Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dave Smith and John Grant facing a rebellion over the direction of the NRL

AlwaysGreen

The sport makes millions a year and returns nothing to the community. As soon as pokie taxes were mentioned the first things threatened were the community services that the social clubs provide. I can't see why the taxpayers should fund a venue for this business any more than they should fund a new Westfields shopping centre.

The government could concentrate on funds for the areas that are now neglected by the sport - junior clubs & facilities.

Returns nothing to the community? Are you sure about that or are you just out to prove once and for all that you've got the IQ of a hat rack?

Mr. Sharky

Gallop was never the alternative. You never go back. The commission let him go for a reason. I.E. to get a better CEO. Unfortunately they didn't succeed, or succeeded marginally.

The game is only a laughing stock with comments like yours Oinkee. Who cares what a game show host thinks?

This code has never been at the bottom of the ladder. It has always attracted better crowds than both Union and Soccer, better TV ratings than Victorian Football and was looking to expand effectively until the disruptive and insidious Super league debacle.

And who has suggested that anyone wants to rid us of the independent Commission? I don't.

I just want to see that two blokes who have put themselves into a position of power, do their jobs. It's just my strong conviction that they aren't and cannot and need to be replaced with people with better sports management skills and can engage to clubs, players, members and fans. Clearly that's beyond Smith and Grants capacities.

Post of the Year. Well said mate.

Oh more than just one person knows how. Let's break down your nonsense post then.

This will be interesting.

Firstly, so what? I was involved in helping my family run its business before I was 10 years old, that does not make me an instant management expert. Nor for that matter does it make you. That is of course providing that you are not making it up, which we have no way of proving.

Helping your dad as a 10 year old is admirable. Please read what I said about my experience as a very senior manager. My knowledge of the role of CEO and MD covers forty years. I think that qualifies me to make a comment based upon my experiences. Helping dad after school does not.

That said there is no 1 management style that is the best. It depends on the situation. You may know about management, but again, so what? Do you know anything about rugby league management?

No, but I know about people management and financial management.

Firstly, the ARL Commission does not employ Paul Gallen nor Cameron Smith. They are employees of the Cronulla Sharks RLFC and the Melbourne Storm respectively. So for a self proclaimed management expert, you aren't even aware of those basic facts now are you?

Well that's technically true, but why then is not Cronulla putting sanctions on the player instead of Smith? Methinks your argument is superficial.

As to "avoiding messages", sorry says who? You are the one proclaiming that. My boss gets heaps of telephone calls, e-mails and texts she does not drop everything to reply to each one of them that are about the same thing.

It was reported that Gallen, after many attempts to contact Smioth, spoke to Todd Greenburg and asked him to urgently relay the message.

Also, you might want to look at using a spell checker.

Well I guess when you run our of argument, you can always bring up the spell check card. Good one.

Actually a leader makes sure they have all the facts first and then makes a considered decision. They don't rush off and make one to suit the media deadlines. I didn't realise that meant he has to drop everything to respond personally to ever little issue.

Well that's true too. However poor old Dave's method is to shot from the hip. If he had spoken to Gallen or to Greenburg before he shot from the hip, he may have collected all teh facts first and saved himself the ire of a District Court Judgwe, a Senior Counsel, the Chairman of NSWRL and a Law Society head, not to mention the first NSW SOO captain and many of his underlings.

If you are such a great manager, you must have gotten nothing done as you would never finish anything as when something new came up you would drop everything to deal with it.

You probably didn't learn to multi task in your dad's shop, but I learnt to do that many years ago and still do it now.

As such, David Smith does not have to go based on your rants at all. Don't like him? Fine, but please, stop with the bulldust.

Well you must be pleased with your little input into this discussion. NO, you've done well, helping dad has given you great insite into business management.

pHyR3

Forgetting that NRL revenue is $300 million compared to National GDP of $1.5 trillion, yeah, the NRL are the ones with cash to burn....

GDP is irrelevant.

tax receipts might be more relevant, which obviously far exceed NRL revenues.

Also, governments cannot be compared to businesses. The fact people are criticising governments for being in debt, and thinking the NRL is so much better off because it has money in the bank clearly have no clue. Manageable debt is good for the economy, excessive debt is very bad (greece and italy). I'm sure the NRL has debt too, many corporations do. Just cause i took out a 500k loan for a house doesn't make me financially unstable. As long as i can pay it back.

AlwaysGreen

You'd think someone with over 40 years of business experience at the high end would be able to master the simplicity of the f**king quote function on an Internet forum.

Parra

You seem unable to separate the arguments from the individuals AG. Nothing new there, but it gets tedious.

Again I ask lens what do you think the NRL or specifically smith/grants failings have been over the last 12 months?

Gallen is a fckwit who is very lucky to be in a highly paid job so you can't say the NRL response to him being a fckwit was poor IMO. And that is what the response to Gallen being a fckwit is, an opinion. You might think he was harshly treat, I happen to think he is extremely lucky. So what else have they failed at that you think they deserve punting for?

Parra

I already stated that it doesn't. I'm sure you could find a few token efforts. The odd pink shirt to try and encourage others to donate in the NRL's name - standard corporate shite. You fall for whatever you want to. No-one will stop you.

Parra

So merely existing in a region is considered "brilliant work". Looks like standard community footy that would exist with or without the NRL. Or even in spite of it.

Volunteers are the backbone of community footy. Not the leeches at the pro level. Same for every sport.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

The sport makes millions a year and returns nothing to the community. As soon as pokie taxes were mentioned the first things threatened were the community services that the social clubs provide. I can't see why the taxpayers should fund a venue for this business any more than they should fund a new Westfields shopping centre.

F*ck off...

Sports are non-for-profit. Besides salaries, EVERYTHING GOES BCK INTO THE COMMUNITY.

The government could concentrate on funds for the areas that are now neglected by the sport - junior clubs & facilities.

Besides building stadiums (which is done for the economic benefit of the community), that is where all government funding goes. Do you really believe that the Fed. subsidises player or exec salaries??

Government funding for sport refers almost exclusively to things like the NSW co-funded $4million junior infrastructure fund.

Everyones entitled to an opinion, but yours is wrong....

insert.pause

The NRL is a not for profit, the fact we are on a forum discussing a game we are entertained by watching every year is evidence of its value to the community, just as is everything that stems from it, like participation.

Parra

Should be the case. But it is not. Whatever community spirit that existed was purged with the SL war.

You'd think someone with over 40 years of business experience at the high end would be able to master the simplicity of the f**king quote function on an Internet forum.

No mate, if I want snappy presentations done I pay some one to put it together for me.

But I don't feed caviar to pigs.

Parra

The NRL is a not for profit, the fact we are on a forum discussing a game we are entertained by watching every year is evidence of its value to the community, just as is everything that stems from it, like participation.

You could use the same argument for shopping centres. Full of people. Claim to be part of the community. Would be just as false.