alexwilliams_66692007
And all of a sudden, possible new 5 year deal LOL
Channel Nine eyes AFL rights, heaps pressure on NRL
Nine Entertainment Co chief executive Hugh Marks has expressed a willingness to walk away from NRL if the sport does not significantly reduce its broadcast fee, stoking suggestions the network could make a play for AFL beyond 2022.
An industry source said Nine, the publisher of this masthead, had a genuine interest in securing rights to AFL when both codes’ deals expire in 2022, if the network was unable to come to an agreement with NRL for an extended deal at a cheaper rate.
The Age reported last month that the AFL was working behind the scenes on a two-year contract extension through to 2024 with its free-to-air broadcast partner, Channel 7, and pay TV operator Fox Sports at a marginally reduced rate, and this would have to be shelved for Nine to enter negotiations for AFL matches.
Nine has strategically ramped up its AFL content in recent times, screening stable program Footy Classified two nights a week in Melbourne and significantly increasing its digital AFL content.
Sources close to negotiations have since told The Age that Nine is seeking a further reduction as part of the company’s reassessment of the value of live sport, but is willing to provide the NRL with the long-term security of an extended rights deal until the end of 2025, an additional three years on top of the current arrangement that expires at the end of 2022.
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/channel-nine-move-on-afl-20200505-p54q4z.html
Jesus that’s a poor take from Marks. Who is he trying to convince? The majority of the RL public don’t trust News limited and his team at Nine have spent the past few weeks showing us what coverage they’d produce if given the keys."Surely it would be better if we just relied on what the broadcasters were already doing rather than going into competition and creating a whole other cost base on top of what already exists. We know what the NRL needs, which is a direct communication with their fan base.
"That can be facilitated through Nine and through Fox Sports and by us sort of supporting the nrl.com website. We can do that a lot more cost effectively than they can. For us, it's about saying, 'Here's one opportunity for you to reduce your cost base and make the sport more sustainable for the long term'."
God let it be true. VFL to 9 and NRL to 7 *f**king drool*
(I wonder if they will bury VFL on the digital channels at midnight in NSW/QLD...)
You hit the nail on the head. What has been lost is most advertising during the NRL season is booze and betting. When the NRL hits the screens I wager that bet 365, Sportsbet, Tab and others will be FIGHTING to get their product seen and will pay top dollar$So do advertisers ask for the same Covid-19 discounts Marks is requesting?
You hit the nail on the head. What has been lost is most advertising during the NRL season is booze and betting. When the NRL hits the screens I wager that bet 365, Sportsbet, Tab and others will be FIGHTING to get their product seen and will pay top dollar$
I think it's time the NRL abandoned these scummy, archaic broadcasters and moved to a Netflix style subscription service.
As a ballpark figure, $19 per month or $195 annual pass. You'd get every 2nd household in Qld and NSW on board I reckon; plus plenty more throughout Australia.
Now obviously it's a lot more complex than throwing out the name "Netflix" and a dollar value; but principally this should be the way forward.
I think it could be just as profitable in the long run and it has the delicious added bonus of sending Foxtel bust and probably doing the same to Channel 9.