Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Coronavirus and NRL

unforgiven

Movie cinemas got mentioned though... how is it different
I didn't hear that the cinemas were banned but you are sitting right next to someone for 2 hrs in a cinema, with a person less than a metre in front of you with another person 1 metre behind. Same as your seat at the footy

Cactus

I do wonder about the actual capacity of facilities and supplies though. All the supplies don't just appear out of thin air. We (probably) can't make them here and there is massive international demand.

The good thing is so far we here in Australia are not effected to the same degree as many other countries and we moved early so I would contend its more than likely we will be far better off than most and need less in terms of supplies.

wibble

He is right about the issue with the health department once schools are closed though! How does the health system cope if schools are closed?

He repeated that rubbish that Mark Scott said the other day. That closing schools will increase the spread.

Which is patently untrue, from both modelling and the experiences in other countries.

And someone will call them out on it when they do close schools in a week or two.

"Why are you closing schools? You said that would increase the infection spread?"

That is a line used to soften us up for the experimental social distancing delay Johnson is trying.

Many sectors are affected if schools close, obviously. Anyone with kids at school has their routine disrupted.

I actually like the idea that children of essential service workers still come to school, as is being done in some countries. Those numbers could be kept metres apart. As could just teachers, who could at least be at school a little to supervise those kids and coordinate how they're going to keep teaching all the ones at home.

You might have to have good stocks in your awesome chill pills when trying to keep school kids 1.5 metres apart. How do you think that will go? Got any tips?

"Hey, year 2. Quiet please. I know there are 30 of you, and you are all 8 years old, but you will have to wait patiently in this 50 metre long line to get into class. One at a time kids. No rushing. Oh, Johnny, you're the 10th in line. You're the last to go in. Now you other kids, just stand patiently apart from each other while I teach this lot, then you'll get a turn in an hour or so. Remember, you can't go near each other. That includes if you need to use the toilet, or the canteen. We'll discuss using the toilet hygienically next lesson."

I know. We could ask them to...

Yes. CTFD

That is a great response. Likely to achieve heaps....

Why would the PM bother saying that he expects that to happen, when it is absolute pie in the sky?

wibble

The good thing is so far we here in Australia are not effected to the same degree as many other countries and we moved early so I would contend its more than likely we will be far better off than most and need less in terms of supplies.

How have we "moved early"?

wibble

Well if you look at Italy, it basically became a national catastrophe before they started calling off Serie A (which is their incredibly popular soccer league)

I agree. But Italy are not the standard we want to be judged by.

That graph from Perth Red, while having Australia in an early phase, shows we are right on trajectory with nearly every European country.

The Asian countries that actually "acted early" have a downward trajectory compared to where we are at.

wibble

It will achieve a whole lot more than the hand wringing, hair pulling, fretting and generally seized with panic responses from pseudo alarmist non experts.

I'm glad you're not a hand wringing, hair pulling, fretting and generally seized with panic pseudo alarmist. Telling people to take chill pills and CTFD, rather than make any point at all, is obviously the superior intellectual course.

wibble

Isn’t wonderful we don’t manufacture anything anymore?

I don't even know if it is possible. But if it is, every manufacturer everywhere, should be busy making parts for whatever machines we need to keep people alive once their lungs start flooding.

Maybe 3D print them, as much as possible? I don't know, but it seems a shortage of machinery is the bottleneck throughout the world that causes Italian style mortality rates and the need for big social distancing.

I guess Italy would be doing it if it was possible.

Cactus

I'm glad you're not a hand wringing, hair pulling, fretting and generally seized with panic pseudo alarmist. Telling people to take chill pills and CTFD, rather than make any point at all, is obviously the superior intellectual course.

It must be difficult for you to convince people of your alleged superior intellect when you cant seem to refrain from this :

panic cartoon.jpg

wibble

It must be difficult for you to convince people of your alleged superior intellect when you cant seem to refrain from this :

View attachment 36803

Another zinger.

Since I'm obviously a panicking non expert, can you at all answer the post that set you off?

The PM said he expects 1.5 m social distancing to happen in schools. I said it is not possible.

Bring your undoubted genius and calm reassurance, not to mention awesome meme sharing, to the problem at hand. How exactly is it possible to run schools with 1.5 m social distancing?

Reactions: abc