Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Daily Telegraph: Feleti Mateo launches Eel attack

I don't reckon any of them want to leave. It would take big overs to lure them away from the club.

It's probable Bellamy is looking everywhere for a 7 to replace Cronk when his contract is up, but he's already shown he's happy to pay the functional maximum (under the current salary cap) for Smith and Slater.

Then again he might give Cronk stupid money (which is what at least one other club will be throwing at him for 2013 and beyond) to re-sign.

Or he might do what Brisbane did to keep Lockyer on the cheap and promise him a fat assistant coaching contract for after he retires.

I don't think they wanted to leave either. But their was the risk they would lose them hence they cheated. Smith was certain to join the Gold Coast until the Storm upped their offer and they did that illegally so he ended up staying down there.

I don't think Bellamy is involved with the finances of the club and chooses the amount to offer. More than likely he tells management what players he wants to keep priority wise and others do the negotiations. It's the way it should be. As long as the club is doing the right thing that is.

oldmancraigy

I don't reckon any of them want to leave. It would take big overs to lure them away from the club.

It's probable Bellamy is looking everywhere for a 7 to replace Cronk when his contract is up, but he's already shown he's happy to pay the functional maximum (under the current salary cap) for Smith and Slater.

Then again he might give Cronk stupid money (which is what at least one other club will be throwing at him for 2013 and beyond) to re-sign.

Or he might do what Brisbane did to keep Lockyer on the cheap and promise him a fat assistant coaching contract for after he retires.

Or maybe he'll give him the promise of a fat assistant coach while he's still a player?

lucablight

He's more consistent now.

He plays for Souths for f**ks sake.

Yet Sandow finds form when his contract is up while Mateo turns to shit when his is up. You tell me which one responds best under pressure.

And the beauty is Sandow kept up his form after signing that big contract.

Plenty of creativity in Mateo, no doubt. But he doesn't provide direction which is why he can't be used in the halves. He doesn't even have a kicking game.

By all the outside backs we've signed for next year, plus the couple Kearney discovered this year.

Out of those guys I see three or four blokes with poor attitudes, one that lacks pace and another that either needs more size or more speed to be an attacking threat.

One that brings consistent results - you know, the opposite to what we've had to put up with for the past ten years.

We played to our strengths this year which meant Hayne and the front row.

Next year we have a quality halfback and a lot more strike power out wide. I think we'll play football to suit these extra strengths.

Minor premiers and preliminary finalists. Wouldn't it suck to comfortably make the finals and challenge for the premiership every year. :roll:

Bad luck to them for spending all their money on three players. I think only spending big money on two (Hayne and Sandow) is a better model.

We have a much better front row than Melbourne. Hell we've got a better front row than the Warriors which is why we beat them.

I don't think we wanted to mate. He was playing like a busted arse last year and he wanted too much for an interchange player.

We needed to go in a new direction and that meant cleaning out a lot of the old shit Parramattitudes in the joint. Regardless of how good they were in attack.

Because we needed halves. Back-rowers just aren't as important. Especially when they can't even play good footy with their contract running out.

He's an enigma. He's better off at a club like the Warriors who don't need to rely on him.

Unfortunately we had to address our weaknesses, which started with the halves, and that meant freeing up a lot of money. We didn't get Quade Cooper but we did end up getting Sandow. Considering we already have Hayne on half a million, we couldn't also have kept Mateo on anything close to that or we would go into next year like the Storm - with three players taking up half our salary cap and nothing but reserve graders around them.

We're not the Storm for a couple of reasons. Our attack doesn't revolve around dummy half, and we have a strong front-row.

Given Sandow is a much more instinctive player than Cronk, and Hayne is a better playmaker than Slater, I think you'll see a very different style from us next year.

Because the players we lost play in positions we already had covered. In the end it would have been good to keep Inu because of losing Grothe and Tahu in the pre-season, and all the injuries to outside backs through the year but next year none of it will matter because we'll have a very good team.

I hope Feleti wins next weekend because he was never ever going to win a grand final at the Eels.

