Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch 2014 part 2

Kirky

Canberra's a ghost town on long weekends. Everyone flees. I'm not in town, and nor are any of the people I usually go to games with. Lower your expectations fellas.

RWB

Agree the NRL scheduling of games has been piss poor.

1 game today is an outright joke.

3 games on Good Friday is just silly. Should have been Souths v Dogs and Knights v Broncos. The Manly v Cowboys game just down the road from Hunter Stadium at the same time was farrrkkkkkked scheduling.

People can keep blaming it on the scheduling but Manly chose to move the game to Bluetongue AFTER the draw & schedule was released.

Not a whole lot the NRL & Schedulers can do about that...

guyver78

lol I know you are trolling dragons fans but roosters provided a healthy contingent at Shark Park, 2-3k at least. I challenge anyone who was there to deny it.

Which is about all you can fit at Shark park :D
I didn't think 12,000 was all that bad and about all I expected there.

I also don't think that the crowd at Gosford on Friday night was that bad either, to be honest I was expecting far less people.

There was probably about 5 Cowboys fans up there so it was 99%+ Manly. Tickets were dirt cheap which is why people turned up and I was going to drive up with my Manly mate but there wasn't enough time after the Rabbitohs v Dogs game.

Like I keep saying, make the tickets cheap enough and people will come to games. When something is cheap it sells itself. Look at the Friday game, they didn't discount tickets until the last minute because they expected 51,000 people to just flock in. When it looked like it wasn't going to get anywhere near 51,000 they discounted the tickets by 50% but by then it was already too late.

Hopefully Tigers v Eels gets 60,000 and shows everybody that if you can make something affordable and good value for money for the fans people will turn up.(YES even Manly fans 50 K's away from Brookie)

Spot on RE: the Manly/Cowboys being a late move to Gosford. The original plan would've been for the Sea Eagles and Raiders to play in China, that fell through so Manly had to choose a second game to move to Gosford. Cowboys was it - should've been the Raiders still.

I was going to drive up with my Manly mate but there wasn't enough time after the Rabbitohs v Dogs game.

Left Dogs/Souths after fulltime, walked into Gosford at 7:20pm. Wasn't an issue :p

Billythekid

It's kinda unfair to expect the CC to really draw a big crowd to a game like Manly v Cowboys. The whole reason they're moving it in the first place is because no one gives a sh*t about the game. Even at Manly they would have struggled to reach 5 figures. It's pretty much as unappealing of a game that you could find for neutrals in the NRL.

Pretty much. Just a month ago, Manly v Souths drew in more than 15k if memory serves me, plus 3 sellouts in the past 3 years.

undertaker

Poor crowd in Canberra. Thought the locals would've turned out in force on a perfect Sunday afternoon with no other games on today.

Dutchy

It's a decent long weekend. Canberra folk use the time well to get out of that shithole for a few days.

Expected.

10,941... above average for them to be fair.

Easter Sunday has never been good either - last year Newcastle only got 18k, Penrith 8k.

Now for Raiderdave to bite back at all the Saints fans...

Flapper

Easter Sunday is the absolute worst day out of the 4 for footy crowds, I know a lot of people are questioning the rationale behind only 1 game today but I completely understand it.

georgesnmith

10k on sunny Sunday afternoon is not good. Eels vs tigers should be huge tomorrow 40k minimum.

Pax numbers were 13k ahead of the dogs / souths game so if members and walk ups are the same it should crack 50k.

eels tigers i would rate with souths dogs in terms of popularity in sydney

Got tickets with pax of 36345 this arvo. The $40 family tickets give you 2 adults and 4 kids so 2 will go unused for us. It's a great idea for bigger families or for kids to bring a mate though.

boonboon

Got tickets with pax of 36345 this arvo. The $40 family tickets give you 2 adults and 4 kids so 2 will go unused for us. It's a great idea for bigger families or for kids to bring a mate though.

Perhaps if you offered them back to the club - they could find a couple of deserving kids to offer them too - just a thought

Can't wait to get out their tommorrow - taking my wife and parents to the game - so that will be 3 more tickets yet to be purchased

pHyR3

yup, 40k should be doable.

However, this game had $30 family tickets, i picked up 1 but am using none of the FOUR kid tickets. Figured, $15 GA adult tix were decent value.