Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

D day for Parramatta

Name three players Parramatta must keep if they are to make the playoffs.

Someone posted an article in the Eels forum, CBF finding it, that said the NRL would start removing players if we weren't under after the 28 days. Unsure exactly how they have the authority to do it legally but if they do i don't think the play for no points was an option. This way we at least got to choose who was released.

correct

http://www.skynewssport.com.au/news-display/nrl-to-force-eels-hand-in-cap-saga/6044

NRL to force Eels' hand in cap saga
Wednesday, 11 May 2016

The NRL could step in and force Parramatta to shed players if they are unable to get under the salary cap in three weeks.

The Eels have just two days to shave the required $570,000 from their books before Friday's clash with South Sydney if they're to play for competition points and keep their season alive.

However the Eels also have another deadline - on June 3 - to respond to the original breach notices handed down by the governing body for alleged salary cap rorts last week.

And if they aren't cap compliant by then, the NRL could look at offloading players for them.

"They can play until the final determination is made in early June. That's when we can make some steps," an NRL spokesperson told AAP.

That could include forcing Eels players to move on, however league central is confident it won't get to that.

While the retirement of Anthony Watmough is expected to be medically approved as a career-ending injury,the club is still frantically searching for a willing team to take on hooker Nathan Peats.

South Sydney ruled themselves out of the running on Wednesday, while Gold Coast have previously said they wouldn't be rushed into spending their cap space.

Rabbitohs coach Michael Maguire shut down talks linking Peats on a return to his former club.

"We have two good dummy halves in Cam McInnes and Damien Cook, I am happy with those boys," he said.

"Peatsy is a good kid, I obviously have had a bit of time with him over the last few years when he was here. It is tough to see him go through what he is going through.

"But I'm sure he will get picked up and, knowing Peatsy, I am sure he will come out of it."

Peats' father Geordi, who played for Canterbury and South Sydney, earlier slammed the conduct of Eels officials Steve Sharp, Tom Issa, Peter Serrao, John Boulous and Daniel Anderson.

The quintet have been provisionally suspended by the NRL over the Eels alleged salary cap rorts.

"You have five fwits on the board who can't add up and it bites a player on the arse when it's not his fault," Geordi Peats told Fairfax Media.

"They reckon they've got nothing to answer for, they are pathetic."

Peats said the players were the ones who ultimately suffered for the board's mistakes, adding his son was a "pawn in the big game".

"(Nathan) is shattered, he's filthy. He's not happy, he can't believe it. They go and buy Kieran Foran and built well this year but obviously they didn't have the money to do it," he said.

"They told him yesterday they can't give him a contract for next year because they stuffed up (2017) as well. They don't know what they're doing."

POPEYE

A professional sport, which the fans pay to see, pay for merchandise and memberships is being taken seriously.... Wow... who'd of thunk it...? :roll:

The NRL obviously don't want to encourage more of what you say with a little extra common sense . . . but if you're content to be a sheep go right ahead, whatever makes your wool blow back

ACTPanthers

The NRL obviously don't want to encourage more of what you say with a little extra common sense . . . but if you're content to be a sheep go right ahead, whatever makes your wool blow back

Ahhh the old "you're all sheep" argument.... Pity that has NOTHING to do with taking a PROFESSIONAL sport seriously and stopping cheating... But sure, keep spinning shit to make yourself sound a lot smarter than you actually are :clap:

Peats has handled himself extremely well in this fiasco, glad his dad has come out and told it like it is!

Nice Beaver

Ahhh the old "you're all sheep" argument.... Pity that has NOTHING to do with taking a PROFESSIONAL sport seriously and stopping cheating... But sure, keep spinning shit to make yourself sound a lot smarter than you actually are :clap:

Don't waste your breath mate.

Anyone who thinks cheating a salary cap in a billion dollar sport, is frivolous and not worth worrying about has no real interest in the sport anyway.

The old chestnut of "oh its OK to do to keep players you already hold" is a doozy.

Jaegerex

So nearing the end of the business day and no approval for Watmough's retirement yet, does that mean Parra aren't playing for points tonight?

LESStar58

So have the points been taken away or what? Nrl.com still says Parra are 5th... the way Nine are carrying on the points are gone

Danish

Was discussing this with mates tonight, why didn't the other 15 other clubs just all agree to not buy any parra players till after origin? The NRL said they couldn't play for point till they were compliant, and really for them to get compliant requires other clubs to help out.

They could have all collectively told them to sit in their own shit and guaranteed that they were removed from finals contention.

Mind you, I'm sure all the independently run clubs probably did do this...

Someone

Was discussing this with mates tonight, why didn't the other 15 other clubs just all agree to not buy any parra players till after origin? The NRL said they couldn't play for point till they were compliant, and really for them to get compliant requires other clubs to help out.

They could have all collectively told them to sit in their own shit and guaranteed that they were removed from finals contention.

you answered your own question.

the nrl is pushing this 'comeback' story for ratings. they needed parra to be playing for points so fans wouldnt walk away and the eels would continue to put effort in.

it reeks of unfairness and tv ratings money grabbing.

parramatta losing their first 2 or 3 games will actually be quite funny to watch.

Last Week

Wow that's some paranoia you have going there.

LESStar58

Someone made a good point somewhere else. Peats to the Titans. Who owns the Titans? The NRL.

Just another example of how this whole thing has been handled with kid gloves.