Sandow is more consistent than Mateo now? I would hardly think so. Mateo was one of our best players in 07, 08 and one of the Warriors best all season this year. Sandow had a great rookie year but since then only really became consistent after he signed with us. Mateo didn't turn to shit at all when his contract was up. He was on fire with us after he signed with the Warriors at the back end of last season. I notice you keep bringing up the argument that we wouldn't have been able to sign Sandow and Tonga if we had kept Mateo. Let's go over the list of players we've lost over the past two seasons. It's just crazy

Lost at the end of 2009 Kingston, Galuvao,Lowrie, Tautai, Finch, Cordoba, Oake, Hauraki, Latimore, Paulo, B. Wright

Lost at the end of 2010: Mateo, Inu, Cayless, K Keating, Grothe,Tahu, J. Wright

Lost at the end of 2011: Humble, Reddy, Robson, Uaisele, Mitchell, Rogers, Peletelese, Te Maari

Seriously look at all those players we've let go. At least 26 players. I know there are a fair few fringe first graders there but I imagine Finch, Mateo, Inu, Cayless, Grothe, Tahu and Reddy would have been on decent money. I realise we upgraded the contracts of Hayne and Mannah and signed Poore on big money but are Sandow and Tonga really going to take up the salary of 26 players? I find it hard to believe we wouldn't have been able to squeeze in Mateo if we wanted to especially if he was made a priority over Mortimer.

Sandow is more consistent than Mateo now? I would hardly think so. Mateo was one of our best players in 07, 08 and one of the Warriors best all season this year. Sandow had a great rookie year but since then only really became consistent after he signed with us. Mateo didn't turn to shit at all when his contract was up. He was on fire with us after he signed with the Warriors at the back end of last season. I notice you keep bringing up the argument that we wouldn't have been able to sign Sandow and Tonga if we had kept Mateo. Let's go over the list of players we've lost over the past two seasons. It's just crazy

Lost at the end of 2009 Kingston, Galuvao,Lowrie, Tautai, Finch, Cordoba, Oake, Hauraki, Latimore, Paulo, B. Wright

Lost at the end of 2011: Humble, Reddy, Robson, Uaisele, Mitchell, Rogers, Peletelese, Te Maari

Seriously look at all those players we've let go. At least 26 players. I know there are a fair few fringe first graders there but I imagine Finch, Mateo, Inu, Cayless, Grothe, Tahu and Reddy would have been on decent money. I realise we upgraded the contracts of Hayne and Mannah and signed Poore on big money but are Sandow and Tonga really going to take up the salary of 26 players? I find it hard to believe we wouldn't have been able to squeeze in Mateo if we wanted to especially if he was made a priority over Mortimer.
we did also sign ben roberts but i doubt he would cost much unless we are saving some money for a big signing next year why wouldn't you keep a few of these players for depth like humble or rogers who aren't on big money

B-Tron 3000

I notice you keep bringing up the argument that we wouldn't have been able to sign Sandow and Tonga if we had kept Mateo. Let's go over the list of players we've lost over the past two seasons. It's just crazy

I find it hard to believe we wouldn't have been able to squeeze in Mateo if we wanted to
Hold on champ, you're not exactly doing this right. There's a thing called a timeline which you seemed to have forgotten.

None of the guys we lost in 2009 would have cost much (possible exception Finch), and prior to Mateo leaving we added Poore, Shackleton, and upgraded Hayne, Mannah and Mortimer. The only player we knew was going was Cayless, though I get the feeling that Poore's money went up when Caylo left. At that stage there was no idea that Tahu and Grothe were going. So there's no way of knowing that the money for Mateo might have been there.

if he was made a priority over Mortimer.
But he wasn't, and at the time Eels fans would have screamed blue murder if we'd have let the bloody Dogs get the boy with the blue eyes.

In hindsight, I'm sure the Eels club realises that they shouldn't have been drawn into the hype, and probably also thinks that it would have been easier to explain a boy with Mortimer blood in him leaving.

Sandow is more consistent than Mateo now? I would hardly think so. Mateo was one of our best players in 07, 08 and one of the Warriors best all season this year. Sandow had a great rookie year but since then only really became consistent after he signed with us. Mateo didn't turn to shit at all when his contract was up. He was on fire with us after he signed with the Warriors at the back end of last season.

