Teddyboy
I don't think many of the crowds are good. But I actually attend games. Too many excuses from others for mine.
Why are crowd's crap at the mo.
I don't think many of the crowds are good. But I actually attend games. Too many excuses from others for mine.
Why are crowd's crap at the mo.
Rugby League from a crowd spectacle perspective is dying.
People have no affiliation to particular teams.
ANZ Stadium is a terrible venue.
AFL troll.Rugby League from a crowd spectacle perspective is dying.
The funny thing is we are more than likely going to finish with the highest average attendance in Sydney and the 2nd highest in the NRL..... good post
Mate they got greedy and they paid the price, simple as that. I was at the game on friday night and even though there was 30,000 people there the stadium had lots of ugly and embarrassing big empty patches. This is what really pisses me off with the NRL, the second they think that they can screw people for a few more $$$ they go and re-categorize seats and put ticket prices up.
They were asking $55 for a Category 1 reserved seat if you wanted to buy your ticket at the ground on the day and what's even worse is they've re-categorized the seats so now Bays 103-104, 111-112, 134-135 and 126-127 are Category 1 and no longer general admission. Google those bays, find the interactive seating plan at ANZ stadium and tell me if you'd pay $45-55 to sit there.
That's why you saw all those ugly empty patches of rows and rows of seats on TV. Last year these seats were $25, this year they're double so that's why you see all these empty patches in all 4 corners.
Stick your middle finger up at those who support you and go to games all year and you'll get the same back. In my opinion 30,000 was a crappy crowd and i doubt there was anymore then 10,000 Dogs supporters there and looking at what they were allocated for the price can anybody blame them for not turning up?
ANZ Stadium is a great venue. No more than 40mins by train from the city, food and drink queues aren't too long, members bar is great, corporate facilities are fantastic. The only issue with ANZ is that it's so big the atmosphere is not great if there isn't 20k plus fans attending. We need to move away from suburban footy. No neutral fan is going to catch a train to Campbelltown or bus to Kogarah lets be realistic. The Sydney teams need to be more centralised. We need to have a goal of 20k fans minimum each game. We can't do that in suburban grounds.
Can't disagree with you there.Vicky kicky's involvement with ANZ essentially ruined the venue.
by paying a few bucks ( & that's all they paid ) to have it remain an oval venue at the end of Olympics .... it wasn't able to be properly developed into a rectangle stadium like it was originally intended.
while it isn't as bad as some whiners in here claim ... its not as good as it could be either. The latest configuration developments for the venue seem quite good & will .... square up the joint in the lower bowl making it great for crowds of about 40K ... which is all we need at club level for the foreseeable future , & it will revert to its present configuration for games that will easily exceed this figure like Origin .. some prelim finals & the GF
things are on the improve
the centralised stadium strategy has to happen for big games , but there will always be a place for suburban grounds simply because Sydney is the place it is & unlike the fumbles n bumbles in Melbourne , Sydney has sides that come from one end of it .. to the other.
Totally agree with your comments.
I made mention on the Souths forum about the increase in price for season ticket holders to sit in sections they normally sit.
As a general admittance season ticket holder I usually sit in section 126-127. I received an email from the club telling me if I wish to sit in that section for the Bulldogs and Roosters game I would have to pay a further $20. I did not agree with this so I sat elsewhere.
On Friday night I took notice of that area. Very few and I mean very few fans took up the option.
It was all about money and it failed big time. It made the club look stupid.
So what are we expecting tonight?
I reckon 15000 and I will blame the Rooters.if it's not good enough Easts will get the blame...
Rugby League from a crowd spectacle perspective is dying.
11418 at Shark Park