longest serving coach, not just in joint venture history but all of St George + Illawarra as separate entity history (how the hell was this allowed to happen).

Have never seen such a high turnover of assistants and backroom staff (at any club not just ours). Why did an astute operator like Peter Mullholland walk away/be shoved out (however it may have happened) from the club so quickly?

BBQ-gate.

Several players in trouble with the law (JDB, Siliva Havili, Amone, Tristian Sailor - and although the law has/will ultimately run its course it's a poor reflection of the club culture and a bad look).

...and I'm sure I could point out heaps more if I sat and reflected further.

To conclude = the results have been beyond piss poor, and a direct reflection (and acceptance) of massive incompetence, mismanagement and mediocrity! When will it end??

Dragon David

When will it end? A very good question matPORTS. How long is a piece of string? I'd say that if we can just get to that same level we were before Price, McGregor and Hook became our coaches, I would be content for a while and then we will have more of a chance of being a bit more consistent with more success than failure. The period 1999 to 2011 is what I'm talking about.

blacksafake

SAP58

Dragons star Josh Kerr opens up on his feud with coach Anthony Griffin​

Reborn Dragons prop Josh Kerr fell out with Anthony Griffin last year, now he reveals how the pair buried the hatchet and where his future lies.
Josh Kerr walked into a meeting with St George Illawarra coach Anthony Griffin at the end of last season intent on dropping some truth bombs.
Kerr told Griffin in no uncertain terms that he didn’t think he was being coached. Griffin gave as good as he got and by the time the meeting had come to a close, the pair had cleared the air.

A clean slate was born. You get the feeling before that meeting, Kerr would have been happy to see the back of Griffin and the Dragons.

Now, he has sympathy for the Dragons coach and what he is going through as he fights to keep his job beyond the end of the season.

As he speaks to News Corp in the lead-up to Tuesday’s Anzac Day game against the Sydney Roosters at Aliianz Stadium, Kerr has revealed his concern for Griffin and his overwhelming desire to sign a new deal at the Dragons.

“At the moment we are talking about re-signing, which is crazy because last year I was in a position where I don’t think they wanted me,” Kerr said.

“It is good to know I have worked my way back into that mix of wanting to be re-signed. There are a few other clubs who have jumped in as well, which is good.

“Last year was in a pretty dark head space and didn’t know what I was going to do. At the moment I would love to stay, but we will see how much they want to keep me.”

THE COACH
Kerr acknowledges that he and Griffin haven’t always seen eye-to-eye. Last season, as Kerr languished in lower grades, he felt like he wasn’t wanted.

Something had to give. That moment arrived in the off-season when Kerr sat down with Griffin to debrief his year.

General manager of football Ben Haran was there as well, given a sideline view of coach and player hammering out their differences.

“I was off him because I didn’t know where I was going,” Kerr said.

“I felt like I wasn’t getting coached right. I sat down man-to-man and said, ‘I disagree with you on all these things’.

“He gave me his spiel. He just said, ’These are some of the areas you need to work on, this is why I didn’t play you’.

“I said, ‘Look, I disagree’. I pulled him up on a few things. He had his view on it, I had mine, just like grown men do.
“Somehow I am here. I guess he had blokes ahead of me he wanted in there, but I feel proud of myself for working my way back into it and not looking for someone else to blame.”

Griffin is now the one fighting for this future at the Dragons. The club has already started surveying their options as they prepare to make a decision on Griffin’s future.

“I feel shocking for him,” Kerr said.

“At the moment his job is on the line, his old man passed away a few months ago, he is going through a bit at the moment and he is rocking up every day like nothing has changed.

“I take my hat off to him because he changed a lot in the pre-season to come back as the coach we all wanted. I reckon he has done well because it is hard if you have an ego, you don’t really want to change.

“I personally like him a lot more now. I didn’t really hate him at all - I was just off the situation. I like him, I reckon he has done a lot to change, I really respect everything he is going through and how he has handled himself though this course of what is going on.”

MOOKS MAGIC
Kerr acknowledged there have been dark days over the past 12 months. It seems a lifetime ago that he was part of the extended Queensland squad during the 2020 series under Wayne Bennett.

Kerr is happy to admit that being so close to Origin messed with his head. He felt like he had to live up to that billing and it weighed him down.

With his future on the line, Kerr changed management companies and joined Joe Wehbe’s stable. He also started working with former Warriors and Parramatta coach Steve Kearney.

“He calls me up every week,” Kerr said.

“He is a proper legend. He will ask what you think you are good at. I will say running game. He will say focus on that and each week he will add on something else.

“It is cool to have Steve Kearney and these people helping you.”