It's all pointless mate.

Sandow's a halfback who can do all the things you want a halfback to do - run, pass, kick, talk.

Mateo's an edge forward who isn't very good at one of the main things you want an edge forward to do - tackle.

Comparing them is a complete waste of time, especially when you're comparing their defence. Teams don't expect good defence from their little men; they do expect it from their back-rowers.

On the other hand, Mateo's offloading game is the icing on the cake of a very good attacking player, but I bet any coach would rather trade his offloading game for better defence.

If he could tackle he'd be an Origin player by now. Even if he never passed the ball.

I notice you keep bringing up the argument that we wouldn't have been able to sign Sandow and Tonga if we had kept Mateo. Let's go over the list of players we've lost over the past two seasons. It's just crazy

Seriously look at all those players we've let go. At least 26 players. I know there are a fair few fringe first graders there but I imagine Finch, Mateo, Inu, Cayless, Grothe, Tahu and Reddy would have been on decent money. I realise we upgraded the contracts of Hayne and Mannah and signed Poore on big money but are Sandow and Tonga really going to take up the salary of 26 players?[/i]

How does that argument make any logical sense? Did you know the 25 man squad is the same size as it was in 2009? All those 26 players have been replaced by other players in the intervening years. That's why our 25 man squad still has 25 players in it. Next year the 25 man squad will once again have more than 24 and less than 26 players in it.

I find it hard to believe we wouldn't have been able to squeeze in Mateo if we wanted to especially if he was made a priority over Mortimer.

It's less about whether we could fit him in and more to do with the fact we just plain didn't want to pay him that much.

You want a couple of things from your elite earners, and Mateo just wasn't providing any of them when we refused to match the Warriors' offer:

1. An 80 minute player

2. Does all the basics required of his position

3. Match winner

4. Turns up every week

So this year he's gone back to doing 3 and 4 again, but he's never offered the first two qualities.

The Warriors can obviously afford a player like Mateo taking up a big chunk of their cap because they have a lot of cheap depth at the club (because lower graders from NZ will stay with the club for less than they could get elsewhere) and because they have good halves who are still locked into cheap contracts.

We didn't have any of those luxuries which means we couldn't have the luxury of an enigmatic 60 minute edge forward who is a lazy defender. Not after he came off contract and wanted more money.

This is how the market works and why the salary cap benefits regional teams. This is why the Broncos can afford to throw huge money at outside backs, because they can get away with spending less everywhere else. Souths were mad to spend so much on Inglis, because it meant their depth suffered - as a Sydney club they have to compete with other Sydney clubs for depth players, which bumps their prices up. This means all Sydney clubs have to basically compete with one less star than the regional teams.

Hold on champ, you're not exactly doing this right. There's a thing called a timeline which you seemed to have forgotten.

None of the guys we lost in 2009 would have cost much (possible exception Finch), and prior to Mateo leaving we added Poore, Shackleton, and upgraded Hayne, Mannah and Mortimer. The only player we knew was going was Cayless, though I get the feeling that Poore's money went up when Caylo left. At that stage there was no idea that Tahu and Grothe were going. So there's no way of knowing that the money for Mateo might have been there.

But he wasn't, and at the time Eels fans would have screamed blue murder if we'd have let the bloody Dogs get the boy with the blue eyes.

In hindsight, I'm sure the Eels club realises that they shouldn't have been drawn into the hype, and probably also thinks that it would have been easier to explain a boy with Mortimer blood in him leaving.

Well said. There's also the fact we were chasing a halfback last year and re-signing Mateo at such an early part of the season probably wasn't the best option if we could nab a big name player in that position instead. It didn't work out that way but hindsight is a wonderful thing right.

Also Finch had a 3 year contract when he was released and we could well be paying for him still now. Then backended deals come into play. Then there is upgrades etc.

None of us know how much spare cash we had leading into 2010 and whether paying big money for Mateo would have been worth it.

grapeape

THE New Zealand Warriors are producing some of the most talented and exciting juniors in rugby league, but their recruitment manager, Dean Bell, deserves as much praise for what he's brought to the table in 2011.

