Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Daily Telegraph: Feleti Mateo launches Eel attack

Kornstar

sk deserves the f**king keys to the city for the squad he was given to fine tune, how we even won a game was mind boggling...

:lol::lol::lol::lol:

Could you suck his d*ck any harder?

He was given a squad better then finishing as low as he did. The fact that we were in games to choke in proves that!

He had enough talent to win more games (maybe not make the 8 though), they were mentally piss weak and ultimately that cost us.......

I have said plenty of times, he has a massive job ahead of him in the offseason to get the piss weak mentality out of them, in an entire season, nothing improved on the mental side.......I actually think it went backwards........I hope he has identified the real issues as if he hasn't, nothing will change in this club!

All the right things are being said about behind the scenes etc. But until we see results on the field, words mean nothing to me!

spartan2153

sk deserves the f**king keys to the city for the squad he was given to fine tune, how we even won a game was mind boggling...

Wow haven't you changed your attitude. From telling us the players were gonna suprise a lot of people. SO if the players think finishing 1 point from the wooden spoon is suprising i hate to see what succesful is for them

Delboy

SK did a good job and appears to be building the club properly. Since BS left we have seen the structure collapse and there was no platform to build on, from what I undertstand re Nolan and others is that it will take a bit of time as it was in terrible shape.

We all hoped for a better result, but the squad was unbalanced and very weak in the key areas of halves and centres and wingers. I doubt that anyone could have got any better results, at least they tried their backsides off each week.

Look at the slow disintegration under Hagan and DA, and now a bit like Hasler undertook at Manly, they needed to work through a season to start again.

Far too early to judge the rebuilding, and at least someone went all out to get a 7 and hopefully a 6 for 2012

Wow haven't you changed your attitude. From telling us the players were gonna suprise a lot of people. SO if the players think finishing 1 point from the wooden spoon is suprising i hate to see what succesful is for them
the players did surprise a lot of people the problem is it was the ones who thought they would improve from 2010 :(

The Engineers Room

We were a weaker squad than 2010 but 2010 underachieved and should have been at least top 8 maybe top four. So we should by all rights have expected to be in the mix for the final spot in the eight at the back end. We would have been if we could have closed out games and SK was supposed to be a genius in winning the close ones, so what happened?

Maroubra Eel

Lucky for us that Anderson had the vision to release Mateo and Inu and free up the money to fix up our halves. The man sure does know his stuff.

spartan2153

SK did a good job and appears to be building the club properly. Since BS left we have seen the structure collapse and there was no platform to build on, from what I undertstand re Nolan and others is that it will take a bit of time as it was in terrible shape.

We all hoped for a better result, but the squad was unbalanced and very weak in the key areas of halves and centres and wingers. I doubt that anyone could have got any better results, at least they tried their backsides off each week.

Look at the slow disintegration under Hagan and DA, and now a bit like Hasler undertook at Manly, they needed to work through a season to start again.

Far too early to judge the rebuilding, and at least someone went all out to get a 7 and hopefully a 6 for 2012

we have had a weak halves & hooker for the last 2 years. I dont buy that excuse cause it wasnt allowed for the years before

Lucky for us that Anderson had the vision to release Mateo and Inu and free up the money to fix up our halves. The man sure does know his stuff.

I can see it now. #-o

Ando was prepared to sacrifice 2010 and 2011 to get his gun half back for 2012. Fair dinkum he's a man ahead of his time. A NRL visionary. :clap:

HevyDevy

Perhaps if the board hadn't meddled since Day 1 Ando would have been able to do his job.

Then again, that was their purpose so he was never going to get any support there.

At the end of the day, Ando had to go - not because he couldn't do the job but because he couldn't do it with a board that was trying to destabilise him.

At least Kearney has their support. The foundation is there now for the club to move forward.

No, that's not why he was sacked.

Why was he sacked then?

:lol::lol::lol::lol:

Could you suck his d*ck any harder?

He was given a squad better then finishing as low as he did. The fact that we were in games to choke in proves that!

We finished third last. Can you name more than two teams who had worse rosters than us?

He had enough talent to win more games (maybe not make the 8 though), they were mentally piss weak and ultimately that cost us.......

We were unable to close games out because we lacked in two key areas for hanging onto leads - kicking game and edge defence.

We were a weaker squad than 2010 but 2010 underachieved and should have been at least top 8 maybe top four.

Um no. The 2010 side should have finished in the bottom half of the top 8 just like they did the year before.

So we should by all rights have expected to be in the mix for the final spot in the eight at the back end. We would have been if we could have closed out games and SK was supposed to be a genius in winning the close ones, so what happened?

Why was he supposed to be a genius at that?

Kearney was signed because he was going to bring discipline to the club and change the Parramattitude in the place.

"Winning the close ones" is about the players on the field. Hopefully Kearney can sign or develop a few players who can win the close ones.

A lot of people deny Anderson had anything to do with letting those two go (they're usually the same people who think letting Mateo and Inu go was a mistake). Whoever released them made the right decision, imo. If it was Anderson then good on him.

we have had a weak halves & hooker for the last 2 years. I dont buy that excuse cause it wasnt allowed for the years before

We were able to work around the weak halves in the back half of '09 because we didn't rely on them. Instead we relied on heaps of offloads and hoped that they stuck.

At the start of 2010 Anderson went back to trying to play with less risk but that kind of footy relies on good halves, which we didn't have.

It became clear that the team needed a rebuild, which is what we're going through now.

Hence why he chased every half off contract for this coming season. He new what we lacked

He did indeed. Unluckily for him he didn't manage to lure any good halves to the club in his 2 years in charge.

Must be someone else's fault.

Perhaps if the board hadn't meddled since Day 1 Ando would have been able to do his job.

Then again, that was their purpose so he was never going to get any support there.

At the end of the day, Ando had to go - not because he couldn't do the job but because he couldn't do it with a board that was trying to destabilise him.

At least Kearney has their support. The foundation is there now for the club to move forward.

Why do you reckon the board didn't trust Anderson?

spartan2153

Why was he sacked then?

We finished third last. Can you name more than two teams who had worse rosters than us?

We were unable to close games out because we lacked in two key areas for hanging onto leads - kicking game and edge defence.

Um no. The 2010 side should have finished in the bottom half of the top 8 just like they did the year before.

Why was he supposed to be a genius at that?

Kearney was signed because he was going to bring discipline to the club and change the Parramattitude in the place.

"Winning the close ones" is about the players on the field. Hopefully Kearney can sign or develop a few players who can win the close ones.

A lot of people deny Anderson had anything to do with letting those two go (they're usually the same people who think letting Mateo and Inu go was a mistake). Whoever released them made the right decision, imo. If it was Anderson then good on him.

We were able to work around the weak halves in the back half of '09 because we didn't rely on them. Instead we relied on heaps of offloads and hoped that they stuck.

At the start of 2010 Anderson went back to trying to play with less risk but that kind of footy relies on good halves, which we didn't have.

It became clear that the team needed a rebuild, which is what we're going through now.

He did indeed. Unluckily for him he didn't manage to lure any good halves to the club in his 2 years in charge.

Must be someone else's fault.

Why do you reckon the board didn't trust Anderson?

Because they didnt appoint him. Rumors of kearney taking over were there a couple of months 3p took over the club.

spartan2153

So they didn't think he was professional enough to do his job without Fitzgerald in charge?

Why do you think that is?

hidden agendas. For the record ando only had 1 off season to recruit because he was appointed late in 2008. The offseason he was in charge it was made very clear that osbourne was the man in charge of recruitment