Thanks to the sage advice of Kearney, Wehbe and his business partner Peter Nolan, Kerr has found a way out of the wilderness.

He has now strung together six consecutive first grade games and believes he is back to his best after addressing his lifestyle off the field.

“I just feel like I got ahead of myself with my football and thought I was going to go on and do bigger and better things,” he said.

“I got picked in that Origin squad a few years ago - the “worst team ever”.

“You have to remember a lot of our players were injured so they were scraping the bottom of the barrel a bit.

“When I got picked for that I thought this is my opportunity. I went back to footy and was over-thinking. I was thinking I had to be this big representable player.

“I just had to keep my game simple. This year I just wanted to do the simple shit really well. Gees, rugby league is a simple game.

“I spent a whole lot of last season pointing the finger at someone else other than myself, saying you are the problem here.

“The only thing I could control was when I went home, I could sook or I could work on myself. A lot of friends and family made me work hard, make things simple.”

thebigredv

I appreciate the candidness of Kerr in this report.

As suspected, we have some very fickle players and an unqualified coach. Confirms we are a world away from being a professionally run outfit. "I didn't like him but I suddenly like him now". All far too precious when we are talking about players wearing a privileged jersey earning hundreds of thousands a year. At least he has been honest - kudos to that.

BLM01

Good article on Kerr. I like him he is a better player and having more impact this year. Definitely would like him to stay.
Agree except now watching him this year for his size does not have the impact i was hoping.
This might not sit well with most but we need more and I wont be upset if he leaves.

BLM01

First preference A = Bellamy
First preference B = Robinson

Alternative A = Hasler
Alternative B = Flannagan

All of the above have NRL Premiership winning experience.

No rookies.

The Price/Mary-era really exhausted me in terms of justifying what we need, so I'm reluctant to repeat myself. But, in summary... Since Bennett departed in 2011:

12 seasons
Highest finish = 7th (2015 & 2018)
Deepest run = Semi Final (2018 Finals Week 2 vs Souths)
Currently = we are now going into our fifth year of finals wilderness (is this the longest run?)

Other notable events in the last 12 seasons =

First time being held to a duck egg at Kogarah (happened twice during the Price era).

Brett Morris being allowed to up and leave - and play the prime of his career at direct rival clubs.

Mary becoming the longest serving coach, not just in joint venture history but all of St George + Illawarra as separate entity history (how the hell was this allowed to happen).

Have never seen such a high turnover of assistants and backroom staff (at any club not just ours). Why did an astute operator like Peter Mullholland walk away/be shoved out (however it may have happened) from the club so quickly?

BBQ-gate.

Several players in trouble with the law (JDB, Siliva Havili, Amone, Tristian Sailor - and although the law has/will ultimately run its course it's a poor reflection of the club culture and a bad look).

...and I'm sure I could point out heaps more if I sat and reflected further.

To conclude = the results have been beyond piss poor, and a direct reflection (and acceptance) of massive incompetence, mismanagement and mediocrity! When will it end??
First preferences are likely 1000000 - 1
Sign alternative A now. Watch a good number of our squad disappear as he will be too hard on em.
Alternative B I am Ok with only if A says no.

be55

Agree except now watching him this year for his size does not have the impact i was hoping.
This might not sit well with most but we need more and I wont be upset if he leaves.
Surprised you'd say that after his performances this year, but I guess we all see the game differently...

I think he has been very good for us, off the bench so far, this year. Not surprised at all to hear other clubs are interested. He's been consistently making his 10 m with most carries and I think his defence has really improved out of sight.

Comes on when the sting comes out of the game and brings good leg speed and a VERY quick play the ball that others can play off the back of. Has a good offload too.

I don't think you'd have to break the bank to keep him. By the sounds of it he wants to stay.

I can think of a few others I'd like to see the back of before him.

I'd be re-signing him for sure...

Coffs dragon

Attachments

• IMG_0802.jpeg
    IMG_0802.jpeg
    166.3 KB · Views: 7

SaintPauli

This is not a time to experiment. We need a tried and experienced coach with results to take over. Sorry but the Dragons are in a tough situation here and need to get it right. It is make or break time.

Oh! And it is Flanno for me lads.
Flanno for me too. It's interesting that I still have not heard or seen 8 anyone ask Flanno publicly on radio or TV if he would put his hat in the ring for coach? Or I have missed that?

Dragonslayer

Interesting if Flanno has actually applied or maybe being an assistant and traveling around doing commentary is less stressful.

I do expect that he has though

Mate Cheika would be an exciting prospect. He’s a winner and highly intelligent. With a couple of good assistants he’d be a great option for SGI.
It would take some balls from the board but.
Add him to the coaching staff as a motivator for the players. That is about it.