While Greg Inglis was the highest-profile signing of the season, not many will argue that Feleti Mateo has been the buy of the year.

Mateo and Krisnan Inu joined the Warriors from Parramatta this season as part of a package deal and, while the latter is only just starting to repay the faith with some breakthrough performances in the finals, Mateo has been one of their best all season.

Advertisement: Story continues below
His former reserve-grade coach, Craig Culnane, has helped develop some exceptional talent - including Inu, Jarryd Hayne, Kris Keating and Trent Hodkinson - but the one who stands out as the best he's ever coached is the man set to wear the No. 11 jersey for the Warriors on Sunday.

''Feleti was just incredible,'' he said. ''He's the most talented player I have ever had the pleasure of coaching. The things he can do is mind-blowing and as a coach, you loved having him in your team.''

Coach Ivan Cleary wasn't the first coach to use the 108kg ball-playing giant in the halves this season.

But since his brief stint in the No. 6 jersey, Mateo has made a huge impact in the second row, whether coming off the bench or from the opening whistle. While his offload is one of his most dangerous attacking weapons, Culnane still believes he is a better runner of the football.

''Every coach in the league will say, 'Stop Feleti's offload'. It's obviously very dangerous,'' he said. ''But I think his strongest weapon is his running game. When he gets the six on his back he plays like a five-eighth rather than being a big, strong runner. I've always been a big fan of him in the back row when he runs first and looks to use his silky skills second.''

Spare a thought for Parramatta coach Stephen Kearney. Mateo and Inu were released when Daniel Anderson was still at the helm, just weeks before Kearney signed.

Even superstar fullback Hayne still seems puzzled by the club's decision to allow the pair to join the Warriors. After Inu scored the match-winning try against the Tigers a fortnight ago, Hayne tweeted: ''Can some1 name the 2 xfactor players for the [Warriors] an tell me were they from???''.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...o-the-steal-of-the-season-20110927-1kvj9.html

This one is for poopoo.

Everyone can see parra f**ked up except a few suckup brown-noses.

Even superstar fullback Hayne still seems puzzled by the club's decision to allow the pair to join the Warriors. After Inu scored the match-winning try against the Tigers a fortnight ago, Hayne tweeted: ''Can some1 name the 2 xfactor players for the [Warriors] an tell me were they from???''.
Poor Jarryd still hasn't worked out that his own much-publicised contract upgrade of that year played a significant part in the club not also funding upgrades for his two best mates, meaning they had to take up offers from across the ditch. Could some kind soul please explain to him how it all works?

grapeape

Skilful Feleti Mateo capable of beating Manly one-handed
by: Margie McDonald From: The Australian September 28, 2011 12:00AM
Increase Text Size
Decrease Text Size
Print
Email

Feleti Mateo, captain Simon Mannering and coach Ivan Cleary, right, before the Warriors team photo was taken in Auckland yesterday.

FELETI Mateo has topped the NRL list for off-loads for two years, making an average of three a game, but there is one player who can shut him down.

Luckily for him that man is Simon Mannering, Mateo's captain in the Warriors side that will arrive in Sydney later today to prepare for Sunday's grand final against Manly.

"You know what they say, if you can't beat them, join them," Mateo said yesterday. He left Parramatta after five seasons to join the Auckland-based club this year.

"Throughout my whole career, it's been Simon. He was the one bloke that gave me nightmares when I was with the Eels and playing against the Warriors. He always seemed to anticipate me and smother my arm."

That's no mean feat as Mateo produced 72 off-loads last year and 74 this year after 24 games in the regular season. That's an average of three a match.

The origins of his skill he puts down to playing basketball with older brothers Paul and Cooper when he was about 12 or 13.

"Playing basketball, you get into creating second phases," Mateo said. "To me, back then, it didn't seem like much but as I've got older, within structured play, I'm using the same things I used to do on the basketball court."

He refined his remarkable ability to get rid of the ball in a tackle by watching two players in particular.

"Probably the biggest inspiration was Ali Lauitiiti," Mateo said of the former Warriors Dally M second-rower of the year (2002) and New Zealand international. "I used to watch him and look up to him and also guys like (former Canterbury, Parramatta and Australia lock) Jim Dymock.

