Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dave Smith is the greatest administrator in RL history.

super_coach

As a couple have pointed out,the NRL has to move with the times, they are in a very competitive market place and men fighting on a football field is a big turnoff to a lot of people. Sponsors especially dont want to see their product associated with negative aspects of the game. In recent times their is hardly any biffo, so why have any at all. Most mothers make the final call on what sport their young children play so if it gets more kids in at the grass root level than its a great call by the league.

By the way saw some very fast and hard games on the weekend with heaps of skill and no biff and shoulder charges, the game moves on or on the other hand we could go back to the Rex Mossop days when their was more biff than football and the skill level was lacking. Biff is for bogans

Garbler

As you would be aware, the $1 Billion dollar tv deal was signed at a time where the shoulder charge was legal, and no fixed sin bin for a fight was in place. This did not deter the networks or sponsors.

Wrong. It may not have deterred a network run by a proven @rse clown who then had to subsidise the coverage with Mr Waterhouse to get he's money back, but it has deterred plenty of sponsors. Look at the sponsors the AFL has. They have big businesses & international brands like Emirates on board. NRL is behind. Way behind. Were so desperate for sponsors we litter our jerseys with sponsor logos just to get them to sign on the dotted line, its ridiculous.

Furthermore, the most valuable product, State of Origin, has become one of the sporting highlights of all Australian sport and this has been a by-product of the 'mate vs mate' and 'biff' that was demonstrated in the very first origin game.

So the biff is responsible for Origin's popularity. Wonder why MMA doesn't get 4-5 million people watching it like Origin?

In addition to this, coverage and anticipation of game II in this series has been sky rocketing as a result of the Gallen 1-2 combo on Myles massive head.

I think your right, but it was a turning point. There had been better fights in recent history that didn't receive that type of coverage. Why? Because Gallen was in the wrong & escaped judgement. If escaping punishment for fighting became the norm, it no longer becomes a talking point. Why? Because its 2013 - and most of the coverage has been about the ethics of the fight.

Wonder why MMA doesn't get 4-5 million people watching it like Origin?
Neither does netball or chess.

f**k people come up with some geniused arguments.

Apart from anything else MMA would be one of the fastest growing spectator (especially TV) sports in the world.

HowHigh

This one punch your off shit is garbage.
Sick of all this politically correct bullshit and 'x group' trying to push their agendas and people just submit to it.
Don't like fights don't watch state of origin.

Also the fact Bunniesman supports this proves what a stupid decision it was.

You do know that senior rugby league rules are nothing like junior rugby league rules and so there is absolutely no reason for senior rules to be changed for the sake of the junior game. The kind of mongs who won't let their kids play RL because of what they see in Origin wouldn't let them play anyway. If they did they'd know that junior league is at least as safe as any other sport.

kmav23

Women do not like violence , ask nigella Lawson.

Mma is majority men in the audience.

Fighting does not happen that often but causes negative publicity when it happens.

Cronulla still has no major sponsor they were begging on the footy show last week.

HowHigh

What's next..if a player gets photographed eating McDonalds is a parent going to blame that player for being a bad role model and say it's their fault they have a fat kid?
I'm sure another stupid group will get behind the cause..

Garbler

The kind of mongs who won't let their kids play RL because of what they see in Origin wouldn't let them play anyway. If they did they'd know that junior league is at least as safe as any other sport.

That's all good if you never want League to grow beyond its current supporter base, but fortunately for us the administration has a bit more perspective than yourself.

You do know that senior rugby league rules are nothing like junior rugby league rules and so there is absolutely no reason for senior rules to be changed for the sake of the junior game.

Maybe, maybe not. We'll see in a couple of years time when RL junior numbers go up cause the grubbiness has been eradicated from the senior levels and your holed up somewhere creaming your pants over the raspy voice of tommy raudonikis whispering in your ear cattledog.... cattledog...

Garbler

What's next..if a player gets photographed eating McDonalds is a parent going to blame that player for being a bad role model and say it's their fault they have a fat kid?

Maybe. Society is becoming very sensitive.

Apparently Tom Waterhouse, with his white pasty complexion and slightly creepy grin was too much of a role model for the kids who couldn't spot the difference between him & Inglis.

Don't remember too many people who complained about society then, everyone was too busy sticking the boot in.

That's all good if you never want League to grow beyond its current supporter base, but fortunately for us the administration has a bit more perspective than yourself.
If you want league to grow beyond its current base Origin is the best tool to do it. That's why they get 400,000 watching in Melbourne. And why? Because of the nature of it. Change the nature of it and you won't get those people watching. There goes your growth. If the administration thinks that turning new people off Origin is "perspective" it shows how f**ked the administration is.

kmav23

violence and eating food ..

FMD

there is a big difference....:crazy:

Garbler

If you want league to grow beyond its current base Origin is the best tool to do it. That's why they get 400,000 watching in Melbourne. And why? Because of the nature of it. Change the nature of it and you won't get those people watching. There goes your growth. If the administration thinks that turning new people off Origin is "perspective" it shows how f**ked the administration is.

So the nature of Origin is punching on without immediate sin binning. That's why 400,000 Victorian's watched SOO 1? I think most would have been too impressed with all the drop ball of the first half.

Even if you step back & say fighting is part of the nature of Origin, the immediate sin bin isn't stopping that. Just have to make sure it worth the 10 minutes now. Maybe the quality of the fight will be improved? Takes the heat of the refs at least so they can concentrate on making the right calls like not calling knock on with Inglis's try and not calling obstruction on Hodges try.

So the nature of Origin is punching on without immediate sin binning. That's why 400,000 Victorian's watched SOO 1? I think most would have been too impressed with all the drop ball of the first half.

Even if you step back & say fighting is part of the nature of Origin, the immediate sin bin isn't stopping that. Just have to make sure it worth the 10 minutes now. Maybe the quality of the fight will be improved? Takes the heat of the refs at least so they can concentrate on making the right calls like not calling knock on with Inglis's try and not calling obstruction on Hodges try.
Yes. That's exactly why people who don't normally watch RL watch Origin. If you think otherwise you have NFI. And if you think mandatory sin bins for ANYONE who throws a punch isn't going to turn it into a VFL jersey-grab-fest you really, really have NFI.

Anyone who knows what similar rules in junior football are like will understand why it's a dumb rule/policy.

HowHigh

Anyone who doesn't enjoy watching this stuff in origin is just soft:
[youtube]JIX5MA7uiwc[/youtube]

Serious question though, would they really send off 10 players at once if this happened next week?