Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch, Part III

Cumberland Throw

I wasn't suggesting that storm get every Monday. But 4-5 a year against good teams on mnf , with the city so close and no competition from afl. Could be a winner

Better than today's methodology. Of whatever fox choose as game1 gets Monday

DC_fan

Why the drop of in crowds this season?

We are presently on track to have our biggest percentage fall in crowds since 2006. We could even have our biggest fall since 2001 if numbers don't improve.

So what's different about this season compared to 2012. Last seasons figures were up about 1 percent on the previous seasons. Not a huge increase, but we were heading in the right direction.

As I said what different about this season compared to last.

The cost for me to attend games this season is no different to last season. I am not sure if that's the case with other supporters. Assuming that it is we can't blame costs.

The weather this season has been fantastic, little or no rain. So we really can't blame the weather.

People say there is too many night games (which is true) and they want more day games. But the kickoff times for games this season are the same as last season and the same as the season before.

The thought was that fans would return after state of origin. They haven't. So why are fans staying away?

BuffaloRules

Compare the 2005 season to this season;

Top 4 2005- Parra, Dragons, Tigers, Brisbane.

Those 4 teams are close to your bottom 4 this year.

Cumberland Throw

A lot of the older heads I talk to are seriously saying the play this year is just so meh ;

Some factors ;

Same style in all teams.
Same 5 hit up bomb style play
Wrestling defence
No little guys really expect 2 or 3
Little personality in players
Bad scheduling
Delayed tv coverage
Shit commentary
Sd coverage

A lot of the older heads I talk to are seriously saying the play this year is just so meh ;

Some factors ;

Same style in all teams.
Wrestling defence
Bad scheduling
Delayed tv coverage
Shit commentary
Sd coverage

The negative publicity and resultant backlash from fans regarding no shoulder charges and no biffo is perhaps also showing. Going around facebook, there seems to be a lot more negative comments regarding the game's impending death than previously

Saint Doc

Some factors ;

Same style in all teams.
Wrestling defence
Bad scheduling
Delayed tv coverage
Shit commentary
Sd coverage

I see your point, but I don't think the last 3 would decrease crowds!! Interest maybe

newman

Some factors ;

Same style in all teams.
Wrestling defence
Bad scheduling
Delayed tv coverage
Shit commentary
Sd coverage

I'm a footy tragic and apart from my team, I really don't give a shit. I'll have a game on and couldn't tell you who was winning I'm that disinterested and distracted. This has only developed this year. I just came from oztag, and coincidentally we just had the same conversation. Dudes I play with are serious about their footy too, some have played at high levels and a couple make a living from coaching and they feel the same so anecdotally something's up with the quality this year.

Jason Maher

I saw adverstisements for the Doggies/Titans game too,something like buy a ticket and get the 2nd for $10 or something,can't remember exactly but something about $10 tickets

Can't even get a better crowd then the wooden spooners with promotions

Eels > Doggies

It was "bring a mate for free". Obviously should have been "bring a braaaaa for free".

Jason Maher

Why the drop of in crowds this season?

We are presently on track to have our biggest percentage fall in crowds since 2006. We could even have our biggest fall since 2001 if numbers don't improve.

So what's different about this season compared to 2012. Last seasons figures were up about 1 percent on the previous seasons. Not a huge increase, but we were heading in the right direction.

As I said what different about this season compared to last.

The cost for me to attend games this season is no different to last season. I am not sure if that's the case with other supporters. Assuming that it is we can't blame costs.

The weather this season has been fantastic, little or no rain. So we really can't blame the weather.

People say there is too many night games (which is true) and they want more day games. But the kickoff times for games this season are the same as last season and the same as the season before.

The thought was that fans would return after state of origin. They haven't. So why are fans staying away?

Both donkeys and tits ticket prices are up this year.

Does anyone that posts in this thread ever go to games themselves?

Yes!

Speaking for myself I went to my first day game on the weekend. I would dearly love a few more Sunday arvos at the footy. I think next round of TV negotiations we need to get more control over the draw and start spreading things around.

Well, post-Origin I have just been to a 31k game. During Origin they were low 20s, albeit on Monday nights. Crowds are back in my hood (or at least hopefully will be this Friday night as well).

I think the 630 Sunday timeslot is crap. Ditto Monday. I think the NRL needs to be able to deliver regionally appropriate slots to certain teams, particularly Penrith, Canberra and NQ.

As for grounds like Brooky: they are well loved, as witnessed by the vehement defence they get around this forum. However, and this is an important however, when their crowds are good, they are still in the high teens (or thereabouts). When they are woeful, they are in the four figures, and sometimes well down there.

I am not going to reargue getting rid of these grounds, but does anyone here have a sensible suggestion for them? If we are going to keep all of these, how can I put this?, legacy teams in the comp, what can we do to break their crowds out of the boom-bust cycle? Surely the grounds play a part?

footy75

The negative publicity and resultant backlash from fans regarding no shoulder charges and no biffo is perhaps also showing.

i seriously doubt this has affect on crowd numbers...

'oh im not going to go to the game and follow my team this week because of the shoulder charge rule and there wont be any fights'

people that stop supporting their team and going to games because of that should stay away...pathetic if that's the case.

Cumberland Throw

The one thing that the nrl can actively do to attempt to boost crowds

Is start planning next years 26 round fixture right now

Get fox, nine in a room. Go through every single round day by day, highlight the pros and cons of every game every round,

They cannot persist with this blank cheque pick your own adventure style draw

i seriously doubt this has affect on crowd numbers...

'oh im not going to go to the game and follow my team this week because of the shoulder charge rule and there wont be any fights'

people that stop supporting their team and going to games because of that should stay away...pathetic if that's the case.

I would say there is a general negative perception around the game turning "soft" and perhaps this is manifesting in turning the casual viewer, who was never too serious of a suppoter in the first place, away

Diesel

Get fox, nine in a room. Go through every single round day by day, highlight the pros and cons of every game every round,

I agree.

Certain teams draw better on specific times/days and public holidays should be taken more into account for events. We currently have Good Friday and ANZAC Day but regional holidays like Showdays or national ones like Queens Birthday should be afternoon games.

Play Saturday arvo most weeks between May and August and drop a few night games

Diesel

I agree.

Certain teams draw better on specific times/days and public holidays should be taken more into account for events. We currently have Good Friday and ANZAC Day but regional holidays like Showdays or national ones like Queens Birthday should be afternoon games.

Play Saturday arvo most weeks between May and August and drop the second Friday game; Nine you f*cktards its not hard to schedule one of 3 QLD teams vs one of 10 NSW teams each Friday if you want ratings

franklin2323

Does anyone that posts in this thread ever go to games themselves?

I do. Seems those that panic the most don't go. We are fine a few amendments to the prices and it will be right up there eg ALL GA tickets $10 adults, Kids $5. There's a few individual clubs (mine included) pulling the others back.

Eels, Dragons and Tigers being the bottom 3 doesn't help but overall there's not huge problems not using EVERY public holiday to market as 'Events' also

Fri night I went to Mel v Souths game.
I am a Cows fan(from QLD) & had to visit Mel & made sure it was a home game for the Storm.
I went as a neutral fan ,because I love RL,yet the spastics who scream the loudest about crowds like bunniesderp,cant even travel a few Kms to watch their own team .