"They both created second-phase (play) and Ali used to hold the ball in one hand all the time.

"They were just mesmerising the way they used to carve sides up."

That's what most say about Mateo right now when he is in full flight. As Brisbane prepared to meet the Warriors in a qualifying final three weeks ago, coach Anthony Griffin warned his players about Mateo's powers. Melbourne captain Cam Smith did the same before last weekend's preliminary final.

For Mateo, he is just glad to have a second bite of the NRL pie. He was happily ensconced at Parramatta and had thoughts of being a one club man, but the Eels had other ideas.

"Obviously at first I wanted to nut out another contract with Parramatta. When that fell through, I felt bad but then found out the Warriors wanted me so I was over the moon," he said.

"I saw their roster, the coaching staff. I was a bit 'iffy' about moving away from my family but I'd done that before moving to England (one season with the London Broncos) so I had no doubts about coming here.

"I'd like to win this game to repay the favour to the Warriors," Mateo said. "When you play footy everyone wants to win a premiership. But I wouldn't go to a club I didn't think had a chance or were capable of it. I'm here now and everyone has the belief I have that we can do it."

And he brought his good friend Krisnan Inu with him.

"I'd been negotiating with the Warriors for a while but only found out Krisnan was talking to them too in the week leading up to signing," Mateo said.

"When we both found out we were talking with them, we actually did it together.

"It was good to have Kris come with me. We arrived together and spent the first couple of months together. I feel fortunate he came with me and looking back, I think it's the best thing we ever did."
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/new...manly-one-handed/story-e6frg7mf-1226148482361

Poopoo cant take a trick.

lucablight

It's all pointless mate.

Sandow's a halfback who can do all the things you want a halfback to do - run, pass, kick, talk.

Mateo's an edge forward who isn't very good at one of the main things you want an edge forward to do - tackle.

Comparing them is a complete waste of time, especially when you're comparing their defence. Teams don't expect good defence from their little men; they do expect it from their back-rowers.

On the other hand, Mateo's offloading game is the icing on the cake of a very good attacking player, but I bet any coach would rather trade his offloading game for better defence.

If he could tackle he'd be an Origin player by now. Even if he never passed the ball.

How does that argument make any logical sense? Did you know the 25 man squad is the same size as it was in 2009? All those 26 players have been replaced by other players in the intervening years. That's why our 25 man squad still has 25 players in it. Next year the 25 man squad will once again have more than 24 and less than 26 players in it.

It's less about whether we could fit him in and more to do with the fact we just plain didn't want to pay him that much.

You want a couple of things from your elite earners, and Mateo just wasn't providing any of them when we refused to match the Warriors' offer:

1. An 80 minute player

2. Does all the basics required of his position

3. Match winner

4. Turns up every week

So this year he's gone back to doing 3 and 4 again, but he's never offered the first two qualities.

The Warriors can obviously afford a player like Mateo taking up a big chunk of their cap because they have a lot of cheap depth at the club (because lower graders from NZ will stay with the club for less than they could get elsewhere) and because they have good halves who are still locked into cheap contracts.

We didn't have any of those luxuries which means we couldn't have the luxury of an enigmatic 60 minute edge forward who is a lazy defender. Not after he came off contract and wanted more money.

This is how the market works and why the salary cap benefits regional teams. This is why the Broncos can afford to throw huge money at outside backs, because they can get away with spending less everywhere else. Souths were mad to spend so much on Inglis, because it meant their depth suffered - as a Sydney club they have to compete with other Sydney clubs for depth players, which bumps their prices up. This means all Sydney clubs have to basically compete with one less star than the regional teams.

I just realised I forgot to add Walker, Webb, Whatuira and Hicks to the lost at the end of 2011 list. That brings the list of players who've played first grade for the Eels up to 30.

