Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch 2013

beave

I wanted this game to be the season opener but like others have pointed out, manly broncs was a gimme considering the heritage reasons for 2013 and the crowd for that game was helped along a little being the first game of the year for Brisbane, cows bronxs is going to be massive regardless of the timing so for crowd averages we can't complain really with what has happened this year. I went to the 2001 season opener up here against brisbane and it was f**king insane how much rain we got in the day leading up to it, still 20k turned up in atrocious weather and saw a good game, sadly i doubt the same turnout would happen these days. We appreciate the scheduling this year of minimal home games in the wet season, and holistically it helps the leagues averages as well.

I still think its awesome that it will attract nearly 50k fans, it wasnt that long ago nq v brisbane was lucky to attract 20k in Brisbane, and im only talking 10-11 years ago as well.............

It will be considered a successful crowd if it beats last years figure for the same fixture. This will also prove that it isn't necessary for it to be always in round one.

Yeah if its between 43k (last year) and 45k -2011, I think its a success.

I remember the 2007, and 2008 -> 50ks and it makes me a bit sad haha.

2010 48.5k was a ripper too.

The thing i find interesting is the 2008 was a few rounds in too - and it was 50,612 - broncos has won the first two, and cowboys had lost the first two.

Shouldn't you want a heap of games away during all this wet weather - by the sounds of it the rest of this week will be brutal for you guys up there.

I think the only weekend that would make it good for NTH QLD people to travel down would be easter weekend - but flights would destroy the budget.

I'll definitely throw in a mea culpa if we top 45, because I have been a pretty vocal opponent of moving this from round 1.

As for the weather up north, there's a double edged sword with scheduling everything away from the the tail end of the wet. On the one hand (I can speak from experience quite a few years ago) the Bruce Highway is a pretty fickle mistress when it comes to rain (and I made the trek south to Browns... Townsville a few times - to see the Broncs of course!) so there's an obvious problem early in the season. Flip side is that if you cram too many games late in the season week-on-week, you're going to make it much more of a "chore" for the out of Townsville supporters who do come to most games to get there.

I still think its awesome that it will attract nearly 50k fans, it wasnt that long ago nq v brisbane was lucky to attract 20k in Brisbane, and im only talking 10-11 years ago as well.............

Yeah, I remember some pretty quiet afternoons at ANZ Stadium for the Cowboys games. I guess they were considered a bit of a joke (not be me, I must add!) back when they(a) were sort of crap, and (b) were sponsored by Overflow. I think I mentioned in an earlier post how the Broncs once promoted this clash with the cringeworthy "Country Music Day". I remember feeling faintly embarrassed.

I think the Cows beating the Broncos in 04 really kick-started the interest up in Brisbane as the Broncos tend to get the royal treatment whenever they come to Townsville every year. But once, the Cows start getting a few wins on the board things changed pretty quickly, I assume this is how it went beave back then as I only been watching league since 09.

Cumberland Throw

Gee I hope the pax of 9000 doesn't include members

As scg/sfs has like 8000 members and roosters 8000

So have we sold -7000 tickets ??

I think the Cows beating the Broncos in 04 really kick-started the interest up in Brisbane as the Broncos tend to get the royal treatment whenever they come to Townsville every year. But once, the Cows start getting a few wins on the board things changed pretty quickly, I assume this is how it went beave back then as I only been watching league since 09.

