Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch Thread 2009

fanatique

Now we'll see what the Bulldogs have got. Perfect possibility to break 30,000 win and lay down a 25,000 average season. I think they'll do it.

BTW Great Roos V Dragons crowd.

big country

Round 7 so far
Rabbitohs v Sharks @ ANZ 11,208
Broncos v Eels @ Suncorp 30,887
Roosters v Dragons @ SFS 28,926
Storm v Warriors @ Olympic 15,200
Cowboys v Sea Eagles @ DFS 16,153
Raiders v Bulldogs @ Canberra 10,241
Tigers v Knights @ Campbelltown 17,898

7 games 130,513
Average 18,645

Fantastic round apart from Souffs on Friday.

yeah and the raiders v bulldogs match - lowest drawing match which struggled into the 10k zone :roll:

In 8 degree temperatures, sleet falling before kickoff.. terrible.

Any other opposition there would've been less than 8k tbh

Bodsy

Round 7 so far

7 games 130,513
Average 18,645

Fantastic round apart from Souffs on Friday.

That's funny considering we played last place.

There were no Sharks Fans there

90% was Souths fans, the only Sharks fans were those dickheads in that group.

100 people Max

flamin

Round 8:

Sea Eagles v Storm - 14 000
Eels v Cowboys - 8 500
Titans v Rabbitohs - 19 000
Sharks v Roosters - 7 000
Knights v Broncos - 16 000
Raiders v Panthers - 11 000
Dragons v Warriors - 14 500
Bulldogs v Tigers - 28 000

Average - 14 750

sharks v roosters will probably end up getting 10,000...cant see it being as bad as some of the suggestions. no chance of 6000.

you can understand the attendance when the temperature was well below 10 degrees...

Souths Match was played in fine conditions on a Friday night

TBH I can't understand why there weren't more Souths fans there. Fine night, reasonable probability of a win, should all have pointed to at least 15 - 20k Souths fans turning up alone.

In saying that, there were NO Sharks fans there at all. Something else which I couldn't understand because they also had a reasonably high probability of a win.

The draw hasn't exactly been the best for us early. The traditional big games for us (v Roosters, v Dogs, V Tigers) in the first half of the draw have all been away games. If we can remain competitive, we will have a massive back end of the year imo. The games v Dogs, Roosters and Dragons late in the year all have the potential to host blockbuster crowds especially if us, Dragons and Dogs can all stay around the top 4 and the Roosters form picks up.

camsmith

So? Olympic Park was at capacity, sold out, in pouring rain.

Perspective can suck my big one. That game could've cracked 30k if played at Etihad, such was the hype.

It wasn't at capacity but I agree it was a great crowd, I was there and the conditions were appalling.

As they were yesterday for Melbourne vs Adelaide.

84 k not 90k.

AFL fans love to refer to the ANZAC Game as a sell-out but in reality it was 16k below capacity.

Great crowd, but lets get the facts right.

You need to understand that most of that 16k is part of the MCC that doesn't allow the general public to sit there. Therefore a true MCG sellout will only occur if all MCC members turn up.

you can understand the attendance when the temperature was well below 10 degrees...

Souths Match was played in fine conditions on a Friday night
Exactly. Should've been plenty more Souffs fans.
That's funny considering we played last place.

There were no Sharks Fans there

90% was Souths fans, the only Sharks fans were those dickheads in that group.

100 people Max
See DKoR's response below...
TBH I can't understand why there weren't more Souths fans there. Fine night, reasonable probability of a win, should all have pointed to at least 15 - 20k Souths fans turning up alone.

In saying that, there were NO Sharks fans there at all. Something else which I couldn't understand because they also had a reasonably high probability of a win.

The draw hasn't exactly been the best for us early. The traditional big games for us (v Roosters, v Dogs, V Tigers) in the first half of the draw have all been away games. If we can remain competitive, we will have a massive back end of the year imo. The games v Dogs, Roosters and Dragons late in the year all have the potential to host blockbuster crowds especially if us, Dragons and Dogs can all stay around the top 4 and the Roosters form picks up.
That's exactly why I'm upset with it. Souths have boasted 8,000 members. Say the figure was 10k Souffs fans and 1k Sharks, then that's just 2,000 more regular fans than the members. That's not a great figure.

People can jump on the Canberra figure all they like but the stadium was over 50% full in sub-10degree temps. Great by any measure IMO.
It wasn't at capacity but I agree it was a great crowd, I was there and the conditions were appalling.

As they were yesterday for Melbourne vs Adelaide.

You need to understand that most of that 16k is part of the MCC that doesn't allow the general public to sit there. Therefore a true MCG sellout will only occur if all MCC members turn up.
You are aware there's a Fight Club section for people who want to bag RL crowds by comparing them to AFL? Piss off over there mate, we're here trying to be positive about what we're doing for a game in a minor market, and what happened on the weekend was a great feat.