Lost at the end of 2011: Humble, Reddy, Robson, Uaisele, Mitchell, Rogers, Peletelese, Te Maari, Walker, Webb, Whatuira, Hicks

B-Tron if you consider Mateo was already on the books I find it hard to believe we couldn't have offered him a contract given the amount of players we should. Don't you think it would have been better to say prioritise Mateo over Mortimer and not sign say a forward in Webb to keep him? I realise Grothe and Tahu were late withdrawals so there was no way of knowing that cap space would have been available but it makes it even more frustrating in hindsight because if we had re-signed him we would have had an incredible team going into 2012 along with Sandow and Tonga.

Poupou you have to look at the picture as a whole. I don't think Mateo is as bad a defender as you make him out to be. He usually makes 15-20 tackles a game which is not shirking work at all and his attacking prowess far outweighs any of his supposed defensive deficiencies. Anthony Watmough is considered one of the premier second rowers and he once missed 13 tackles in a grand final. Give me a player who can run 100m+, make 20 tackles a game and set up tries over a player who runs for 30m and makes 40 tackles a game anyday.

Anyway I'll have to reply to the rest of your message later.

I just can't believe that we're argueing over 2 guys who have contributed less to their clubs this year than the majority of the New Zealand players, anyone who knows the game well and have seen New Zealand play would tell you that they wouldn't be there if it wasnt blokes like Michael Luck, Ben Mateleno, Simon Mannering, Sam Rapira, James Maloney and more recently Shaun Johnson and Kevin Locke.

I even think Joey G has done more for Manly this year than the 2 players that we're argueing over! it's laughable.

That's right. Inu spent half the year in reserve grade and Mateo has had some shockers through the year including three weeks ago when the Broncos carved him up.

People talking like Mateo's a one man team are missing the fact that he's surrounded by quality players. They really should be getting more credit, but of course the average dopey punter in the street only notices the flashy players.

That's right. Inu spent half the year in reserve grade and Mateo has had some shockers through the year including three weeks ago when the Broncos carved him up.

People talking like Mateo's a one man team are missing the fact that he's surrounded by quality players. They really should be getting more credit, but of course the average dopey punter in the street only notices the flashy players.
maloney is really the unsung hero of the warriors at the moment

Casper The Ghost

I just can't believe that we're argueing over 2 guys who have contributed less to their clubs this year than the majority of the New Zealand players, anyone who knows the game well and have seen New Zealand play would tell you that they wouldn't be there if it wasnt blokes like Michael Luck, Ben Mateleno, Simon Mannering, Sam Rapira, James Maloney and more recently Shaun Johnson and Kevin Locke.

I even think Joey G has done more for Manly this year than the 2 players that we're argueing over! it's laughable.

:crazy::crazy:- You are both currently showing up as certified f**kwits

PooPoo, you talk so much out of your arse that it's hard to tell if there is any good stuff coming out with the excreting bogs from your mouth.:lol:

These days, Mario appears to be a f**king 3P good boy troll.:lol:

No offense to what remains of these living men whose flesh live and blood flows.

In the big-games that matter Inu & Mateo are those few instrumental players that won those games.

Remember Mick Cronin with his damaged eye - he still got to play later in the season and was instrumental in the most important games that counted.

The list of players missing half a season or more who went on to contribute in the big end of season games that counted are many.

For whatever reason, most fans will forget how many games a player missed playing in the top side if their team went on to win the GF.

If Inu & Mateo win this years premiership it will become incredibly insignificant as to how many games they played and how bad they performed during the season!
Most Eel fans will be both happy they won a premiership (which they will this Sunday) and pissed off with our club management for letting these players go.

3P & Osborne will most likely put on their bullshit smiling faces dribbling political "feel nice" talk, but most eels fans will see them for the tossers they really are.

Sour grapes anyone?

The real story is Paul Osborne and 3P destroyed our 2009 squad & onwards & the club in general.
THIS IS FACT.
We are now paying that price.
Daniel Anderson had zero to do with the loss of Mateo & Inu.
They should never had been let go of.
And yes, Michael space-cadet Hagan & Dennis Fitzgerald contributed to the decay of our squad/club as well.
We are, and have been, particularly since DA was undermined & shunted, the laughing stock of the rugby league community.

grapeape

flashy no defense player?

Mateo led the warriors this year in meters gained and hit ups and offloads.

Thats a hard working player.

Do some research.