Funny you should say that. I was just looking through Youtube clips and came on this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7M5j_hplcc

Even though we lost that night this is one of my favourite games of footy ever. I remember fist pumping the air for the Cowboys and the crowd was just manic. I am sure that I remember reading somewhere that this game rated 92 in Townsville.

beave

Good assessment mate, you're spot on IMO. That 04 semi is still the best night of footy I have ever been to, was the night I think a lot of NQ people believed in the club and what it stood for. Its just a shame they pissed it all away a few years later (08-11) with absolutley diabolical performances over a 3 year period that really left a sour taste in the mouth of a lot of fans, especially the out of towners who really cop a financial hiding when attending games here with all the associated costs for travelling and accommodation. These people are still there but now have foxtel and are content with watching in the comfort of their own home and not having to travel hours to get here and back. The cowboys didnt need to win a prmership in that time to keep people interested but finishing mid to top would have IMO kept their interest at levels that would have retained a lot of members, we had 10k season ticket holders back then FFS.But again, the assclowns through complete idiocy, pissed it all away and to this day, i doubt we will ever see those averages for a long time that we got in our first 10 years if ever at all which is a massive shame because this area is league mad.

2010 was shocking thankfully they clean out everything and it bought some relative success compare to the shockers of the past, 2013 not the best of beginnings but there still hope providing Cows win on Friday and hold onto the damn ball they got a shot.

Its not that bad timmah. Train it from Gosford to central, express buses to and from the stadium, or you can walk and get on the piss at the pubs on the way! So why have you said public transport isn't the go??

I live on the northern part of wyong shire and work in northern Newcastle but I will be there.

very soft post by you there

I'm quite happy to save my pennies. I work til 5pm anyway, so public transport will just be a rush and a cost I cbf laying out for. Would also mean a minimum home time of midnight.

This is in stark contrast to home games at ANZ where I can get to the game within 70-odd minutes, have a park 50m from my seat, and am home before 10pm in most cases.

Raiderdave

whats wrong with public transport for all these whingers complaining about driving at that time of the day , which I agree can be a pain, & then paying a motza for parking when you don't have to.

catch a train to central & a bus to the SFS ( they have dozens parked outside that run a loop there on game day ) & the reverse going home

whats that saying
when theres a will theres a way

it appears theres no will
plain n simple.:roll:

Yep and the fact most Bulldog supporters wouldn't bother trying to get to Moore Park on a friday night from the Cantebury/Bankstown and surrounding areas... To say it's a hassle is an understatement. Sunday and the game would've sold out (Obviously minus the SCG Trust members).

Do all Dogs fans base themselves in Homebush for the entirety of Friday? Do no dogs fans work in the city or surrounds?

whats wrong with public transport for all these whingers complaining about driving at that time of the day , which I agree can be a pain, & then paying a motza for parking when you don't have to.

catch a train to central & a bus to the SFS ( they have dozens parked outside that run a loop there on game day ) & the reverse going home

whats that saying
when theres a will theres a way

it appears theres no will
plain n simple.:roll:
Not tomorrow, no there's not a will. Not with all the circumstances. Judge me all you like.

If it interests you, I'm still going to head to Newcastle for the 5:30pm Saturday game. I attended 3 games on the Easter weekend and 2 last weekend. I'll still be going to the ANZAC Day game and Canterbury's match with Cronulla in Gosford... if I can't be arsed going to a game in a location that I don't believe is worth it, that's my choice.

Frailty

Going to my first game at Brookie this weekend. Looking forward to it - catching the CSSC Bus of Dreams to the game.

Hopefully I'm not too rooted from Tough Mudder on the Saturday.

Do any Canterbury fans live in Canterbury ?

I think that Bankstown makes up 90% of fan base
As someone who lives on the Central Coast, surely you know that the majority of most clubs' fan-bases aren't necessarily in their main suburbs any more...?

ouwet

Do all Dogs fans base themselves in Homebush for the entirety of Friday? Do no dogs fans work in the city or surrounds?

Of course a lot do (Me included)... That's the only reason why I'm going because it's easy to get to for me! However IF I worked out west or southwest, I'd give this game a miss (On friday night, saturday/sunday different story)... We're not all based in the Eastern Suburbs and a troll to the SFS!!

morley101

I work in Parra and will be getting to the game at the SFS on Friday.

All you need is a bit of desire and patience with the traffic... The cross city
tunnel is good value just don't take the exit for the eastern distributor...