Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do we keep Sandow?

Chipmunk

only way id be happy to keep him is if no one else offered him current value of his contract and we got him on unders as a backup.

I can see him heading to England though.

I think he would go well in the UK Super League. Not sure he wants to go there though. I'm thinking he could probably earn just as much staying at Parra or another NRL Club.

eels_fan

Not Sandow news but related...

The Titans are preparing to swoop on Corey Norman if the Eels five-eighth is forced to move on from Parramatta.

Gold Coast have identified Norman as the man to partner Daly Cherry-Evans as they step up their aggressive recruitment drive for next year.

Advertisement

While the Eels at this stage have no intention of releasing Norman – who is contracted until the end of next year – the Titans are patiently watching as the Eels juggle their salary cap.

Parramatta have landed Cherry-Evans' Manly teammate Kieran Foran from next season and want to extend off-contract duo Chris Sandow and Will Hopoate beyond this year. A Sandow-Foran halves combination would force Norman to return to the fullback position he played during the bulk of his four-year stint to begin his NRL career at Brisbane. If Hopoate re-signs he could return to the centres.

Clickhttp://m.smh.com.au/rugby-league/gold-coast-titans/gold-coast-titans-prepared-to-swoop-on-parramattas-corey-norman-20150326-1m8a51.html

No, his defence dramatically improved when we won the forward battle. No different from the previous seven years of his career.

Revisionist bullplop. His defence improved dramatically when he came back fitter, happy, and giving a f**k.

He'll go well if Foran can do half the things a player on his money is expected to do. Sandow isn't a leader, he needs to feel free to do what he does best.

Parraren

He'll be here on a 'fair' contract for a few more years. Loves Brad. Good insight into the dramas he was having.

Obscene Assassin

The halves need to be leaders in a sense. They generally do the most talking in a match, so if they can't lead then they shouldn't be halves.

#ForanNorman2k16

The halves need to be leaders in a sense. They generally do the most talking in a match, so if they can't lead then they shouldn't be halves.

#ForanNorman2k16

He will lead, simply because of his nature and the position he plays. But I think he'll go better with an over-priced/senior halves partner to take the pressure off.

emjaycee

Pou, you might need to check some tapes of our games mate.
Sandow went from someone whose only defensive style was to try and slow down bigger attackers with mis-timed shoulder charges to someone who this year alone has pulled off some good one man tackles by going lower and bringing down the ball carrier.

IMHO his tackling technique has improved immensely though his enthusiasm to come out of the line at times doesn't always work if he gets beaten in the one on one tackles.

hindmarshisgod

Considering the new rule change with interchanges, the whole dynamic around Sandow changes.

He would become a weapon in later stage of games. I would keep him but only on a reduced contract.

Chipmunk

The whole Sandow re-signing situation is a catch-22 for the club. Some of the comments on reduced contracts and the like are farcical for mine.

The only way that we would be able to re-sign him for less than what he is on now, is if he underperforms and doesnt play to the level that we need him to be at, as no one will want to buy him. But why would we want to pay a player ourselves 1 cent who is underperforming?

On the other hand, if Sandow does everything that we need him to do for us to be successful, then he will perform better and he will become a more attractive option for other clubs, meaning that we will have to go into a bidding war to keep him and if we re-sign him we will end up paying him more than what we do now.

Noise

The whole Sandow re-signing situation is a catch-22 for the club. Some of the comments on reduced contracts and the like are farcical for mine.

The only way that we would be able to re-sign him for less than what he is on now, is if he underperforms and doesnt play to the level that we need him to be at, as no one will want to buy him. But why would we want to pay a player ourselves 1 cent who is underperforming?

On the other hand, if Sandow does everything that we need him to do for us to be successful, then he will perform better and he will become a more attractive option for other clubs, meaning that we will have to go into a bidding war to keep him and if we re-sign him we will end up paying him more than what we do now.

Which is why I reckon the club puts a fair limit (say 500-600) on Sandow which I don't think is unders. If other clubs want to pay overs so be it. We are in a fortunate situation that we at least have Norman.

Chipmunk

Which is why I reckon the club puts a fair limit (say 500-600) on Sandow which I don't think is unders. If other clubs want to pay overs so be it. We are in a fortunate situation that we at least have Norman.

I think that's probably a fair general price for Sandow, but I don't think he provides value to Parra at that price. We already have two halves on $450k plus signed for 2016. Why do we need a third?

Joshuatheeel

Considering the new rule change with interchanges, the whole dynamic around Sandow changes.

He would become a weapon in later stage of games. I would keep him but only on a reduced contract.

Actually I was starting to think about letting Sandow go simply as we already have two halves under contract and I don't believe Norman is really suited to fullback.

But never thought about the potentially new interchange rules, very good point. He would definitely be the type of player to benefit from less interchange

Joshuatheeel

Don't agree, in all the articles about Sandow he has mentioned he wants to stay, is now in a good place and likes playing under Arthur.

Lots of players stay at their club for less as they are settled there.

I reckon Sandow will be stay for less than what he could get elsewhere as long as it is a reasonable contract offer as he is settled ( on the footy field and his life) - change can lead some people back down the dark path again.

Chipmunk

Don't agree, in all the articles about Sandow he has mentioned he wants to stay, is now in a good place and likes playing under Arthur.

Lots of players stay at their club for less as they are settled there.

I reckon Sandow will be stay for less than what he could get elsewhere as long as it is a reasonable contract offer as he is settled ( on the footy field and his life) - change can lead some people back down the dark path again.

Given what were paying Foran and Norman, Sandow is probably currently worth about $150k-200k to Parra. If we offer him any more we're being silly. Surely he's worth alot more to other clubs than he is to Parra.