Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Coaching preference for 2024

What are you hoping for in our next coaching appointment?

• Rookie Coach

Votes: 21 14.5%
  • Premiership Winning Coach

Votes: 105 72.4%
  • NRL Experience coach with no Premiership wins

Votes: 6 4.1%
  • Coach from Overseas

Votes: 5 3.4%
  • Extend Current coach

Votes: 8 5.5%

In our case, I think our board is so stubborn, they ( Players ) need to get the voice across...

We no longer play " Mary or hook Ball ".... love some of the expansive play under Carr .
Players rate Carr including guys like Latrell mitchell...

He is a must keep I.M.H.O ( Under contract for 2024 )

Have a good long weekend @The Silverdale Phantom .

Fair enough on the question of Carr from a consumer perspective.

But..yet another example of the Players Allied Union sub branch committee back in propaganda mode trying to influence an outcome.

For better or worse, your players seem to be in the press every other day with some kind of emotional burst or another.

I don’t think it’s helpful to the club management who may be making overtures to New Coaches, promising stuff and incentives.

Such as full command and say of the coaching staff.

It seems New Coach might have to ratify and fact check this now with the players union.

It was a semi historic win against a powerful side, but players shouldn’t be basking in the warm glow of a mighty victory discussing these issues.

I hope you’re having a nice long weekend too!

It’s time Webby started to smack a few bottoms over this stuff. It’s getting out of hand.

Illusion

But..yet another example of the Players Allied Union sub branch committee back in propaganda mode trying to influence an outcome.

For better or worse, your players seem to be in the press every other day with some kind of emotional burst or another.

I don’t think it’s helpful to the club management who may be making overtures to New Coaches, promising stuff and incentives.

It seems New Coach might have to ratify and fact check this now with the players union.

It was a semi historic win against a powerful side, but players shouldn’t be basking in the warm glow of a mighty victory discussing these issues.

It’s time Webby started to smack a few bottoms over this stuff. It’s getting out of hand.
The way our team has become soft over the years , they might just like getting spanked by Webby .......

RedVDave

A lot of talent amongst those boys.
Definitely the Stanley brothers had the most ability but unfortunately injuries just killed them.

As for Ryan Carr I've been pretty critical of him as he wasn't a great footballer by any means but I will say this he always had passion and desire to make it unfortunately he to had a injuries as well.

What people lose sight of (often conveniently) is Flanno was contacted by people at the club at that time for input. He obliged when he should have said sorry bye and hung up.

It wasn’t like he personally oversaw war crimes but it was certainly dumb.

From memory club fined for their part in making contact.

Thank goodness they cleaned the joint out

Not a good argument my fine fishy friend.

If someone asks you to steal from a charity, you can decline.

He cheated, no pigs ear into a silk purse

But as I said, a coaching parole period might be ok.

Would I trust him personally? No.

Slippery Morris

If Saints don't go Flanno, Carr should possibly put ahead of Hornby and Young. He has been impressive and if they wait till the end of the year to give it to Carr he will have more NRL HC experience than Hornby and Young.

But in saying that I feel that Flanno will get the role. I hope Carr is still part of the coaching set up as he has been impressive.

Mojo

Fair dinkum! Nobody has said anything about Carr's future being in doubt.
Two players quoted as saying Ryan Carr is OK. Big whoop! FFS!
No 'emotional burst', no 'basking in the warm glow of a mighty victory', no reference to 'subcommittee' of 'players union' pushing 'propaganda'.
I sincerely hope you're joking.

Not a good argument my fine fishy friend.

If someone asks you to steal from a charity, you can decline.

He cheated, no pigs ear into a silk purse

But as I said, a coaching parole period might be ok.

Would I trust him personally? No.
I’m not sure he would give a rats if you or I trust him. I don’t think much fazes him.

He sure needs to learn to pull his head in and follow rules, but can he coach? Yep he sure can.

I just hope his son stays well away from the dragons as a half back. The team needs much better

I’m not sure he would give a rats if you or I trust him. I don’t think much fazes him.

He sure needs to learn to pull his head in and follow rules, but can he coach? Yep he sure can.

I just hope his son stays well away from the dragons as a half back. The team needs much better

Yes, I agree.

Coaching parole is my win/win solution. 2 years under club monitoring and if he agrees to that, then I’m ok. Doesn’t need to be public.

If he doesn’t agree, then he’s a bit too proud for sgi.

The club needs servants not demigods.

This is a massive blue chip opportunity for any coach.

They have to check their sense of entitlement and privilege early. It’s a big job.

Crush

If Saints don't go Flanno, Carr should possibly put ahead of Hornby and Young. He has been impressive and if they wait till the end of the year to give it to Carr he will have more NRL HC experience than Hornby and Young.

But in saying that I feel that Flanno will get the role. I hope Carr is still part of the coaching set up as he has been impressive.
Carr has been impressive but he’s taken over from the Hook so all he really had to do was put hand breaks like Mbye out of the team and tell them that it’s OK to offload and play football.
Hook was just that bad, anyone would be a huge improvement.
Flanno will get them firing and he’ll attract some good players too.
Things are looking up mate.

dannyt

Would be tragic to lose him as he’s been one of the best assistant coach signings in many many years.
It would be ironic if the Dragons has some later season success under his coaching style.
The search for our next head coach has been lengthy & embarrassing, yet the ideal candidate may have been right under our nose to build a future with Ryan Carr.

Hope he remains the attack coach under Flanno (if & when)
with the long term view to eventually be the HC gaining more experience & input.
Best assistant since Demetriou? Hopefully those in power have learned from the many past errors.

justadragon

Great post!
yep absolutely, thing is what Flanno does should only matter to the Dragons, no media experts with contradicting opinions, if they believe he is the man for the job then so be it, we think he is and thats good enough for me. My first choice was Des and then Flanno, but it looks like Flanno and he will have my support, I would have offered to Ryles as well, he didnt believe he was the right guy or didnt get what he wanted, good see yah later. If you dont think you are worthy to coach this mighty club then be gone and good riddance.

Prefer Des, but I won’t be death riding Flanno if he gets it.

And it’s too hard to compare what will happen under another coach. Too many variables.

Unless of course you end up like the wt by appointing mates over competence and merit and winning less than 10% of games which is totally unacceptable.

And why I’m watching other teams play in the NSW cup as a live event next week.

Mojo

Not sure all the commentary that Dean Young will be an assistant to Flanno.
Does Flanno want that? Would Deano want that?

I do hope Ryan Carr stays as an assistant coach if Flanno gets it. Whoever picked him for this year did well.
I'd be willing to bet that there were a number of recruitment decisions in Hook's latter days, including assistant coaches, that had zero input from him. I suspect there are some people in management who cop heaps because they've had to do things without it being known.

Mojo

Yes, I agree.

Coaching parole is my win/win solution. 2 years under club monitoring and if he agrees to that, then I’m ok. Doesn’t need to be public.

If he doesn’t agree, then he’s a bit too proud for sgi.

The club needs servants not demigods.

This is a massive blue chip opportunity for any coach.

They have to check their sense of entitlement and privilege early. It’s a big job.
What do you mean by 'coaching parole'? Why would anybody take on the job on such a basis? Why would we appoint any coach on'parole'? What makes you think Flanno considers himself a 'demigod'?

Illusion

Hear hear
Its why I miss Dufty dearly
Watching him run the field at games was electric
especially in person
we need someone who can do that again
That try when someone said to him "run Duft" - that was pure magic
Not bad for a guy no one could use even off the bench , our top try scorer and most try assists more than our halves ...... They game is that fast now but no one can use him coming into a game when players are tired .......