And yes, it was a sell-out, it was declared as such pre-match and in terms of safety, no further patrons would have been admitted.

Bodsy

Why does everyone call Souths 'Souffs'?

if it's an attempt to insult us. It fails miserably.

I read once sentence of what you just said, and then didn't much else... Seriously.

it's easier to type Souffs than Souths tbh, I don't pay attention to the insult side.

If you choose to partake in these sorts of arguments by the way, read everything and comment as such, don't back out citing laziness. Softc**k.

Why does everyone call Souths 'Souffs'?

if it's an attempt to insult us. It fails miserably.

I read once sentence of what you just said, and then didn't much else... Seriously.

this doesn't really belong in this thread...but its because souffs fans have no teef.

9,760 actually.

Round 7 - April 24-27
Panthers v Titans @ CUA Stadium 9,760

Total 140,273 Average 17,534

2009 Total 981,743
2009 Average 17,531

Round 7 previous years:
2008 - 137,541 (Avg 22,924)
2007 - 143,750 (Avg 17,969)
2006 - 117,124 (Avg 16,732)
2005 - 136,237 (Avg 19,462)

MY predictions for Round 7:
Friday
Broncos v Eels @ Suncorp Stadium - 29k (actually 30k)
Rabbitohs v Sharks @ ANZ Stadium - 12k (actually 11k)
Saturday
Roosters v Dragons @ Sydney Football Stadium (3pm kick off) - 27k (actually 28k)
Storm v Warriors @ Olympic Park - 14k (actually 15k)
Cowboys v Sea Eagles @ Dairy Farmers Stadium - 19k (actually 16k)
Sunday
Raiders v Bulldogs @ Canberra Stadium -14k (actually 10k)
Wests Tigers v Knights @ Campbelltown Sports Stadium 3.00pm - 17k (actually 18k)
Monday
Panthers v Titans @ CUA Stadium 7.00pm- 9k (9,760)

Predicted Total: 141k
Predicted Average: 17,625

Decent round of crowds...
------------------------------

Predictions for Round 8:

Sea Eagles v Storm @ Brookvale Oval 7:35pm - 16k
Eels v Cowboys @ Parramatta Stadium 7:35pm - 8k

Titans v Rabbitohs @ Skilled Park 3:00pm -16k
Sharks v Roosters @ Toyota Stadium 5:30pm - 11k
Raiders v Panthers @ Canberra Stadium 7:30pm - 11k
Knights v Broncos @ EnergyAustralia Stadium 7:30pm - 17k

Dragons v Warriors @ WIN Stadium Wollongong, 2:00pm - 14k
Bulldogs v Wests Tigers @ ANZ Stadium, 3:00pm - 29k

Total: 122,000
Average: 15,250

hmm now why is there a hyperlink on my message :-k

brad_19

You are aware there's a Fight Club section for people who want to bag RL crowds by comparing them to AFL? Piss off over there mate, we're here trying to be positive about what we're doing for a game in a minor market, and what happened on the weekend was a great feat.

With all due respect mate, if someone takes a pot at a rival code (in this thread), then they have the right to be corrected. Maybe you should quote the post about the fumblers rubbishing on about full houses when there's only 84k there... it actually was a full house as all public seats were sold.

Anyway, enough on the afl. I was at the storm game on sat night and i was pretty impressed by the turnout. it wasn't the fact that the public seating was full, but it was the sea of white ponchos in the unprotected seating and standing areas. Was absolutely chockers! People just prepared to stand in driving rain is actually a brilliant sight to see - great commitment for your football team.

With all due respect mate, if someone takes a pot at a rival code (in this thread), then they have the right to be corrected. Maybe you should quote the post about the fumblers rubbishing on about full houses when there's only 84k there... it actually was a full house as all public seats were sold.
There was no correction, there was a second comparison made to belittle the achievement.
Anyway, enough on the afl. I was at the storm game on sat night and i was pretty impressed by the turnout. it wasn't the fact that the public seating was full, but it was the sea of white ponchos in the unprotected seating and standing areas. Was absolutely chockers! People just prepared to stand in driving rain is actually a brilliant sight to see - great commitment for your football team.
And both teams turned out an excellent game of footy to boot... 90 minutes worth. Well done all!

MsStorm

9,760 actually.

That's a reasonably good crowd for mnf. seeing there would be few Titans supporters there.
I don't worry too much about crowd nos. for mnf for obvious reasons...we get fantastic ratings on foxtel for those games and hopefully foxtel appreciates this come next tv right deal:)

HOME CROWD AVERAGES

Club (Home games) Total Average

Brisbane (4) 154,991 38,748

Sydney Roosters (4) 83,107 20,777

Warriors (4) 80,335 20,084

Bulldogs (3) 58,086 19,362

North Queensland (4) 75,644 18,911

Gold Coast (3) 54,567 18,189

Parramatta (3) 48,360 16,120