Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do we keep Sandow?

Yeah, the Norman of this year and the Norman of last year are world's apart. Why couldn't he play fullback? Didn't he spend a lot of time at fullback for the Broncos? If he can't, there's now way we're hanging onto both him and Sandow.

lingard

With degois and seffa and sandow on the bench, we will have a lightweight bench

Imagine peats , Isaac, sandow, foran, Norman, seffa on the Park at the same time

Obviously I meant instead of DeGois - which is one of the drawbacks.

lingard

Norman isn't a fullback though. His decision making is just too good to play fullback. He also doesn't have the strength you want at fullback, when was the last time you saw Norman break a tackle? His strengths are the fact that he knows when to pass the ball and when to hold onto it.

These are my concerns, too. He's not the guy to break tackles, and he doesn't have a lot of speed to beat a player one on one, either. Also, he doesn't like playing fullback - so perhaps he knows his limitations in those areas.
As a five-eight, I like him a lot. But just because some five-eights can play fullback, doesn't mean they all can.

The Engineers Room

I don't trust stats.

I rely on what I see when I watch the games and he has made some good and some bad decisions with the ball in hand.

lingard

Back to the thread topic - it's not really rocket-science, is it?
Sandow off contract at year's end - gone.
Hoppoate off contract at year's end - gone.
Norman and Foran in the halves - we need another fullback and another centre.
Easy.

Back to the thread topic - it's not really rocket-science, is it?
Sandow off contract at year's end - gone.
Hoppoate off contract at year's end - gone.
Norman and Foran in the halves - we need another fullback and another centre.
Easy.

no wuckers .... I'm pretty sure fullbacks and centres are on special at woolies next week :thumn

Casper The Ghost

I really think that Hoppa on a reduced contract to play 3 or 4 is the ONLY way to go.

He is worth $500k per season.

He is not worth $850k.

Hoppa can cover at least three positions and is a fantastic leader, is tough as and he brings in huge marketing $$$$ into the club.

As he gets older he can also cover back row as well.

I reckon Hoppa will receive a massive 3rd party deal for his next Eels contract.

We must not lose him.

lingard

f**k me, Casper. I often agree with your football opinions, but ...... f**k me.
Hoppoate's positional play in defence is woeful. And in attack, he NEVER chimes into the backline. Where is his value at fullback?

lingard

no wuckers .... I'm pretty sure fullbacks and centres are on special at woolies next week :thumn

The old saying goes: "Never weaken one position to try and strengthen another". We are already paying the price for taking Hoppa out of the centres. The guy is a specialist centre and wouldn't make a fullback's bootlace. I understand that we might not have any better fullback options staring us in the face this year, but we should be looking hard for a fullback for next year. Or maybe Quinlan should be given a go. Hoppoate is just completely wasted at the back.

Casper The Ghost

f**k me, Casper. I often agree with your football opinions, but ...... f**k me.
Hoppoate's positional play in defence is woeful. And in attack, he NEVER chimes into the backline. Where is his value at fullback?

Mate, Morgan was our biggest problem in defence.
Morgan is f**king useless, no talk, no organising defence.
Seems to be too caught up worrying about what he is going to do next instead of focusing on his team mates assisting with our lines of attack and defence. He has to go NOWWWW.

As Jack would say, "Hoppa done good" out the back.

Casper The Ghost

The old saying goes: "Never weaken one position to try and strengthen another". We are already paying the price for taking Hoppa out of the centres. The guy is a specialist centre and wouldn't make a fullback's bootlace. I understand that we might not have any better fullback options staring us in the face this year, but we should be looking hard for a fullback for next year. Or maybe Quinlan should be given a go. Hoppoate is just completely wasted at the back.

Agreed, now go and relax mate, that effort would have taken a lot out of you. :D

I am starting to agree.

Surely we have a better solution for fullback?

I mean, Hopoate is solid, but he's better at 3.

phantom eel

I'd be inclined to soon give Hoppa a go back in the position he held for us last season when selected for rep footy. I guess that means Robinson has a go at fullback - Norman is too valuable where he is to shift before Foran arrives....

1. Robinson
2. Semi/Folau
3. Hopoate
4. Takairangi
5. Morgan/Toutai
6. Norman
7. Sandow

Though if Kenny Edwards was available he'd possibly be selected above Sef Paulo, allowing Paulo to fill in at five eighth, Norman to fullback and Morgan to :arrow:.

Too many injuries/suspensions to top 17 players have hit us hard.... Jr Paulo, Ken Edwards, Semi Radradra, Beau Champion. And we're still one quality outside back short this season (thanks to Hayne walking at short notice).

Joshuatheeel

One potential option is keeping Sandow, and seeing if we can Holmes from the Sharks. He is going to be a very good player. While he is under contract we could potentially offer them norman as an incentive to release him